We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Bank Holidays!”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid Bank Holidays!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Stayed in the Stables Lodge at the Royal Oak, Sat & Sun night. Room was clean, warm and comfortable, although a king size bed would have been nice. Dined at the Stables Bar on Sat night, food very good. On Sunday night we dined elsewhere and retired to bed fairly early as we had done a lovely 10 mile walk/climb. Unfortunately, the noise from the Stables Bar got louder and louder as the evening progressed. There were obviously other guests using the bar who were in and out slamming doors until at least 1 o'clock in the morning. Resorted to ear plugs in the end. Not the hotels fault, I know, but when we tried to contact the main hotel about the noise there was no answer! There are no phones in the rooms with direct contact to Reception or a night porter, we used our mobile, but to no avail. Would probably stay there again but would avoid bank holidays. Perhaps the hotel could put up signs reminding guests to be quiet or something.

Room Tip: A room at the back is advisable (although this doesnt guarantee a good nights sleep with thoughtless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 494DianeMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    224
    81
    26
    15
See reviews for
147
384
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Called in for lunch at the Royal Oak Hotel when travelling through the village of Betws-y-Coed. Welcomed by a very pleasant waitress who brought the menus then gave us just enough time before returning to take our drinks and food order. The drinks arrived very quickly and as presumably the food is prepared to order there was a wait for this - but not too long. It was well worth waiting for and was very nicely presented. Good food and value for money - worth calling in for lunch if travelling in this area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 31CMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a great evening meal. We ate off the grill menu as we didn't fancy the very formal restaurant. The grill was full so they opened an extra room and I think we scored! This room had a great atmosphere, relaxing with a great ambience which was quiet but not too much that we couldn't talk. We both had the lamp rump which was delicious and great value for money. Followed by the chocolate terrine, delish! Topped off with good service we had a great night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashwa31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I booked this hotel for my family and a group of friends to celebrate my 40th. The hotel staff were fantastic and could not do enough to make our stay perfect. They managed to feed us all late on Friday night after a long drive and multiple arrival times. The rooms in the stable were immaculate - spacious, very clean and comfortable. Obviously recently refurbished. They located us all next to or opposite our children without any problem. They arranged an early breakfast before our climb of Snowdon which was delicious. They kindly gave us a private room for the dinner on Saturday night which was generous and tasty - not fine dining but that wasn't what we wanted. The service throughout our stay was faultless - reception staff were helpful and friendly, restaurant staff had a great sense of humour and made all the children very welcome. The pub proved perfect for cards and the Grand National too! I couldn't think of a better location to celebrate, it's a great spot in a beautiful village. After checking out we took advantage of discounted swimming at the Best Western, feeling very pleased with our choice of hotel :) Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: The church clock does chime :) and some baths are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smallkidswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We held our Civil Wedding at the Royal Oak and we honestly believe we could not have picked a better venue.

The David Cox Suite and the Llugwy Restaurant and the honeymoon suite were ideal for us.

The food was fantastic both at our wedding breakfast and other meals.

The hotel location is ideal for seeing some of the fantastic sights snowdonia has to offer and Betws-y-coed is a lovely little town.

One of the outstanding features of our stay was the hotel staff. They were outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble.

We have already booked the hotel for our anniversary for the next few years!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warjon58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The staff at The Royal Oak hotel were very friendly and helpful, a warm welcome on arrival after a 4 1/2 hour drive. The room was a basic double an was on top of the Stables bar to the side. The room was cosy but could really do with freshening up and I was dreading getting to sleep hearing all the customers under our bedroom window in Stables. The room however was very clean and the bathroom clean, although the flooring was very grubby and could do with replacing. We went to The Stables in the afternoon to see the menu and have a glass of wine ..........very busy and full of kids and dogs............to noisy for us. We ate at The Grill Bar in the evening and whilst not the best ambiance the food was quite good. The waitress was very friendly and we had a good laugh with her despite being under pressure from the busy and moaning other guest. She also waited on us for breakfast and was still happy and cheerful. Off to bed and when we closed the windows we could not hear any of the noise from the bar under us........however due to the age of the hotel every time someone walked past our room in the corridor the floorboards creaked and bounced our bed.........luckily no one was wandering in the night!! We had a really good sleep. Good breakfast the next day went to breakfast 5 mins before opening 7:40 and still got a cheery welcome. We walked Snowdon on the Saturday, and when returning the room was tidied but could have done with a hoovering as there were still bits which had been there before we went out. Not wanting a big restaurant meal and feeling very tired after our Snowdon achievement we braved The stable bar........still very noisy with walkers, kids and dogs(why?!!). However the Salmon and lasagne were very tasty. Retreated to hotel bar for a night cap and bed. Check out receptionist was very helpful and gave us more maps and information about the area. I would definitely recommend the Royal Oak as Betwsy Coed is a lovely, vibrant town that has something to suit everyone. Having read the room information explaining refurbishment of the bar and restaurant, I would suggest spending some money on doing up the rooms, corridors and bringing the decor behind the front desk up to date

Room Tip: All rooms could be noisy front or side but when windows closed they are quite. Rooms over door look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liver070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the Royal Oak Grill after a long walk. We were greeted with a smile, so that's a great start. The food was well cooked and very tasty, our party having Goats Cheese and Thai fish cakes to start, followed by the Trout and haddock and chips. All the courses tasted lovely, not over cooked, just done to perfection.
Our waitress was helpful, friendly but not overly so. We will defiantly return the next time we are in the area.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank welshman279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.0 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
24.4 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing