We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Oak Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse(Betws-y-Coed)(Great Value!)
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Eagles Hotel(Llanrwst)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lodge Conwy(Tal-y-Bont)
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pen Y Gwryd Hotel(Nant Gwynant)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (834)
Filter reviews
834 results
Traveller rating
434
265
90
29
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
434
265
90
29
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillstables barstables lodgesunday lunchlovely hotelsuperior roommain restaurantlambfish and chipshotel restaurantate herenorth walesan evening mealone night stayboth nightscouldn't faultlovely room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 834 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

stayed at the hotel sat 22nd sep 2012 (room 205). The room was very nice, view of the river, I did think the room was a little over priced at £155 a night as it was quite a small room. We had a great meal in thr GRILL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We liked this hotel. The rooms were comfortable without being over the top. The shower was hot whatever setting we used and the television probably did work but we couldn't figure it out, nor could the lady complaining at reception the next day. Result: Hot chocolate in the room!!!

As a base for a Snowdon visit, this was ideal; just a few miles up the road in a town that looks worth exploring given more time. They even seemed to turn a blind eye to soaking wet hiker's gear.

Arriving quite late, we had a quick meal in the bar and it was pretty good and also good value with prompt service. Good selection of things for breakfast and once again, prompt and friendly service. Tiptree jam and marmalade, honey too. Best place we've stayed at yet when visiting Snowdonia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have I had to deliberate so much over a resturant menu - soooo many amazingly mouthwatering choices.....honestly I struggled to narrow down the choices and could have quite happily picked at least 3 main courses!!

The food was superb, three of us ate there (myself and my 2 children aged 22 and 16) on the 9th September 2012 - the food was fresh, sooo tasty and the prices were very good. We ate off the a la carte menu, but they offered a set menu with 2 or 3 courses from £11.95.

The staff were also very helpful and accomodating - miss it - miss out.

Helen
Birmingham UK

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel. However, found the professional dining facilities supplemented by excellent service and quality food over Sunday lunchtime a memorable experience. There was hardly anywhere else we could find in Town that offered a wide range of food in clean and friendly surroundings. From Soup & Sandwiches to a 3 course Sunday dinner menu, We ate of the set menu, 2 courses for £12.50. The meat was locally sourced and my beef from the Rhug estate was excellent. Would suit customers who would find queuing at a carvery difficult and like good old fashioned table service,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricoh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Royal Oak is ideally placed for walking in Snowdonia, or, a short break. The hotel has good car parking, rooms are as stated in the literature. As well as online deals, you will get good deal if you contact the hotel in person. Breakfast and dinner features local produce. The hotel restaurant is well appointed with good service. The wine list is fairly priced. In addition to the restaurant and the grill room, the hotel has the Stables, pub which serves a great selection of food and drink. On various dates there is live music ranging from male voice choirs to jazz bands.
The Stables is very popular, however, it does not interefere with the comfort of hotel guests.

Room Tip: Facing the Hoylake road, you can have the benefit of windows to the front and to the side.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews