We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Ty Gwyn”
Review of Ty Gwyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Ty Gwyn Hotel, I booked 3 rooms for my wife and I and my 2 children and their partners. The rooms were really nice and the breakfasts and the dinner in the hotel restaurant were really top notch. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would recommend a stay in this hotel to anyone. It is also very well situated for the local attractions such as Swallow Falls, Bodnant Gardens and Portmerion. We would definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERIC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 341 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

The trouble with not booking in advance is that some times like Bank Holiday weekends you can get caught! Well we were driving up through the Snowdonia area when this happened and I think the Gods were looking down on us because the only place we found to have a spare room was here. We absolutely loved it in that it has a huge amount of character and ambience. We were told that it would take until about 9pm until we could get a table for the evening meal because they were fully booked but that didn't worry us in the least because they had a lovely cosy lounge where we could have a drink while we waited. The room was very comfortable and had everything we could want. Breakfast the next morning was very yummy. The staff even though they were run off their feet were all very happy and competent. I can see why some people on TA could rate this place so badly, maybe they are just bloody sad people!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcbar1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and i have just come back from a 2 day stay at the Ty Gwyn. We've been 5 times now and absolutely love it. The room is always very clean and cosy. The staff are really friendly and are happy to pass on any recommendations for things to do in the area.

After a day sight seeing or just relaxing we like to have a drink in the bar before we sit down to a very enjoyable meal. The menu just gets better and better. It's reasonably priced and the food excellent. All served by polite staff.

I highly recommend this hotel as a nice quaint place to stay when visiting the area, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in room 10 which was quiet and very comfortable.
The highlight of our stay was the evening meal. The food was excellent, the staff were friendly, the atmosphere relaxed. If you like old coaching inns you will love this place..

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We booked in for a one night stay on Sunday past and arrived at the hotel early afternoon hoping to get a snack. The odor in the entrance hall was of the kitchen and the hall carpet was tacky to walk on and we were a little concerned as to whether we had perhaps been mislaid by the Trip-Advisor ratings. No food was available and so we went to another hotel for a bite and surreptitiously asked about the TY Gwyn to be told that it was very good and that the food was marvelous. Our room was small and the bathroom smaller. This was an old coaching inn and so shabby chic was to be expected but I fear that it went beyond that. Dinner was average with soup returned because it was cold. Breakfast was a somewhat greasy affair, a shame because the ingredients were top class. It must be said that the staff were lovely and most obliging arranging the Memorial golf on Sky TV for us on Sunday evening but I fear that attention to cleanliness and food presentation left us feeling disappointed and still looking for a place to stay on future journeys through North Wales.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bampar, Owner at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Harry M
Sorry to hear that you didnt enjoy your stay at the Ty Gwyn Inn.
At the Ty Gwyn we do have set meal times of 12.00-2.00 at lunch time and 6.30-9.00 in the evening (we do not advertise that we served food a day.) As for the room being small, the Ty Gwyn is a 400 year old inn and reflected in the price, we do have some larger rooms at slightly higher price.
As for the food you must have been one of the very few dissatisified customers as you can read all the reviews on Ty Gwyn TA. We try our best to make all our customers happy when dinning at Ty Gwyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

16th Century hotel on very busy road – double glazed windows do block out traffic noise to a certain degree but downside then is no fresh air!

Bedrooms are individually decorated to a nice standard. However attention to detail was lacking – shower curtain pole was very rusty and wall-mounted soap dish over sink was hanging off!

Where the Ty Gwyn really falls down is in the public rooms – the bar area was extremely dusty and the carpets needed a good clean/hoover.

In the dining room some shelves were adorned with material “skirts” that were absolutely filthy! If they cannot be washed then they should be removed! I would not like to have sat beneath them eating my breakfast or evening meal!!

However the food from the extensive menu was excellent and so it is understandable why the restaurant is usually fully booked.

I would not visit again and wouldn't recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholaK468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bampar, Owner at Ty Gwyn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear NicolaK
Following your review on TA we were very dissapointed and sorry to find our hotel was not to your liking. Myself and my staff strive to deliver a high standard in all area's of our business & cleanliness is one of our top proprieties and we find your remarks totally unfounded.
With regards to the rooms you were staying in as you are aware the Ty Gwyn is a 16th Century inn and some of our rooms are smaller than others and are reflected in the price you were willing to pay. As you can see from our website we have a variety of rooms, some boasting spa baths. Again we were very dissapointed that at no point during your stay did you endevour to tell us of any of your points. we sincerely hope that any future customers reading this review will come and experience ty gwyn for how it really is.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

As a family we stayed at the Ty Gwyn hotel last week. and were thoroughly impressed with the style and standard of service for what is a very comfortable and welcoming hotel. The most impressive aspect for us was the range of the menu and quality of the food. By comparison, the wine list was less impressive but good nevertheless. The staff are attentive without being overbearing, We will certainly be staying at Ty Gwyn the next time we visit North Wales.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morganjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
543 reviews
13.6 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.5 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ty Gwyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty Gwyn Hotel

Address: A5 Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £77 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ty Gwyn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seventeenth-century coaching inn in the heart of Snowdonia. Award-winning restaurant, full of charm and character, beamed ceilings and open fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ty Gwyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Gwyn Betws y Coed
Hotel Ty Gwyn
Ty Gwyn Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing