We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights which we booked on a special deal & were really impressed with it. It's in a beautiful location, we had a room at the front of the hotel which had lovely views, the only problem was I am quite sure that it is a listed building so it didn't have double glazing so there was a lot of road noise especially as there was a loose drain cover or something just outside the window, but you can't blame the hotel for that .It was a good sized comfortable room with plenty of storage space & also plenty of sockets so you could charge your phone & your toothbrush & your camera batteries all at the same time which was a nice change from most hotel rooms.
The food both breakfast & evening meal was out of this world with obviously locally sourced fresh ingredients & plenty of choice. The drinks at the bar were reasonable prices too which again makes a change from most hotels.
All the staff were helpful & friendly.
Would recommend this hotel to anybody that is staying in the area & will stay again if we are in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sue_eddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    213
    77
    25
    15
See reviews for
141
366
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We visited Betws-y-Coed one morning last week and decided to have a light lunch in the Bar/Grill of the Royal Oak Hotel. Sue had poached salmon and I had the Welsh Rarebit (Well, when in Wales etc....). Such a nice experience in fact that, after touring around the North Wales coastal resorts all afternoon, we decided to head back to the Royal Oak for an early dinner. We were not disappointed! Smoked haddock on a bed of chorizo risotto for me, a slow roast pork belly with seasonal veg for Sue, and followed by an apple cheesecake to share, will stay with us as one of the more memorable meals we have taken together, and we would thoroughly recommend it. Next time we might even stay in the hotel, so that no-one has to take charge of the car keys!! (Short straw again!)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeighandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Walked in, expecting to dine in the Grill Bar - the friendly and proficient waitress/hostess asked if we'd like to see the menu for the restaurant. We were wearing not the smartest of clothes (t-shirts/ fleeces/ jeans/ clean trainers) and I wasn't sure we were dressed well enough.... She assured me that we were fine, and got some menus for our perusal.

Upon handing us the menus, she said "4 courses, £25". Immediately, I thought, "hmm for that little money, it's hardly going to be amazing" but nonetheless we thought we'd go for it.

How wrong could I have been?! WOW!!

Chicken and tarragon soup as an 'amuse bouche' - it was divine.

Duck and caramelised beetroot for starter, was even better! Melt in the mouth!

Trio of welsh lamb for the main event - thoughtful, creative, innovative and full of flavour :)

By this point, each course was getting better and better, far surpassing my expectations... Pudding was no different!

One of my favourites... Pannacotta - but with a twist! Lemon meringue!! It was sublime! I genuinely did not want it to end!

The waiter was attentive without being overbearing, was helpful with the wine choice (a delectable Pinot Noir), and happy to listen to my over-exuberant statements about the quality of the food.

Overall, the most notable dining experience for my boyfriend and I, to date. I would have happily paid lots more for the quality of that meal :).

Spectacular meal in a relaxed environment, at a very good price. Could not fault this place at all. We will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareyBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We really enjoyed the food in the restaurant, and the Welsh harpist playing in the backround was a nice touch. The room we stayed in was ok only. A shower over the bath, with shower curtain, is not what I'd call 'luxury' as described, and 'luxury' toiletries were a small soap and dispensing bottles of shampoo and shower gel. That aside, the hotel does have ambience, and is well positioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmallen04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Friendly staff. Superb food. Good location. Room 211 very large.but with windows open because room was hot we were kept awake for hours due to hundreds of birds roosting in the tree at the nexdoor pub so never got any sleep. However after checking out and touring the area we still phoned and asked could we book again. Offered another superlarge room by friendly darl haired girl on reception. She was very nice. Again food was excellent. Made our break having this hotel to stay at. Really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedslady2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here on a special deal of B/B and evening meal and were so glad we booked it. I'd never been to this area of Wales before. It is beautiful and the Royal Oak is well placed.
The staff were all friendly and very helpful when asked for advice. We couldn't fault our room for size, comfort or furnishings. It's not the fault of the hotel if people find beds too hard or soft. If it's that much of a problem stay at home.
The food we had over the two days we stayed was superb. I've never seen such a large bowl of mussels for a starter as my husband had in the restaurant. Our breakfasts were hearty with quite a variety to choose from.
I would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and would have no hesitation in going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esemkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

9.9 out of 10 for our Evening meal this evening.
.1 lost as I would have liked a Steak knife for my Lamb.
But 10 out of 10 for the young female Harpist that played a selection of music during our meal.
We enjoyed it so much we have booked for tomorrow night.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lordmorchard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing