We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Clean Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Had a great 3 day stay at this hotel. Plenty of food choice in the bar. Right opposite the water falls, which was a relaxing sound. Room tidied every day with clean towels and sheets. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarethJJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

371 - 377 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Swallow Falls Hotel, what a lovely hotel - with a pub/restaurant on site. The pub food was really good, most of which is all home made or ingredients sourced locally. The site also hosts a Hostel and Campsite so really does cater for all needs.

Fortunately we were given a room with a four poster bed, which was a treat. The rooms are very clean and give an air of quirkyness.

Swallows Falls is right opposite the hotel and although not a part of the hotel is definitely an attraction worth viewing.

Mount Snowden is a 10 minute drive down the road, sadly we didn't get the weather or the views when we tackled the challenge of climbing Snowden, but we did make it and we'll definitely want to have another go when guaranteed the weather.

We'd definitely stay at Swallow Falls Hotel again, the staff were welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelandjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was a lovely surprise to arrive to , it had an almost mountain chalet feel to it and i can only imagine in winter that is what it would be , the room we had at the front facing the waterfall and forest were just lovely , clean , comfy and well supplied , breakfast was an average one but enough and friendly , dinner is eaten in the bar area , very relaxed and comfy with good sized dishes and tasty. If your happy to be very active Betws-y-coed is the perfect town , we started one of the many walks in the area straight across from the hotel , it took us up into the forest area and then down along the river and into the town , just beautiful , the hotel is only a 20 min walk from the town if you don't mind a good walk down hill and where there's a down there's an up :-) would love to go back to this area and i would definitely stay at Swallow Falls again , the young lady on reception couldn't of been more helpful even ringing up about an attraction we wanted to see ,to check if it was open.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millermctojt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We were disappointed with this hotel.

We had 2 rooms, both smelt on arrival, but after keeping the front door open for a while it mellowed slightly.

Despite booking a couple of months in advance, we were given a disabled room as the hotel was fully booked. The disabled room had a wet room instead of a bathroom which took a very long time to drain - needless to say everything got soaked and wasn't very pleasant.

The room was a twin room, which had a double bed and a sofa bed, not twin beds. The sofa bed was not comfortable to sleep on - we were told by the lady on reception they were only 6 months old though. The double bed was comfortable however.

Unfortunately the people in the room above were up a lot during the night, moving around at 1am, 5am and 7am, waking me up with every movement, due to creaking floorboards I believe, not them being excessively noisy.

Finally the breakfast quality wasn't very good, the meat tasted very cheap. Also not much choice.

I did mention the bed comfort and noises to the lady on reception when leaving and was offered a box of biscuits as a gesture of goodwill.

I would not stay at this place again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere closer to the centre of Betws Y Coed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Clean and tidy place well placed for a weekends hiking. A double room in the building at the back of the main building was great, with breakfast included ready for the day ahead.
The hotel is a short way from the centre of Betws y Coed itself but the pub in the hotel is friendly, serves great pub food, and is big enough to hold everyone is attendance when we stayed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We has a great time here early in the year. The room was on an offer so I thought we would treat ourselves as we visited the area the same time last year. The room we had was lovely, bright and warm with a clean bathroom. Although on the main road, you can hear the constant waterfalls situated just over the road along with birdsong in the morning. Breakfast was served at just the right time slots which meant we could get up a little later and have more of a relaxing stay. We had a nice,full welsh breakfast freshly cooked every morning. As we are members of the YHA we were surprised to find that the online prices to stay were actually more expensive than the hotel and having stayed there before (part of the same complex), much more basic accommodation. Lovely area, nice shops and Snowdon just a drive away. The lady on reception was friendly and interested. The pub meals were adequate but not brilliant. We were confused to find on the second night that it seemed as though our tv may have been messed with as a foreign tv station had mysteriously appeared! Towels were changed in bathroom during the day. Overall, friendly staff, nice room and view, would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nell84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Don't be fooled by the grand exterior of this impressive Victorian coaching inn. Inside is a budget hotel offering the very basics in comfort and service. Clean, functional and free wi-fi in the bar is a short list of positives.
The 'hotel' is part of a complex which includes a campsite and a youth hostel, so expect to share the bar in the evening with noisy student types drinking tap water and eating crisps. Breakfast is decent but eaten in a canteen rather than a restaurant and the staff will do their best to ignore you, probably in the hope that you will go away and stop bothering them.
All that said, I paid £40 for B&B and believe I got fair value for money. Just don't go there expecting anything more than a lowest common denominator UK catering experience.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
770 reviews
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
25 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing