We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swallow Falls Camping...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swallow Falls Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Upon arrival we were greeted very arrogantly as we mistakenly decided to drive up to the camping area to see what 'feel' we got for it prior to parting with our money. We were not impressed with the unkempt rocky camping area or the rather uninviting toilet facilities which were locked. On entering the reception we were told that our 13 year old is actually an adult so we decided to opt to find alternative accommodation as money seemed to be the only focus of the conversation with the receptionist... In the end we had a wonderful weekend at Riverside Camping in Caernarfon, enjoying it's immaculately clean and tidy grounds and our 13yr old was even considered a child so he did not need to feel guilty messing about in the river in an inflatable (partially paid for by the lower cost compared to Swallow falls). Swallow falls? Wouldn't go near the place... especially the toilet block.....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank madengineer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Manager at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for you review. We are sorry that on your first impressions you did not want to stay here but hundreds of persons come back to us every year to use our campsite and other facilities. The toilet facilities are locked, but you do get a key when booking in on the campsite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

This is our third visit to the swallow falls, we always stay in the rooms behind the hotel (annex)
Yes they are a little dated, but the room is clean and spacious, the bed is very comfortable, the shower is lovely but still has its moments when it loses it's power.
The pub/restuarant is friendly, the staff are polite the service is great. The food is reasonably priced and a good choice, and you get a very good sized amount.
Overall this s a lovely friendly place to stay, it's perfect for the walkers
We will be back again

Room Tip: We enjoy staying in the annex a stone throw away from the hotel nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanpayne01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Manager at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you for your nice review and we look forward to welcoming you again here in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed in the hotel, room 33 with a 4-poster bed! Lovely room, light and airy, very clean and looked as though it hadn't been decorated that long as carpets, furnishings etc all looked new. The bed and pillows were very comfy and it was easy to snuggle down and get a good night's sleep. This room also had a large en-suite with a full sized bath and shower over the bath. You could hear the waterfall across the road from inside our room. There was a good sized tv and a hospitality tray that was restocked each day. We had our complimentary cream tea when we arrived and after a 5 hour journey, it was most welcome and enjoyable. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We had one evening meal in the upstairs tavern which was from the 2 meals for £10 menu and it was very nice. Staff were polite and helpful. As it was a bit isolated, there was no mobile phone signal, however, you could get a wi-fi signal close to the reception area so you could make your calls through face time. A good base for exploring the amazing sites of north Wales. We would stay at this hotel again as it was a good 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: We managed to pick up wi-fi in Room 33. Not a big room but a lovely room with a cast iron fireplace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Manager at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thankyou for your lovely review and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we can welcome you back here in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This wasn't a nice experience at all, 4 ladies, we wished we'd looked at the reviews first and then tried to get in at one with the YHA somewhere else. The four of us stayed in room 15. It seemed quite like a porta cabin that needs knocked down! Definitely not like the pictures on the website. There was basically damp all over the room ceiling and walls, the window didn't shut properly and it smelled unbearably foul! Not a fan of writing poor reviews but conscious young families will use it as a cheap option! Yes, it's only £24 a head but then if there is 4 or 6 of you, that is £100-£150 a night they are getting for the room, it certainly isn't worth it. As a group of girls, we didn't fuss too much but certainly wouldn't go there as a family. We wouldn't choose to stay there again.

On another note, nothing wrong with the staff, they were all very helpful and friendly. The review is for accommodation only. Hope you sort those problems out Swallow!!

Room Tip: I can't comment, we didn't see any other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MyViewCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your comments and sorry to read that the hostel was not what you expected. Prices are £24 inc Breakfast or £18.50 without for adults. If you had stayed in the hotel a double (or twin) room is £85 per night so the 4 of you would have paid £170 per night against the £96 that you did. . Also a family of 4 to include 2 adults and 2 children (children under 18 cost £14 or £19inc breakfast) would pay either £86 per night or £65 without breakfast - a considerable saving against the price of a hotel room. However, we do take on board your comments on the room and to let you know there is a refurbishment programme about to start on the hostel. Many thanks on your kind comments regarding the staff.
Kind regards Swallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here 11th-13th July and found this hotel a great place to stay,we stayed in the hotel part of the complex and the room was great and breakfast was great too.we also had meals in the pub part of the hotel and the food was good too, we had the two for £10 deal the second night that was excellent for the money. Overall it was a good stay and will be going back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We did not stay at the hotel, but called in for a meal, as it was advertised that there were 2 for £10. We had been before other years and it was ok. I am vegetarian and ordered a hot meal after a day on the hills.We were then told no gas, so the only meal I could have was salad.This was ok, but it was disappointing when it arrived, as I felt they could have given more attention to pleasing us after the gas problem.My husband's lasagne, presumably microwaved, tasted ok, he said. All in all, I didn't feel that we would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Brabgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Owner at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your comments but through no fault of our own the gas supply was disrupted for a brief period of time. We apologise for this. We were pleased to read that your husband enjoyed his food and do hope you will give us another try.
Kind regards Swallows

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in the annexe and paid £85.00 for the room and breakfast. The staff were friendly and polite, and the food was excellent. However, the room was very disappointing -it was dark and dated and the only good thing I could say is that it was very clean and that the bed was fresh and comfortable. I would never stay at this hotel again, but I would use the restaurant if I was in the area. It was also rather annoying to see a sign outside offering rooms for £30.00 per night knowing that we had paid £85.00 and that another guest had paid £110.00.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank quietmanWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_Peter_Jones_61, Manager at Swallow Falls Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are pleased that our staff and food was good. Rooms are offered at a lower price should one be available. If you wish to guarantee your room then you will pay the seasonal rate as we hold these for you. The other guest was paying for a family of 4 and the rate was correct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
2 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
784 reviews
2.4 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swallow Falls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swallow Falls Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0DW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £49 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Swallow Falls Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Swallow Falls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Swallow Falls
Swallow Falls Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing