We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of Alpine Coffee Shop

Alpine Coffee Shop
Ranked #6 of 30 Restaurants in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

We were amazed that we have been to Betws so many times and not been in this great cafe club sandwich and chips lovely! ! Started to rain which was good news and a reason to stay for cake looking forward to the next visit

1  Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 731 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2014

Fantastic café offering wide range of drinks, snacks and meals - with environmental and ecological ethics underpinning all their products. Plenty for vegan and vegetarian customers too - thank- you! Often packed as so good - but worth the wait for a table

1  Thank abby8464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thanks for the lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We called here for coffee a little gingerly, because the surrounding area was crowded, and rail-related facilities are not always all that good....

We were pleasantly surprised. The Alpine occupies part of the station building, but has tables on the station platform, and a large covered area by the station front. There is a variety of seating arrangements, including sofas, and metal tables and chairs on the platform. We chose the latter. There is a good view of the lively tourist miniature railway opposite the station, and the railway museum (we were slightly too late to visit). The Blaenau train arrived while we were there. it is clear that some customers use the Alpine while waiting fro trains to Blaenau or Llandudno.

The café is self-service, with very friendly staff. The coffee was excellent, but there was a wide range of cakes, some of which catered for vegans. We did not have any meals, but these were available, and again included options suitable for vegetarians. There are connections with animal conservation, and a notice made it clear that palm oil, whose production damages habitats, was not used.

Parking opposite the café is free, and of course it is serviced by trains - albeit ones on a two-hourly service only! There is much competition in Betws, but we will return here on our next visit. This will enable other facilities, including the associated gallery, to be visited. The whole complex at the station is a significant attraction in its own right - we visited the bookshop after coffee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank waterspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a good report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Last day of our holiday travelling about, what a fabulous end to a lovely holiday. The food was fantastic, the best. The photos of the Apes I loved. Clean and pleasant staff. Worth the wait. Lovely menu, I am vege so it was fab to find a proper ethical sourced cafe come restaurant. Thank you.

Thank kimpete88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakop63, Owner at Alpine Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

thank you very much. it will be lovely to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Lovely coffee shop friendly helpful staff. The food was lovely, loved the decor inside and you can step out the doors at the back of the cafe which lead straight onto the station platform. They had plenty of cakes too choose from but didn't have one so can't comment on them. Well worth a visit

Thank hirros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpine Coffee Shop also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Capel Curig, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Alpine Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing