We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent house with all you need for a perfect...”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mair-y-Coed

Front aspect Mair Y Coed
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front aspect Mair Y Coed
Mair y Coed Betws Y Coed Master bedroom Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
15 reviews
Front aspect Mair Y Coed
Mair y Coed Betws Y Coed
Master bedroom Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Kitchen Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Master en-suite  Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Landing Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Kitchen Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Floor plan Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Floor plan Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Bedroom Mair Y Coed Betws Y Coed
Lounge area
Middle bedroom Betws Y coed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ann E
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent house with all you need for a perfect stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Mair y Coed is a lovely house, well equipped and ideal for a large group. The location is good as it is in the village. We had an excellent week with everything we needed to enjoy ourselves. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mickthemu...
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely property, superb location, ideal for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I booked this property at short notice for a five day break for my wife and I and two teenage boys. Betwys y Coed is a great village to base yourself in for a holiday. It has plenty of eating locations and is at the hub of many routes.
The property is large, comfortable and cozy. Well equipped and homely. Good instructions from the owner and a nice courtesy call on our first evening to check all was ok.
Our boys loved the place with the only complaint from them being being that the wi-fi was a bit weak in the furthest bedroom from the router and affected whatever it is they do on their smartphones!
During our week we did the longest zip wire in Europe over a nearby quarry, white water rafting, quad biking, walked down Snowdon and Segways.
We will definitely consider staying here again. There is nothing quite like looking out over the hills from the lounge area with the morning coffee or the evening glass of something stronger.
Well recommended

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Size and comfort and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pool602
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A really lovely property with everything you need for a great family holiday. Its location is ideal, only a couple of minutes walk to the village centre.We would highly recommend a stay here for a large family and look forward to going back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location and size
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Mold
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Hebden Bridge, England, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: comfortable accommodation in a great setting
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
girliesFl...
flintshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2nd Ladies Walking/Birthday Weekend - It must be good for us to return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is our second stay at Mair y Coed (translates as Mary of the Woods). The property is a beautiful and characterful former Chapel/Church which has been converted to luxurious holdiay accommodation.
This year 10 of us shared the four upstairs bedrooms. We were all very comfortable. There is a 5th downstairs bedroom which we used last year, but is very small and basic. This was made clear to me by the owner before we booked, but we needed the accommodation for our large group. The group was smaller this year so everyone was happy!
The house is lovely and warm, has a huge tv and wood burner which is great to relax in front of after a long walk. It really is a nice place, smart and comfortable with a homely feeling. And of course we used the sauna to relax.
The kitchen is well equipped and we found the Aga handy when cooking for our large group. There is plenty of utensils and we could all sit round either the kitchen table or the formal dining table, which we did to enjoy our birthday meal! The fridge is huge, with plenty of room for the essential wine chilling for large groups like us.
The property downstairs is open plan and there is a large open area which we use as a dance floor! A great place for a celebration.
Outside there is a lot of parking, and front garden is on several usuable tiers. It was lovely to sit out on the nice day and watch the world go by. At the back is a rough grassed garden plentiful with birds and wildlife.
It is only a very short walk (couple of mins at most) to the main part of Betws with all the shops, cafe's and pubs. A lovely walk is on the doorstep up to Llyn Elsi, but Betws is central for most Snowdonia walking which makes the property suitable for groups like us with hard core walkers are people who just want a shorter walk.
A great base for a comfortable and luxurious break in Snowdonia. Highly recommended.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Liked everything.
Liked least: 5th bedroom - small and basic but ok for a single.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Northwich, United Kingdom
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Spacious for a large group
Liked least: The non existant fifth bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing