We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Happy weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Happy weekend”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We stayed here as a familly on 22nd March 2014. We were warmly welcomed by a very pleasant receptionist, and quickly given our room keys. We had dinner in the Bar Grill which was nice, and the staff attentive and pleasant. We had read some negative reviews, but all I can say is that none of what was written in those poor reviews was reflected in our stay.
It is not a 5 star hotel, and the restaurants are not michelin starred but it is an extremely agreeable place, with warm folk working there, and the location Betws Y Coed is a delight of a village. The breakfast was really good. Ignore the negative reviews, they are eclipsed by the positive ones and with good reason.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    211
    77
    25
    15
See reviews for
140
359
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed for two nights on a Travel Zoo deal, we had one meal in the restaurant and one in the stablau bar. Both were excellent, served by very attentive staff. Jazz night on Thursdays, very enjoyable. The breakfasts however were the best part, scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, delicious. Lots of other options available. Lovely walks just across the road in the National Park Forest Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We had room 212 which is the farthest away from reception and on the back. No problem if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and the staff were helpful and friendly, advising us on places to visit, the breakfast and meals in the grill bar were amazing and the room was spacious with everything you need. The hotel is well positioned in the heart of the village with a good size car park but there was no noise in the room from the stable s bar below or from the road. We will definitely return in the future

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison_Golcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Only had a meal in y stablau part of hotel here which was beautiful and plentiful and a reasonable price. If I had any suggestions it would be that it's a little dark inside but thats maybe due to dark furniture, a few lamps/lighting would be good. Overall a fab first experience of betws y coed,.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cam071171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My 1st review on trip advisor, the reason? Because the hotel is such a nice place to stay. Greeted by Victoria on reception, nothing's to much trouble. Then Wendy and the others in the Grill bar are always there with a smile and a chat about the day. There's the luxury restaurant, the Grill bar.mentioned and the Stables adjoining if you fancy bar food. The rooms are clean and tidy with free WiFi in all. There's ample car parking in the grounds and it's centrally located for all that Betws has to offer.
The hotel also offers the use of the swimming pool, sauna and steam room at its sister hotel just a short walk away.

I've nothing bad to say about my stay, I'll be back soon.

Room Tip: The front roadside rooms have a lovely view, some traffic noise, but not enough to keep you awake. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smedder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

stayed this weekend for 2 nights at a cost of £190 in standard room 212, which is a hike around the building and not easy to find.
On arrival the staff at reception were very welcoming. However, attention to basic cleanliness is lacking; the shower head had thick black mold all over it, the light switches were not clean, the windows outside the bathroom again were not clean...i asked for the shower head to be cleaned but I didn't complain about the other room issues. After a long walk on Saturday we sat in the reception bar and ordered hot chocolates....this was accompanied with a large hair, mixed in with my cream and when I brought it to the staffs attention the comment was 'jesus' not sure what she meant but it was the same staff member who I had previously highlighted the shower head issue to, so I took this as me being a nuisance. I was refunded and offered a replacement but declined.
There is also privacy issues in the bathroom as there is no blind on the window so at night time you can see right in from the carpark!

The food was faultless especially the breakfast....although the tea cups were heavily stained but were replaced on request and the coffee pots were also dirty.

Overall the hotel is clean but it does lack basic standards. The hotel staff are friendly and welcoming. It is however very overpriced....two nights at £190 for a very basic room is too much, especially with all these issues.

The local area is lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Halo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

We called in here for a much needed cuppa when a lot of other places were closed, we had been walking and were made very welcome despite kagouls and waking boots!

Great coffee, free wi-fi and no rush to move us on... Very friendly staff and a great looking building! Room rates seemed very reasonable too but we were just passing through!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
445 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing