We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, very helpful staff”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for a full week while we hiked in Snowdonia and traveled all over norther Wales. It was one of the wettest and coldest summers they'd had in years, but the staff at the Royal Oak made the experience a warm one! I had no problems eating gluten-free/celiac safe, and the staff recommended a variety of activities on days when it was pouring so hard that hiking was really out of the question. Our room was simple and three flights up, but really lovely and comfortable. It's a modest setting but well maintained, clean and you just can't beat the location. Both restaurants serve excellent food. Best breakfasts I've had in the UK. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: While the hike up the stairs might bother some older travelers, the upper rooms are likely quieter f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (787)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

650 - 656 of 787 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2012

We once again stayed at this lovely Hotel. We stayed there about a year ago and liked it then so we thought we would return. We managed to get a room at short notice and from the staff down to the superb accommodation and excellent food we were happy on all counts. What more can we stay, watch this space, we'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I've just spent a most enjoyable weekend mountain biking in North Wales with friends, we stayed at the Royal Oak in Betws-y-Coed in the modern & very competatively priced Lodge rooms.
Our rooms were well appointed, clean & warm with an ample supply of hot water for showers, just what you need after a day in the mountains.
For those that enjoy the outdoors the hotel boasts a good sized drying room and pressure washer for blowing away the days grime.
In the evenings we dined in the Stables & Cafe Grill Bars and found the menu's both varied & extensive as well as being well priced, breakfast was taken in the Cafe Grill and was again most fulfilling.
All in all, a great weekend was had by all. Hearty thanks to the management & staff at the Royal Oak

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank ChristopherBryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

stayed at the hotel sat 22nd sep 2012 (room 205). The room was very nice, view of the river, I did think the room was a little over priced at £155 a night as it was quite a small room. We had a great meal in thr GRILL.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We liked this hotel. The rooms were comfortable without being over the top. The shower was hot whatever setting we used and the television probably did work but we couldn't figure it out, nor could the lady complaining at reception the next day. Result: Hot chocolate in the room!!!

As a base for a Snowdon visit, this was ideal; just a few miles up the road in a town that looks worth exploring given more time. They even seemed to turn a blind eye to soaking wet hiker's gear.

Arriving quite late, we had a quick meal in the bar and it was pretty good and also good value with prompt service. Good selection of things for breakfast and once again, prompt and friendly service. Tiptree jam and marmalade, honey too. Best place we've stayed at yet when visiting Snowdonia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have I had to deliberate so much over a resturant menu - soooo many amazingly mouthwatering choices.....honestly I struggled to narrow down the choices and could have quite happily picked at least 3 main courses!!

The food was superb, three of us ate there (myself and my 2 children aged 22 and 16) on the 9th September 2012 - the food was fresh, sooo tasty and the prices were very good. We ate off the a la carte menu, but they offered a set menu with 2 or 3 courses from £11.95.

The staff were also very helpful and accomodating - miss it - miss out.

Helen
Birmingham UK

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Didn't stay at the hotel. However, found the professional dining facilities supplemented by excellent service and quality food over Sunday lunchtime a memorable experience. There was hardly anywhere else we could find in Town that offered a wide range of food in clean and friendly surroundings. From Soup & Sandwiches to a 3 course Sunday dinner menu, We ate of the set menu, 2 courses for £12.50. The meat was locally sourced and my beef from the Rhug estate was excellent. Would suit customers who would find queuing at a carvery difficult and like good old fashioned table service,

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricoh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
784 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £93 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing