We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rest a while”

Swallow Falls (Rhaeadr Ewynnol)
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These falls add to Betws-y-Coed's already great rustic beauty.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Rest a while”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This attraction is very easy to find and access, being located right on the A5, just North of Betws-y-Coed. There is free parking in a layby just on the road outside. Or if this is full then there is cheap parking across the road at the Swallow Falls Hotel.

There is not a lot to this attraction apart from stating the obvious - riverside views of beautiful waterfalls. Nevertheless it is well worth a visit, especially in fine weather shortly after a rainy spell when the falls can be seen at their best.

A few tips which you may find useful are: 1) Keep your hand cupped over any exposed camera lenses because otherwise the water spray may coat your lens and give you soft focus photos, 2) take time to sit down on one of the benches and chill out to the lovely sound of the rushing water - which is very therapeutic.

This would be a great spot to sit and read a newspaper and/or enjoy a picnic sandwich plus flask of tea while relaxing on one of said benches. Or you could enjoy some refreshments across the road at the Swallow Falls Hotel.

It is worth mentioning that there are two viewing points. The upper one is reached via a short walk from the ticket office across even ground. The lower one is reached by descending a lot of steps. So people with mobility problems might have to content themselves with the view from the upper viewing point.

Summary: Recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_R_Beck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    445
    167
    46
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a rover bus ticket, I'd visited Betws-y-Coed and rather than walking, I hopped back on a bus for the 5 minute journey to the falls. I had 1/2 an hour 'till the next bus, which was ample time to see the falls. On the day I went the entrance was manned, so I had no problem about change. Yes, there are a lot of steps down to the lower viewing platform, but they were easy to manage and the view was worth it. I think it was worth paying the £1.50 to go in. Can't say I noticed the overgrown trees, it just looked natural to me.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CSotheran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been to Swallow Falls many times and never tire of its beauty. If you are lucky there is a short lay-by near the entrance to Swallow Falls which you can park for free! If not there is a car park for a hotel across the road which may be pay and display. The entrance into Swallow Falls is £1.50 CASH! When it's manned you are able to pay with notes but when unmanned, which it was on a late Sunday afternoon, you need the exact change per person.

On entry you are greeted by a wooded area and when you walk further in you see the mighty falls. If you follow a path down some stairs you can get even closer to the falls. Take your camera you won't want to miss out on any photo opportunities.

Rain or shine, believe me, I have done both, you will always appreciate it's beauty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Medcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pretty but steep”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Tranquil and lovely water falls but steps hard on the knees!
Maybe a bit of a tidy up all round would not go a miss

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deaf2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hale
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Its £1.50 to get in to see the falls but its probably the one of the best £1.50's you will ever spend it is a magnificent sight to behold nature putting on a wonderful show for us all to see.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thegardenerHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swallow Falls (Rhaeadr Ewynnol) also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Snowdonia National Park, North Wales
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Swallow Falls (Rhaeadr Ewynnol)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing