We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“strange hostel /hotel hybrid”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Betws-Y-Coed YHA

Betws-Y-Coed YHA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Betws-Y-Coed YHA
France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“strange hostel /hotel hybrid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

not your typical YHA ! first night in portakabin new hostel,walls made of paper.zero sleep.

moved to chalets,nice rooms with showers.

food and beer fine-quick service and friendly staff.

Wouldnt however stay again as being based around a group of buildings,rather than central hostel,wasnt really suitable for kids.

Room Tip: dont stay in the portakabin
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filllua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
2
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Stayed at YHA Betws-Y-Coed for one night recently with a friend as needed somewhere to stay that was quick, easy and above all cheap. We paid around £25 each for the night, which I thought was a great price, even for a standard room. However, we were given the keys to one of the annexed en-suite rooms for two, which was a nice surprise.

We booked through the website, which was easy and quick. On arrival we were given access to the car park that was part of the adjoining hotel, which I thought was very large and safe. As the hostel is situated on a corner, across from small park and a few miles from Betws-Y-Coed proper, we felt that the surrounding area was very quiet and peaceful but had quick access to the town.

The room itself was spacious, clean, comfortable and even had a widescreen television, showing a number of different national and local channels. We felt that while we didn't expect miracles (having stayed in much worse hostels for more money) we certainly didn't expect to get so much privacy and luxury from a youth hostel.

Overrall we didn't expect much from the stay on arrival having assumed we'd know what to expect from this hostel, but it happily debunked our preconceived notions, and from now on I will use this hostel as a benchmark for others. Fantastic.

Room Tip: During down-season, if possible, request one of the annexed en-suite rooms if travelling with a frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLovett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Stayed here for one night . Booked over the telephone found receptionist very helpful as I did when I arrived .Had a four bunk room to myself which was also en-suite with a fantastic shower, very clean with comfortable bed . the adjacent hotel serves good reasonably priced meals and good ale . Bus stop very close to Hotel . Would certainly stay here again as its very convenient for Mt Snowdon and betws y coed , bus fare is only £1per trip .

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbysox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a fairly nearby place to Mt. Snowdon, and seemed pretty good value. I was not expecting hotel standard surroundings for the price paid at all but was very happy with the place. Friendly staff, clean rooms with En-suite, nice little bar next to it so no worries about getting back after a few pints! Will happily stay again, if you want more than this then book a hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 723LiamP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I joined the YHA over Christmas because I thought it would be good to use in the Winter months when it's cold. This was my first one. The strange thing here is that there's no discount for members although it's YHA? Anyway, I arrived, was dealt with efficiently and pleasantly by the lady on the desk, in fact she had me sharing a 4 man room with someone, but there was an empty 4 man room so she put me in there. It was very clean, warm enough and en-suite which was a nice surprise (Room 15) I only wanted a bed and shower and toilet, so didn't look at anything else there really. The Pub/Hotel is right next door, even part of it, not sure what their relationship is, but I had a Mobile signal in the Bar, enough to text (T-Mobile Orange) and there was Wi-Fi so I was happy. The Hostel building was a little tatty I suppose, but I wasn't expecting Hotel standards. Maybe after I've been to Bryn Gwynant in Feb, I'll change my mind, but I'd stay here again. Breakfast was hot and good (big choice of items). Lamb Shank in Pub was reasonable and tasty. I suppose as I only expected there to be a bed in the warm and dry and that's what I got, I wasn't looking to assess the whole place.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PistonPierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Booked in for three days with my wife and daughters. Checked out after one, as did another family who were as appalled at this run down shack. There are no staff on site only the reception staff at the adjacent hotel. One of these receptionists was very helpful, but the lady who checked us in and out was as cold and uninviting as the hostel itself. Our ensuite family room was damp, mouldy and an external staircase away from the self catering kitchen. The whole place is old, tired, desolate, and covered in curtly written A4 signs reminding guests that they better not forget the RULES. Seriously crap accommodation, and really not in the Spirit of the YHA who should be honest on their website about this dump.

Room Tip: My top tip is to go somewhere else!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Familyguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

I stayed in quite a few youth hostels and all were great, except this one. No staff on site - you must rely on the nearby Swallow Falls Hotel staff for help, and they didn't have any updated info on other hostels. YHA can't provide them with a brochure? Both public phones out of order and the nearest working phone is 2 miles away. I came to Wales partly for the hiking, but 4 miles for a phone call is a bit much. Small, not well maintained. I had booked 3 nights but took the first bus out of town in the morning and was fortunate to find an opening in the sparkling wonderful Conwy hostel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bingoseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.0 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Plas Curig Hostel
Plas Curig Hostel
#1 of 1 in Capel Curig
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Vagabond
The Vagabond
#6 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
YHA Snowdon Llanberis
#1 of 5 in Llanberis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Betws-Y-Coed YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Betws-Y-Coed YHA

Property: Betws-Y-Coed YHA
Address: | Swallow Falls, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW , Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Class:4 star — Betws-Y-Coed YHA 4*
Also Known As:
Betws-Y-Coed YHA Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing