We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, affordable, and idyllic”
Review of Maes Y Fedwen

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maes Y Fedwen
Ranked #40 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable, and idyllic”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Initially we tried securing a (fairly last-minute) booking closer to the centre of Betws-y-coed. However the rooms were all full so we had to move further out. For which I am thankful.

We arrived in Betws-Y-Coed on Saturday morning and went walking along one of the brilliant walks from the town centre (Llyn Parc). On our return we drove up to Maes Y Fedwen to check in. Our room was clean and well appointed. What was really superb however was the view when we turned around to pick up our bags. The view from this B&B is wonderful! If you are going to take in some wholesome rural views and enjoy the countryside then I have no idea why would you stay anywhere else in Betws-Y-Coed. Our host was friendly and easy going, letting us get on with our weekend with minimal intrusion.

You can walk past a little farmhouse and over an old suspension bridge in to the centre of town, which is much nicer than walking down the side of the (busy, fast) road.

Breakfast was early, and plentiful. Allowing us to be out early enough to secure a parking space at Pen-Y-Pass for ascent of Snowdon (this is by no means a sure thing, as the car park fills up early, usually there is a 20 minute walk added on to the beginning and end of the day).

Room Tip: Not sure if the view is the same from all rooms. The double on your left as you go in the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thehirsutetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Handy guest house, a short pleasant walk from the centre of the village. The room was large and comfortable and the breakfast very good. There was off street parking. The owners seemed to have a good knowledge of attractions and weather conditions in the local area. Handy for exploring Snowdon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Restraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke On Trent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Lovely room, lovely breakfast, lovely hosts. Many thanks for your hospitality and congratulations on becoming grandparents for the first time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

After trolling the Internet for a place to stay in Betws-y-Coed, I found this BnB on the commerce website of Betws-y-Coed. What a fantastic find! It was easy to make reservations on-line and the hosts contacted us quickly. They don't accept credit cards, but it was nice to know that there are still people out there that their word is their bond and that they trust your word as bond also. I arranged for two out of their three rooms.

We arrived as agreed and found the place easily. The two rooms were bright and clean, both came with en-suite bathrooms and the hosts were so friendly and hospitable. The BnB is outside of town which actually worked out very well as it took us out of the noise and traffic of the village. There is a wonderful footpath and suspension bridge to take you into town where we found a nice pub called Y Stables for an evening meal.

After a solid night's sleep, Sue, the host, made a wonderful English breakfast for us consisting of cereals, yogurts, juice, scrambled eggs, gammon, mushroom, tomatoes, toasts, coffee, tea....there was so much and so yummy!

If we are ever in this area again, we will stay at this place again. I recommend it highly!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChumsMum01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#18 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aberconwy House
Aberconwy House
#11 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
Bryn Llewelyn Guest House
#8 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maes Y Fedwen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maes Y Fedwen

Property: Maes Y Fedwen
Address: Maes y Fedwen Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in peaceful Snowdonia setting. Maes y Fedwen is a unique split level house which was built in 1973 from plans drawn by Clough Williams Ellis, the architect who was responsible for the design and building of Portmeirion. The house is built on an elevated site approached by a short drive which leads to a large private tarmaced car park. Large picture windows offer panoramic views across the village of Betws y Coed and westward towards the Carneddau mountains. Terraced gardens surround the house and a lower garden has a small orchard and is home for the bee hives which provide honey for breakfast. Although only 5-10 minutes walk away from the centre of Betws y Coed, Maes y Fedwen offers its guests a quiet haven in a friendly and homey environment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maes Y Fedwen Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing