We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough but not value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Co Clare,Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice enough but not value for money.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Convenient location in a lovely area. Stayed for 3 nights, co incidentally in the same room as a previous visit 2 years ago. The hotel is a bit tatty,as is the bar area, however room was clean and neat. Staff were without exception above average in friendliness and politeness which is a big plus. Food was adequate and value for money.The "Tavern" where breakfast is served could do with a revamp as it feels like a canteen.
Would I stay there again, yes, because I know what to expect.But I'd like to see some money spent on improving and updating the establishment

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimCoClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    178
    82
    47
    43
See reviews for
113
239
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

As others have said, reminded us of a motel. Outside room fine, but lacked character, breakfast good - food freshly prepared and hot. Breakfast staff polite and courteous. Bar and dining/breakfast room need some decorative attention. Menu poor. In our opinion, overpriced by at least £45 per night.

Room Tip: An outside room - Rooms 24 +
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MorseCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We are completely at a loss to understand this review - our top rate for a dble room including breakfast is £85 so are we expected to charge £40 a night? We would soon go out of business. It would be a good idea for this guest to research other hotels in the area to find out the charges! I think he will be very surprised. Very nice to read that our staff get very good reviews as does our freshly cooked breakfast - many thanks for that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton buzzars
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our mini honeymoon at this Inn, was truly amazing, the location is absolutely beautiful, your can hear the waterfall conveniently across the road, which made our stay very romantic. The staff were very polite, extremely friendly, they made us feel very welcome. Our room was very cosy, with many personal touches. As I am Canadian, I was quite impressed with the pub, with its charming authentic atmosphere, the tavern was very nicely laid out, the decor was beautiful, we dined in both the pub and the tavern and found the food to be delicious and quite hot upon its arrival. We will most definitely return and would recommend this beautiful Inn to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Onchan, null, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Traveled to Betws y coed and stumbled on this hotel - room was excellent and a pleasant surprise as we didn't know what to expect certainly not a lovely appointed room with a four poster bed- and a gorgeous bathroom and all for £60 with a lovely freshly cooked breakfast.
Granted bar needs some updating but bar food was excellent and really good value. This hotel is by far the best we stayed in during our quick break to Wales - far Superior to a B & B in Conway the previous night where we where charged £65 and the Premier Inn on the Wirral at £82 with breakfast. So well done Swallow Falls hotel we will recommend you here in the Isle of Man

Room Tip: our room with the four poster was divine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midleton, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This reminded me of a motel in the classic road movie style. Nothing memorable apart from the Bentley coupe parked in the staff bay! Our room was spacious, completely lacked any character but was clean and comfortable. We chose to buy a picnic in the quickie mart in the local town. (it was our third night in Wales and we wanted to eat a meal without the smell of chips). The bed was comfortable and we all slept well. The shower was tricky as it changed direction of its own accord. Not the worst motel I' ve ever stayed in...

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic mini-holiday in Snowdonia and we really enjoyed our stay at the Swallow Falls Hotel and feel compelled to write an honest, positive review of the hotel (I was a little apprehensive given some of the reviews here, which really are unfair – it is a 3 star hotel after all): Our family room was clean and spacious. The food was tasty and good value (we'd previously had a terrible meal at a pub in Betws-y-Coed itself). The kids just loved the outdoor play area and exploring the hotel itself (lots of little rooms to discover...the garden room with the ping-pong table a hit). Beautiful setting but the hotel is sited on a bend in the road & the traffic goes very fast, making it hard to pull out. Staff were great too. We will be happy to return in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building and was a good size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are so pleased you were happy with your experience here. Again many thanks for mentioning the food quality - we believe we give excellent value for money and most of our guests feel the same.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed one night on our way to Ireland by ferry. A good sized family room, just right fir stopover and breakfast ok... A youth hostel style approach rather than hotel but filled us up! We ate the evening before and guests should eat in the taverna upstairs, bright and cheerful . We had a good meal then walked to swallow Falls and miners bridge. We were greeted by a friendly lady in reception who was happy to help. Not sure if we were in youth hostel room, the lodge, rather than hotel room, sold on late rooms as the complex, maybe confusing if you are expecting hotel?

Room Tip: Eat in the taverna upstairs, brighter surroundings, good food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Property: Swallow Falls Hotel
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing