We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in YHA”
Review of Betws-Y-Coed YHA

Betws-Y-Coed YHA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Betws-Y-Coed YHA
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I joined the YHA over Christmas because I thought it would be good to use in the Winter months when it's cold. This was my first one. The strange thing here is that there's no discount for members although it's YHA? Anyway, I arrived, was dealt with efficiently and pleasantly by the lady on the desk, in fact she had me sharing a 4 man room with someone, but there was an empty 4 man room so she put me in there. It was very clean, warm enough and en-suite which was a nice surprise (Room 15) I only wanted a bed and shower and toilet, so didn't look at anything else there really. The Pub/Hotel is right next door, even part of it, not sure what their relationship is, but I had a Mobile signal in the Bar, enough to text (T-Mobile Orange) and there was Wi-Fi so I was happy. The Hostel building was a little tatty I suppose, but I wasn't expecting Hotel standards. Maybe after I've been to Bryn Gwynant in Feb, I'll change my mind, but I'd stay here again. Breakfast was hot and good (big choice of items). Lamb Shank in Pub was reasonable and tasty. I suppose as I only expected there to be a bed in the warm and dry and that's what I got, I wasn't looking to assess the whole place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PistonPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked in for three days with my wife and daughters. Checked out after one, as did another family who were as appalled at this run down shack. There are no staff on site only the reception staff at the adjacent hotel. One of these receptionists was very helpful, but the lady who checked us in and out was as cold and uninviting as the hostel itself. Our ensuite family room was damp, mouldy and an external staircase away from the self catering kitchen. The whole place is old, tired, desolate, and covered in curtly written A4 signs reminding guests that they better not forget the RULES. Seriously crap accommodation, and really not in the Spirit of the YHA who should be honest on their website about this dump.

Room Tip: My top tip is to go somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Familyguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed in quite a few youth hostels and all were great, except this one. No staff on site - you must rely on the nearby Swallow Falls Hotel staff for help, and they didn't have any updated info on other hostels. YHA can't provide them with a brochure? Both public phones out of order and the nearest working phone is 2 miles away. I came to Wales partly for the hiking, but 4 miles for a phone call is a bit much. Small, not well maintained. I had booked 3 nights but took the first bus out of town in the morning and was fortunate to find an opening in the sparkling wonderful Conwy hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bingoseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank lano4ka9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chsa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
815 reviews
0 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
556 reviews
0 mi away
Maes Madog Farm Cottages
Maes Madog Farm Cottages
#2 of 2 in Capel Garmon
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betws-Y-Coed YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betws-Y-Coed YHA

Address: | Swallow Falls, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — Betws-Y-Coed YHA 4*
Also Known As:
Betws-Y-Coed YHA Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing