We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed in a superior twin room, just lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
manassas, va
Level Contributor
116 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stayed in a superior twin room, just lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

Travelled to this lovely town 20 years before, loved it then, love it now. This was my second stay at the Royal Oak. It has improved greatly in twenty years. This hotel has been around since the seventeen century, it has been updated with some sensitivity towards it history. If you want modern boutique slickness, stay elsewhere. The floors here are charmingly uneven and the decor reflects its history. But there are some modern amenities, the bath contained a waterfall shower head with the older but still in good shape porcelain fixtures. The spacious room had an electric fireplace and there was plenty of power to recharge our devices. I should note that we did unplug the trouser press and the electric fireplace to use the outlets as we were running with four devices. The room was fastidiously clean and. My niece loved the biscuits housekeeping left for us. When she told them, they made sure she had a generous supply. I found the beds and bedding were fine and comfortable for my bad back. The ladies behind the desk wear charming and extremely helpful. Jennifer and Victoria were especially helpful. The restaurants were excellent and a good value. There was plenty of parking and it was free. The only negative is that the view from the room was over the Grill roof and to see the forest one had to look to the right. In this hotel, one May have a view and some street noise or a quiet room with a so, so, view. We had plenty of lovely views driving around the area, so the quiet room was more than satisfactory . I will note that I never stayed in the more modern building of the hotel and cannot comment.

Room Tip: In the old section of the hotel, one needs to decide which is more important: a room with a view, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suchagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    203
    74
    25
    15
See reviews for
138
347
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed, once again, for a 2 night break. We have always found the staff to be pleasant, helpful, friendly and well informed, and we were not disappointed. There is not anything that is too much trouble for any member of staff. The rooms are well worth the upgrades. The hotel itself serves excellent food ranging from snacks, bar meals, cream teas and evening dining. In our opinion, this is how hotels should be run - good, old fashioned values where the customer comes first. Free car parking. We are already planning our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LordPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We went to the Royal Oak's Llugwy River Restaurant on the last day of our stay in Wales. We all choose meals from the Lite Bite menu. All meals were amazing and if they were 'lite'the regular size meals must be enormous. I also had the loveliest green tea ever. Going back to Wales next week and will certainly be going back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed 3 nights here with a Road Scholar tour group. Very comfortable, large rooms with clean, new bathrooms. Scenic village that gets nice and quiet at night. We ate breakfasts and dinners at their nice restaurant on three days. Food was excellent with main dishes ranging from trout or salmon to pork or beef . Desserts were delicious including fresh Summer Berry Pudding or Meringue with Raspberries. Great service considering 24 of us were seated together. The bar had good selection of beer, wines and cider too. The outdoor dining next door looked enticing though we did not get a chance to try it out.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilkkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Absolutely love the food here. It's always first class. Found it by accident and have come back twice on recent visits to North Wales. The service is also always tip top and friendly.

Check out the chefs photography on display in the conservatory! Lovely place to eat. I've never stayed here.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank skycop281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

After a lovely day walking around the impressive town of Betws-y-Coed, we decided to have lunch here. Parking was a little awkward but managed to park on a small car park directly opposite the hotel.
We both decided to try the Welsh Rarebit which was absolutely delicious! Very substantial too.
Look forward to a future visit!

Room Tip: Did not stay at the hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LynStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

On our way from France & heading to catch the Holyhead ferry we stopped off at the picturesque Wales village of Betws-y-Coed.We weren't disappointed.The friendly little receptionist who greeted us did a very good job.We didn't need the superior deluxe suites for our stop over so the receptionist recommended to us to stay in the courtyard rooms & avail of the pub grub & have breakfast in the main Hotel.
The breakfast was the best ever.All local produce with the bread being baked up the road.Fantastic breakfast & a great place to stay.Wonderful outdoor shops nearby to help you enjoy the great outdoors.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aine33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.2 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Oak
Royal Oak Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing