We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Walk to an Interesting Glen”

Fairy Glen (Ffos Noddun)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This deep gorge is surrounded by a seemingly endless expanse of scenic beauty.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Level Contributor
142 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delightful Walk to an Interesting Glen”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We walked the couple of miles from Betws-y-Coed to the Glen and agree that it was one of our favorite walks of our stay. The garden near the farm house at the entrance was beautiful, the walk through the pasture to the glen was interesting, and the glen was serene. The admission of 50 pence was done on the honor system and I would have gladly given more to help support the upkeep of this spot.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tenntraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    92
    38
    8
    36
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“don't tell anyone.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This is my favourite place to visit, scenic, quiet, peaceful and where I would live if I were a fairy. SO I almost dont want to share it with every one.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It's a small walk from the car park to fairy glen, but it is totally worth it. There are some tricky steps to negotiate down for the best views of the river and glen, especially in the wet but there is something truly magical about this place. It is 100% worth it.

We went in the morning on a lovely spring day, and can only imagine what it would be like at different times of the day in the changing seasons.

We would drive back down just to have a look in the autumn.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank fenrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chased By The Farmer”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Honestly. we parked up and the sign said £1.00 FOR PARKING AND 50P PER PERSON. Pay on entry 100 yards up the road.So we walked up the road after parking and we owed £2.00. On looking at our change we had a ten pound note or £1.78p in change,Oh well we will get change at the gate. We get to the entrance gate and there is no one there, its a honesty box. So feeling guilty we put in all our change and wandered off to Fairy Glen.Within 30 seconds there is an irate human chasing us saying we owe him 22p. We did explain no one was at the gate and we put in all our change, or we would have have to leave 10 pounds. He produced change and told us off for trying to do him out of 22p. To be honest its not even worth the 22p. it touts its a 30 minute walk, which is picturesque, but its over in around 10 mins . Just a another local, taking the P s and adding to his coffers , dont go!!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank steven o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although we visited on a bit of a rainy day, we had a great afternoon. We paid our money into the box and had no problems. We spent around an hour scrambling around on the rocks taking pictures. Take insect repellent though, we got really bitten!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiemiddleton_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairy Glen (Ffos Noddun) also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 

Been to Fairy Glen (Ffos Noddun)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing