We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful”
Review of Fairy Glen

Fairy Glen
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This deep gorge is surrounded by a seemingly endless expanse of scenic beauty.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a small walk from the car park to fairy glen, but it is totally worth it. There are some tricky steps to negotiate down for the best views of the river and glen, especially in the wet but there is something truly magical about this place. It is 100% worth it.

We went in the morning on a lovely spring day, and can only imagine what it would be like at different times of the day in the changing seasons.

We would drive back down just to have a look in the autumn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fenrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    97
    38
    8
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chased By The Farmer”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Honestly. we parked up and the sign said £1.00 FOR PARKING AND 50P PER PERSON. Pay on entry 100 yards up the road.So we walked up the road after parking and we owed £2.00. On looking at our change we had a ten pound note or £1.78p in change,Oh well we will get change at the gate. We get to the entrance gate and there is no one there, its a honesty box. So feeling guilty we put in all our change and wandered off to Fairy Glen.Within 30 seconds there is an irate human chasing us saying we owe him 22p. We did explain no one was at the gate and we put in all our change, or we would have have to leave 10 pounds. He produced change and told us off for trying to do him out of 22p. To be honest its not even worth the 22p. it touts its a 30 minute walk, which is picturesque, but its over in around 10 mins . Just a another local, taking the P s and adding to his coffers , dont go!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank steven o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although we visited on a bit of a rainy day, we had a great afternoon. We paid our money into the box and had no problems. We spent around an hour scrambling around on the rocks taking pictures. Take insect repellent though, we got really bitten!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiemiddleton_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A nice walk out from Betws to here”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

50p gets you into the Glen, pay the toll man who is a mind of information. Plenty of sheep to see, brown ones which i had never seen before. Plenty of seats dotted about with picnic tables. The Glen and steps down are very slippery so good footwear is advisable, i did not risk it as did not want to fall, there should be rails to hold onto, after all you go there to see the Glen and most of it is blocked out by trees unless you go don the slippery steps.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank June61Southport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Natural beauty”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We visited on a lovely sunny day and thoroughly enjoyed walking around Fairy Glen. In some areas the path was a little slippy as it had been raining the previous day so I would recommend wearing sturdy shoes! There were lots of places to stop, sit and soak in the natural beauty so allow time for that! Well worth the entry fee!

Helpful?
Thank Bekka_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairy Glen also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Fairy Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing