We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable”
Review of Grill Room

Grill Room
Ranked #9 of 29 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Reasonable”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Reasonable food at a reasonable price. It was quite busy but only took about 15 mins from our order to receiving our food

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank deaf2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    135
    46
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Famous for the mixed grill”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Have eaten in the Stables bar next door which is linked to the Grill, so I have had the mixed grill before. It is a huge plate of meat, half the farmyard! Friends were impressed. We had a great time here all the food chosen went down well. We hadn't pre-booked and being a saturday night we were lucky to get a table. We were sat in an overflow room which was fine. Good option after a day walking Snowdon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pepperp0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very efficient and friendly despite being extremely busy”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited Bank Holiday weekend and decided to eat here instead of the Stables Bistro as that was absolutely packed out. We had to wait nearly an hour for a table, but the service was very good indeed considering how busy they were. The bellypork was very good as was the fish and chips. The broccoli crumble was good, but I think the crumble mix used was for apple crumble not a savoury one as it was quite sweet!
We did not have puddings as we had our fill on the main courses.Would go back despite the crumble mix!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noshortcuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Satisfied customers”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

On the bank holiday weekend that we visited The Grill room was bustling with business but the staff were very friendly and we didn't need to wait long for a table. The atmosphere is very pleasant, particularly in the light and airy conservatory. Despite being very busy our hard working waiter was polite and attentive. We had lamb steaks which were cooked well and the vegetables were crisp and fresh. The food is not up to the standard of the Bistro down the raod but perfectly satisfactory, just what we needed on our first night in town.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RRamanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly, massive portions”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The waitresses were very busy but still managed to make small talk and remembered me the next day. The portions were massive and tasty and the beer cold! Only slight negative was that when I ordered something a bit fancier from the menu (risotto chorizo with smoked haddock and a poached egg) the fish and egg were done to perfection but the risotto wasn't quite as nice, though perfectly edible. I had fish and chips the next day and it was very tasty and absolutely massive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grill Room also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Grill Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing