We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WELSH RAREBIT FOR LUNCH!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“WELSH RAREBIT FOR LUNCH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a lovely day walking around the impressive town of Betws-y-Coed, we decided to have lunch here. Parking was a little awkward but managed to park on a small car park directly opposite the hotel.
We both decided to try the Welsh Rarebit which was absolutely delicious! Very substantial too.
Look forward to a future visit!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LynStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    203
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
138
347
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

On our way from France & heading to catch the Holyhead ferry we stopped off at the picturesque Wales village of Betws-y-Coed.We weren't disappointed.The friendly little receptionist who greeted us did a very good job.We didn't need the superior deluxe suites for our stop over so the receptionist recommended to us to stay in the courtyard rooms & avail of the pub grub & have breakfast in the main Hotel.
The breakfast was the best ever.All local produce with the bread being baked up the road.Fantastic breakfast & a great place to stay.Wonderful outdoor shops nearby to help you enjoy the great outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I recently booked a special birthday for my wife, in which i upgraded to one of the special rooms which was very nice facing out onto the river across the road.The food was excellent with a big hearty breakfast to start the day, which kept us going till our evening dinner. I asked for a nice table for our special occasion and they duly applied with balloons etc. The meal was one of the best i have ever had and great value. there was also access to the spa down the road.The staff where very accommodating and i would recommend the Royal Oak to anyone. Fantastic place to stay.

Room Tip: upgrade as its not to much difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodney-j-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We came in here twice, the first time to see about our evening meal, and the second time for coffee. Both times there was that uncomfortable feeling of invisibility where you can see the staff, but they just don't acknowledge you. Prices were on the steep side too, so needless to say, we left both times. I have the feeling that this hotel can do better - maybe because I had children, they were just not that interetsed in us.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandiepTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We dropped in here for refreshments during our visit to Betws-y-Coed.
Very pleasant relaxed, comfortable atmosphere.
We didn't eat but the menu looked good and reasonably priced.
Seemed to be a popular hotel.
Staff very pleasant & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the village at a local B&B and the owner recommended this place for dinner. It was so good the first night that we went back the subsequent two nights. Ate twice in the restaurant (three courses for £25) and in the Grill Bar once. The food was really good and great value for money, while the service was excellent with attentive and friendly waiting staff. The only tiny complaint was that on the trio of desserts (crumble,pie etc) the custard was out of a can. As everything else was very home cooked we were disappointed a real custard wasn't made. However this did not overshadow three excellent meals out. Oh, and the wine list was comprehensive and reasonably priced too - bonus!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shelagh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Another great stay. Staff always friendly and welcoming. Thanks for the surprise. Room fantastic, great view. Ideal base for touring. Food, as always, out of this world. Can recommend the Stables Bar for lunch. Already planning next visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westbr00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing