We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We are regular visitors for the welsh lamb lunch ( just great) just over 40
miles each way also had a stay over in the four poster bedroom romantic!!
Very clean and comfey breakfast first class nice staff and ideal for touring
North-Wales.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

569 - 575 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2013

i stayed in the hotel for one night with my husband before xmas as a xmas present off my parents and the hotel was lovely,verry impressed. happy their was a bath and lots of tea,coffee,hot choc and buscuits :), i needed an ironing board and room service were brilliant and baught one straight up to us. didnt hear any noice from any other rooms all night. brekfast was amazing and the 3 course meal in their resturant the night before was exellent. would go back again any day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here with several friends an we were all really pleased with the hotel. It was spotlessly clean and very cosy and comfortable. The bedrooms were big and the beds really comfy and bathroom was spotless. Not sure why others complained about the beds or the Church bells!! None of us heard a thing.
The dinner was spot on and so was the breakfast. Betws is a lovely village and the hotel has an excellent jazz band there on a Thursday evening.
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
As others have said, a really good deal for DB&B. A most enjoyable stay, and we will all be going back there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Taking advantage of a short break offer we were pleasantly surprised what a good break this was for my friends and I. Rooms were spacious with a large functional bathroom. Room temperature was perhaps a little high.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and well presented. Drink prices were reasonable, but the bar lacked atmosphere later on in the evening.
The cooked breakfast was fresh and tasty.However the other aspects of the buffet was limited.
Staff were local;very helpful, friendly and reflected the family feel to the hotel.
Local activities were varied and the variety of walks mean we will consider going again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingman00710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When I booked the hotel through travel zoo I received a great offer of dinner, bed and breakfast for £89 and I was really looking forward to it. But there were just a few things that really let it down and it was a pity : (
Good: Location, Waitresses in evening bar grill restaurant and cleanliness of room

Bad: Tiny bathroom, Quite bad breakfast, Double bed was two singles pushed together not that comfy, parking facilities, and the lampshades/wallpaper quite dated.
Would not pay £95 per night to stay and an extra £10 for a poor breakfast. As I said its a pity could really be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norm966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stayed at this hotel I Nov, and like the hotel from the inside and out. and didn't want to write anything bad about it. but we didn't have a great nights sleep whilst there, and for the price we paid, I expect too, everything else was great.

At first we stayed in the superior room for two nights, room 236, then one night in a standard room room 237. We booked bed and breakfast and evening meal for two nights, on the third night we ate out.

The superior room we had was at the front/side of the hotel. It was spacious, though a little dated, but it was what we expected.
In the evening there was a little collateral noise from outside as there was no double glazing, it had the old window frames in, very authentic however not good at noise reduction, and cutting out church bells and vehicle noise.

The bed was very large and it had a memory foam topper which made it very comfy. However the room was very warm, as was the whole hotel during our stay, though we couldn't open the windows because of the noise outside. The room had a good TV with channels that all worked. and a Jacuzzi bath :)

The standard room was at the back of the hotel, it was smaller, as was the bed, and the TV.
The bed was a lot harder than the previous bed, with no mattress topper on it, so we used our own which we always take with us, (sad I know, but u can't beat a comfortable bed) however it was better, but it was still uncomfortable.

The room was at the back of the hotel which we thought would be quieter, however, it also had its original window and frames in it, but had secondary window glazing too, why I asked myself?

The room was too warm so we left the windows open in the evening. However, we was woken up by the sound of what I think was refrigeration units starting up every half hour or so, so had to close the windows. I can only imagine that if it is hot in summer, then it will probably get unbearable.

The hotel if very clean, inside and out, and looks the bees knees when its all lit up in the evening.
The restaurant and grill are both fantastic for food, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would we stay here again? Probably not because of the reason stated, and there are cheaper and quieter rooms to be had in the Village of Betws y Coed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andi1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Have just returned from a two day stay at the royal oak stayed in room 216, not the best located in the hotel but very roomy and all you need for a good stay. The staff were all very friendly at reception and resturants. Food in the resturant was first class and at a good price and the breakfast was very filling. Would recommend for any one visiting North Wales also try the Ugly House Tea Rooms only 10 minutes by car from hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosedene9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
558 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £79 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing