We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we stayed one night but wished it could have been two” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swallow Falls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Onchan, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“we stayed one night but wished it could have been two”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Traveled to Betws y coed and stumbled on this hotel - room was excellent and a pleasant surprise as we didn't know what to expect certainly not a lovely appointed room with a four poster bed- and a gorgeous bathroom and all for £60 with a lovely freshly cooked breakfast.
Granted bar needs some updating but bar food was excellent and really good value. This hotel is by far the best we stayed in during our quick break to Wales - far Superior to a B & B in Conway the previous night where we where charged £65 and the Premier Inn on the Wirral at £82 with breakfast. So well done Swallow Falls hotel we will recommend you here in the Isle of Man

Room Tip: our room with the four poster was divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    172
    78
    47
    42
See reviews for
108
233
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This reminded me of a motel in the classic road movie style. Nothing memorable apart from the Bentley coupe parked in the staff bay! Our room was spacious, completely lacked any character but was clean and comfortable. We chose to buy a picnic in the quickie mart in the local town. (it was our third night in Wales and we wanted to eat a meal without the smell of chips). The bed was comfortable and we all slept well. The shower was tricky as it changed direction of its own accord. Not the worst motel I' ve ever stayed in...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic mini-holiday in Snowdonia and we really enjoyed our stay at the Swallow Falls Hotel and feel compelled to write an honest, positive review of the hotel (I was a little apprehensive given some of the reviews here, which really are unfair – it is a 3 star hotel after all): Our family room was clean and spacious. The food was tasty and good value (we'd previously had a terrible meal at a pub in Betws-y-Coed itself). The kids just loved the outdoor play area and exploring the hotel itself (lots of little rooms to discover...the garden room with the ping-pong table a hit). Beautiful setting but the hotel is sited on a bend in the road & the traffic goes very fast, making it hard to pull out. Staff were great too. We will be happy to return in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building and was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are so pleased you were happy with your experience here. Again many thanks for mentioning the food quality - we believe we give excellent value for money and most of our guests feel the same.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Ireland by ferry. A good sized family room, just right fir stopover and breakfast ok... A youth hostel style approach rather than hotel but filled us up! We ate the evening before and guests should eat in the taverna upstairs, bright and cheerful . We had a good meal then walked to swallow Falls and miners bridge. We were greeted by a friendly lady in reception who was happy to help. Not sure if we were in youth hostel room, the lodge, rather than hotel room, sold on late rooms as the complex, maybe confusing if you are expecting hotel?

Room Tip: Eat in the taverna upstairs, brighter surroundings, good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Despite making booking some months ago we were given a room in the lodge and did not realise cobwebs were included in the rates. Needed to have the room cleaned at 9.30pm before we went to sleep. Owners wife stated 'it was the season for them' so don't go in August. We subsequently realised we had no soaps, shower gels and toothbrush mugs but wanted to just get to bed. Items appeared next day. Noticed all rooms getting a good vacuum next day. Room did not smell fresh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Betws-y-Coed hotels

St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We chose the shallow falls as we had stayed there last year after a lovely stay, again wasn't disappointed, the welcome is warm and friendly, the room we stayed in is like a little lodge it was clean and had all you needed, the bed was comfy and even the sofa bed was exceptable ( for my 18 yr old) the shower did have a mind of its own when it was working properly it is powerful but beware you could be all soaped up and it will stop! But it does resume it's self after a short break! The room was cleaned every day, breakfast every morning is freshly cooked to order with plenty of options, we had one evening meal in the pub, great pub grub and lots of it, the staff are friendly and polite. We enjoyed our stay here it's a bonus being opposite the falls a pleasant sound to hear first thing in the morning. Thanks to all the staff we will be back again next year.

Room Tip: The rooms behind the hotel are spacious plenty of room for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanpayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Many thanks for taking the trouble to write this review - it is very heartening for us that guests like yourselves enjoy your stay with us. Many thanks again and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

First impressions were not great; we were in the lodge which looks tired from the outside. However, the room itself was clean and spacious with a double and two single beds and a little room to spare. Good job we didn't want to watch much tv as we could only just about get 3 channels. The 2 meals for £10 deal represented value for money and the breakfast was plentiful.Certainly not the Ritz but defintiely adequate for an overnight stay and food is wholesome and hearty.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PainauChoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Property: Swallow Falls Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing