We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a lovely location”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food in a lovely location”
Reviewed 2 January 2013 via mobile

Went for sunday lunch on 30th December so naturally the place was very busy. Our booking changed from 9 people to 16 on the same day and the hotel were more than happy to accommodate the group.

Set menu price was very reasonable with a wide range of food although one main vegetarian option was restrictive. The food was tasty and fresh and we didnt have to wait long between courses despite the size of the group. They were also able to offer a separate children's menu.

We did have one or two minor issues such as one plate coming out with no potatoes however the staff dealt with everything immediately to our satisfaction and the issues were nothing worse than every day things that can happen in any restaurant.

I would definitely recommend for a sunday lunch treat.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jwj1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    232
    83
    27
    15
See reviews for
150
391
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Enjoyed Sunday Lunch in the Grill Bar/Converatory with the family Sunday before Christmas. Excellent service and the food was great. Good vegetarian options for our daughter.
Then enjoyed some last minute shopping.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blod_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We came to Betws-y-coed on a weekend away for a 21st Birthday.

6 of us arrived early on the Friday and decided for a spot of lunch.

We ordered two plates of cheesy nachos to share as a starter, then had:
2 x Venison Burgers from the Specials board (which also had pheasant)
Gammon
Creamy Pasta Bake
Salmon
Another dish I cant remeber

accompanying salads, veg and chips were in abundance and very tasty

Not the cheapest lunch, but food was tasty and hot and the service friendly and quick - what more can you ask for really??

Will be back next time we visit

Also to note, had a few drinks in the bar over the weekend and the restaurant was always full - very good sign !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Another good deal with the Stables Lodge (Annex Royal Oak Hotel). Warm comfortable room with plenty of hot water for a bath after a day's hard walking or cycling.
Free wi-fi is becoming the norm in these small quality hotels plus free generous parking that allows you to park for the rest of the day even though you have checked out that morning.
No hidden expensive extras and a good pub and restaurant within the hotel.
Ticks all my boxes.

Room Tip: Try not to be near the big tree outside with all the crows in it (unless you are a twitcher that is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewop46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but went to the 'grill' restaurant in the lobby one evening. We were attracted by the menu even though it was more expensive than we would normally have paid.
The food was lovely but what spoilt it was the fact that Radio 2 was being played really loudly all evening on the speakers - which didn't make for a very romantic meal! We didn't want Simon Mayo with our mayonnaise!! The lighting was also very bright and uninviting.
That aside, the food was very pleasing. The starter of pigeon's liver with orange jelly was a great combination. The soft fleshy pate was nicely off set with the sharp tangy jelly. The portion was right considering it was a starter but more of the medium sized croutons would have been preferable considering the quantity of pate.
For main, I chose venison and my other half decided upon the partridge. As a carnivore, I was incredibly pleased by how well cooked the venison was. I asked for rare and when I cut into my first medallion, it parted with ease. And a nice pool of jus gathered at base. The quality of the meat was obvioulsy very high as it was succulent and very well rendered. The mushroom risotto was slightly disappointing as I felt the rice was not al dente and the earthiness of the mushrooms, which would have complemented the metallic venison, simply did not show through.
My other half thought the partridge was good too. We really enjoyed the fact that both meals came with seasonal vegetables.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

I had an unfortunate experince once when trying to enjoy lunch in the Grill Room. We choose this restaurant as the menu was varied and the food looked very good. We ordered the haddock in beer batter and welsh rarebit with salad and onion rings.
The food arrived and both were good.
However it was whilst eating the salad that we discovered a caterpillar on the plate. Our immediate reaction was to call over the waitress who had been very good and she immediately took it away with an offer to replace the meal.
However we decided to simply have dessert instead.
Now whilst we realise that this was an honest mistake caused in part by the use of extremely fresh ingredients - and we also realise that it is easy to miss something like this when washing the salad; we would have expected a manager to have approached our table to apologise and offer some concession on the bill.
The fact was that we had to ask for the manager after the waitress had presented us with the bill and we almost felt guilty for complaining about the fact that a caterpillar had been found in our food !
This is terrible customer service.
Whilst the hotel did not charge for that particular meal OR the side portion of onion rings - we still thought it poor that nobody had offered any further concessions for what was quite a serious incident in the restaurant.
After speaking to the manager he agreed to reduce the bill to compensate us for what happened but surely these things should happen as a matter of course.
So in summary - poor service !

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank captainbeaky30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

booked this for a long weekend, from the moment i spoke to the staff to place the reservation to the moment i checked out i was impressed by the friendlyness of the staff, special mention to Sam.
rooms were nice and clean, the bar next door attached to the hotel was great too, sunday lunch which was included in their lazy weekend was awesome as was the breakfast.
the hotel is great for using as a base for exploring snowdonia and i just couldn't fault the place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
532 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
172 reviews
24.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
334 reviews
13.8 mi away
The Quay Hotel & Spa
The Quay Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Deganwy
2,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing