We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST B&B IN WALES”
Review of Aberconwy House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aberconwy House
Ranked #11 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me and my wife have stayed at this fantastic little b&b twice now and love it . my wife is a school cleaner and obsessed with things being clean and tidy and aberconwy house is just that . add to this the fantastic views down the valley from the hugh bedroom windows and the totally scummy cooked breakfast , makes this our fav b&b to stay . I'm a bit reluctant to say all this because we want to keep this little gem all to ourselves . there's a great little 5 min walk over the river into town .if you want to hit the mountains or just chill out around the town this is the ideal place to stay .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagginman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

we stayed for 2 nights on 14th and15th of august, we booked on the strength of the reviews and we wern't disappointed. the hosts emma and stuart were very helpful along with pat who was there at breakfast and again was helpful and pleasant.the rooms were adequate and most importantly to me spotlessly clean.breakfast was well done and set you up for the day. betws y coed was a quaint village and worth a visit, but i have to say north west wales was breathtaking and we will definately be back.a nice touch at the aberconwy house is the selection of large umberellas at the front door for guests when the occasional shower occurs, and although the town is a short walk across the field and over the bridge the room key fob has a small torch attached to help guide you back after night out, such attention to detail to aid guests are what make this such a wonderful experience and worth a stay at the aberconwy house. the only negatives was the lack of a lift and free bar, but i'm sure emma is working on that, once again thank you all for a memorablr stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We have just spent August Bank Holiday here, It really is a fantastic location with superb views over Betws-y-Coed and Snowdonia National Park, the B&B is very clean and extremely comfortable with sizeable well equipped rooms. The Owners Stuart and Emma are very friendly and give you a warm welcome when you arrive. Breakfast is excellent with a wide choice for everyone. Betws-y-Coed is a short walk away over a very picturesque suspension bridge, once in town there are plenty of bars, restaurants and shops and for the more adventurous really good walks. From our room in Aberconwy house we had a view over the fields to Betws-y-Coed, and up into the snowdonia National Park, the views are stunning and the room has two chairs and a table sat right in front of the picture window, We sat and had a bottle of wine each night in those chairs before going out, in fact Emma had the wine in her fridge for us to keep it chilled, then surprised us with wine glasses and a bottle cooler, I can't find fault with the place the hosts or the house, and will be back again. simply perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but for something extra special, ask for a room at the front, you will not be dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrabevad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We have just returned from a relaxing 4 night stay (19th July -23rd July) at the Aberconwy House.
Emma is a fabulous host, along with her staff made us feel welcome, gave us lots of help including directions to the many places we wanted to visit, Snowdonia, Portmerion etc, all of which are just 30 - 45 minutes drive away.
We stayed in room 5 a spacious room with a very comfortable bed, lovely hot shower and chairs to relax in while enjoying the fantastic view across the valley.
There was plenty of choice for breakfast which we choose the night before, delicious ( especially the sausages) and cooked to perfection it really set us up for the day.
The picturesque village of Betws-y- Coed is only a short 10min walk across the field and small wooden suspension bridge which has a good variety of places to get an evening meal.
All in all this really is the perfect place to stay, an immaculate well run and comfortable accomadation in a delightful area of Wales.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of house on first floor and top floor are quiet and have stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This B&B is run by a husband and wife team, Stuart & Emma Charlton. Stuart is the cook and Emma the welcomer.
The place is a short walk from the center of Betws-y-Coed, a touristy town, adjoining a sheep pasture, across a field and over a suspension bridge. There isn't much to do in the town itself, but you can get to other touristic sites to the north and west easily enough, if you don't mind driving on the narrow roads with tall stone walls on both sides of the road, right up to the edge of the pavement.
If you come to the Aberconwy House from the USA, make sure you bring along a physical adaptor that will convert the three-prong UK plug to the US standard.
The one issue that we had with the B&B was their restrictive breakfast hours. Breakfast was served only from 8:30 to 9AM, which meant that we got a late start for any tourism. Also, the breakfast choices were the same every day, which can get boring when you are there for more than a day or two.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaoulD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberconwyHouseOwner, Owner at Aberconwy House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2013

Just a couple of points, our breakfast times usually suit most guests. We do accommodate guests requiring earlier breakfasts, as I recall, the above guests were welcomed into the breakfast rooms just after 8am each morning.
With regard to our breakfast menu, we offer the traditional cooked breakfast, including eggs cooked how you like, ie. scrambled, fried or poached. We also offer boiled eggs with soldiers and scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. This is along side a choice of cereals, grapefruit and yoghurts. Again, we find that this tends to be more than enough choice for a day or two for most guests.
Its that old adage again, you can please all of the people some of the time and some of the people all of the time, but rarely all of the people all of the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed at the Aberconwy July 26th -29th 2013 to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We received a very warm welcome from the owners Emma & Stuart. Excellent onsite car parking managed by the owners. Breakfast absolutely superb, rooms spotlessly clean, comfy beds. Excellent background music over breakfast every morning. Very frendly staff. What more could you want? Emma & Stuart have an excellent sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble during our stay. Looking forward to returning next year or sooner if we can manage it!
Keep up the good work.
Alan & Luisa Ainsworth

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 day break at Aberconwy House. It was the perfect place to stay in order to visit the nearby countryside. Llandudno,Snowdon,Bodnant Gardens,are easily reached. Betws-y-Coed is a lovely 5/10 minute walk away,along a path and over a suspension bridge.The view from our top floor window was magnificent.Room was comfy and clean.Add to this a delicious breakfast and friendly host and staff,what more could you want.We shall be going back again as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 and could highly recommend it.Peaceful with fabulous views of the mountains and hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.6 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#6 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,044 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberconwy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberconwy House

Address: Llanrwst Road | Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £80 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberconwy House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We look forward to welcoming you to our family run Bed and Breakfast. Aberconwy House is an early Victorian building that offers warm and welcoming bed and breakfast accommodation. Aberconwy House is situated just outside the beautiful village of Betws-y-Coed and has stunning views overlooking the village and the surrounding Gwydyr forest. We are situated within the Snowdonia National Park and only a 30 minute drive from Snowdon. Our location provides a perfect base from which to explore all of Snowdonia and North Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Aberconwy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberconwy House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing