We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 2nd/3rd June lovely setting, right opposite the falls, the hotel staff were fantastic ,helpful and friendly ,food was plain and simple and delicious but that is what we chose (they do more elaborate dishes aswell) with such a fantasic choice of dishes at breakfast.
The room we stayed in was in the annexe (room 25) and it was clean spacious and well kept, my only gripes are that the shower head didn,t seem to fit the holder it was to big for it so you had to hold the shower head with one hand whilst washing yourself with other, which proved to be slightly frustrating, and maybe little more sound proofing between room 21(first floor) and room 25 (ground floor)might not go amiss

But with all that said would I stay there again your dam right I would, in fact we are hoping to go back in the near future.

Room Tip: If you stay in the annexe try and get a first floor room so that you are not disturbed by other gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegardenerHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 542 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel complex caters well for variety of clients. We loved our long weekend, the room was quiet and comfortable and had en-suite facilities. Coffee making kit also supplied. While we were staying in a lovely room in the main hotel, there is a discrete camp site and a youth hostel close by. It was a relaxing place about a mile or so outside Betws y Coed and directly across the road from the Swallow Falls (waterfalls & roaring river) - which one has to pay to access via a turnstile. We had afternoon tea on arrival and it was very welcome after a long drive. We ate in the resident's restaurant on the first night - the food was high quality and well presented. We will be back there.

Room Tip: Room 32 at front of the hotel, on the 1st floor was ours -recommended. Can also be used as family ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The room was the main problem being situated directly over the bar, outside eating area and adjacent to a busy main road. We were disturbed by all three at different times so it wasn't a peaceful stay in the welsh mountains by any means. The barrel delivery at 8.00am made sure we were up early. Clean room with rather antiquated plumbing, hot water not always available. Excellent restaurant with good guest facilities. Would come again but not unless quiet room could be guaranteed. A bit pricey at £80 a night. Very helpful staff.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank folkfanatic2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We arrived late, but the staff were so organised and helpful leaving keys in the bar which is part of the hotel. The place looked clean and newly redecorated and our room was lovely. The bed was comfy, a little soft for me, but that is personal taste, table and chairs, hairdryer plenty of storage space and coat hangers in the wardrobe... The bathroom was a little dark, but with a vanity mirror on the chest of draws in the bedroom it really wasn't an issue. The bath has seen better days with damage at the end you stand to have a shower but safe and clean. The room was serviced daily and you could decide if you wanted clean towles daily or use what you already have. You only get two tea bags / two coffee / two decaf coffee which did mean you couldn't have one after a long day hiking and one in the morning, but what a minor thing to gripe about! You can request fresh milk for your tea and UHT comes as standard.

Breakfast was fine... cereal / toast and standard hot options. The hot options seemed a little lacking greasy hash brown, fatty bacon, 'wet' poached egg but nothing awful and wouldn't complain as it was completely edible but I have had better (and in fact on the last day it was considerably better, so maybe an in experienced chef for the first few days?!) We had dinner there on one night and the homemade cottage pie was outstanding, good sized portion, full of flavour and on the 2 for £10 menu! The chilli was ok, but had clearly been microwaved and the burgers were very obviously a pre-bought option from a catering company (brakes / 3663) as were the very poor quality buns and 'plastic' cheese slices. All in all a very mixed bag - if you choose wisely you can have something amazing, I suggest choosing the 'homemade' options!

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone.
The staff throughout the stay were very helpful and couldn't do enough to help or make your stay better and I am sure, without a doubt that if we had of mentioned the breakfast or dinner options were not quite as we had hoped that they would have changed them without quibble (but we're fairly relaxed and not overly fussy!)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lady_Emma_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here for a few days this week room was small but adequate comfy bed and good shower everything you need staff friendly had a steak the first night and have to say one of the best steaks I have had cut like a piece of butter also ate the following night and that was good too decided the last night to eat in another restaurant in betws-y-coed but wished we had stayed put to eat at our hotel the hotel is very central for surrounding attractions is Snowdon,slate mines etc would stay again if in the area large car park too which Is pay an display but free if you stay in the hotel

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed here during early May before a day out to zipworld, which was a gift from my partner. The hotel is beautifully situated opposite a lovely waterfall, I stayed in one of the cabins which were spacious overlooking lovely views of the hills and we had some goat visitors! It was a lovely quaint place where you felt miles away. The beds were comfortable with good facilities and our room had a large TV,and coffee facilities and a good shower. Me and my partner spent most of the night in the bar, the barman was freindly and atmosphere was good, we had dinner here and that was also really nice I had the trout which was cooked perfectly and my partner had gammon which looked good. Finally we had breakfast with our stay and that was served quick and was also nice. The reception staff were freindly and helped us with directions. All in all I had a great stay and will be returning again, if you visit I suggest poping into Betty's-y-coed as it's a lovely little village with good shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamxMariaxFrancesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Rooms are very basic but clean,ours was in a Annex block away from the main hotel, they also have a hostel on sight for larger group visits. Breakfast not bad (cheap sausages) made my tongue curl, but the rest was ok,.other food on menu that we chose was well presented, hot and tasty, The home made steak pie was great. The hotel was right opposite the falls which was lovely and there was some great walking to do. No phone signal at all which was a bit bothering, we had to drive into town for calls. I would rate 6/10

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bridget R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
23 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing