We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth Trying Warm Welsh Cakes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cwmni Cacen Gri

Cwmni Cacen Gri
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Takeaway only Winter hours 10am-3pm Open earlier & later weekends and school holidays
UK
Level Contributor
100 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth Trying Warm Welsh Cakes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Popped into try some welsh cakes after reading reviews on here.
We just bought the normal ones, as the white chic & strawberry didn't appeal to either of us.
They were a bit on the small side especially for the price (6 for £2.50).

It was nice to eat them while they were still warm on the bench outside.

They certainly weren't the best I've had, but filled a gap for something sweet.
Lots of other cakes available to buy along with drinks.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Spangle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    16
    3
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ripped off - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went to buy a traditional Welsh Cake, hot from the griddle, for my kids and American mother-in-law to try, on the understanding that if they liked it I'd get some more later. I enjoyed Welsh Cakes as a child baked by my grandma in Bristol and loved them.
I was charged £1 for a single welsh cake!
I was stunned but thought "maybe these are something special". On tasting it a few minutes later with the kids, it was quite unlike any Welsh Cake I'd ever eaten - crispy on the outside, sprinkled with granulated sugar and dry and crumbly within. Deeply unappetising - no hint of a soft, slightly glutinous centre.
The fact that, for the poor quality, it was so expensive was quite irritating. After chatting with nearby store owners who were shocked at the price of ONE Welsh Cake (they were selling packs of 5 for £1.60), I went back to the Cacen bakery and got 50p back after the same woman who had sold me the cake for £1 now sheepishly told me they were 50p!
Raising prices for the tourist season is one thing ... was this just skimming off the top? Went back to the nearby store and bought the pack of 5 for £1.60 - plump raisins, nice, chewy dough,no unnecessary granulated sugar. Far better cakes, much cheaper and everyone enjoyed them.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank ThoJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshcakeco, Owner at Cwmni Cacen Gri, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are terribly sorry you feel we have "ripped" you off and that we are ripping tourists off, we certainly are not here to do that. This was a genuine error by a part time member of staff - although totally unacceptable. We work incredibly hard to use locally sourced ingredients in our welshcakes & other produce including .Organic Free Range Eggs & Welsh Butter ,We use no preservatives apart from what is in self raising flour. It is very difficult to comment on the said welshcake's texture, we make hundreds every day and they are hand made, hand rolled & hand cut .We are taking this review very seriously and are very sorry we did not have the opportunity to discuss this with you. The welshcakes are 50p each or 6 for £2.50 not £1 each . Please accept our sincere apologies. We have won a number of awards two in March 2014 & hope this reflects our produce, ethos & professionalism. If you are in Betws y Coed again please call in and ask for us and we will try our very best to rectify this review. Many thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. Kind Regards Jennie & Jo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welshpool
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Popped in for tea and cake. The tea came in cardboard take out type cups and the cake on a piece of tissue - deal mainly with take out meals. Seating for 3 people in shop. Cake was delicious and the tea was good and they do unusual flavoured Welsh Cakes - fruits of the hedgerows was the flavour of the day. Would recommend although lost a rating as lack of seating

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cegidfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a find! Everything about this place is wonderful - it looks unique from the outside and the inside is different in that the superb welsh cakes are griddled in front of the customers. The staff are so friendly that we made a point of going in every day to say hello and sample even more of what had been cooked on the premises. The standard is exceptionally high and we brought a box full of goodies back to Brum at the end of our stay!
Hadn't realised initially but they do sell savouries too as well as fab coffee - just what you need after a day's hiking.
Keep up the good work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 483Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Save me from the cakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

A tiny shop but well laid out and with a fairly unique selling point of cooking those ever-so-morish little Welsh Cakes right before your very eyes on the griddle. The cakes are great and the coffee too. The location in the heart of the town is perfect. Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank picturetag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cwmni Cacen Gri also viewed

Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Cwmni Cacen Gri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing