We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic views and a great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner with underfloor heating, log burner and views across Llugwy Valley
Living Room/Diner showing original staircase and log burner
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Outside view of cottage complex
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Cosy double bedroom
Bedroom window views over Llugwy valley
Bathroom with bath/shower, basin and WC
Bathroom with bath/shower, basin and WC
Outside view - Ty Llugwy is cottage on far right
The view from your cottage!
A lovely wintry view of the cottages
The view from the window
Stunning views over the Ogwen Valley
Llyn Ogwen is only 4 miles away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
beaver055
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fantastic views and a great place to stay”
Reviewed 6 February 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We stayed 5 nights in Capel Curig and enjoyed every minute. If we get back to North Wales, which we'd love to, we'll definitely book Ty Llugwy again. The cottage is cosy and comfortable and there's everything you need. The views from the cottage are breath taking. Sunrise with a bit of mist around is particularly lovely. The walk to the top of Moel Siabod is worth the effort and there's so much to see and do in the surrounding area. It is a perfect location to explore all of North Wales and Snowdonia. Marilyn and Elwyn were friendly and helpful and it was so nice to have coffee and cake when we arrived as we had been staying in a hotel in Dublin and had not had a chance to buy any food before we arrived at Capel Curig. It's only about 5 minutes drive into Betws-y-Coed where there's a supermarket, I can't think of any reason not to love this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2016
thank you so much for your lovely comments, it's always nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay, we do hope to see you again

Elwyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma C
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic cottage, fantastic location”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a great stay in this cottage, it was extremely comfortable and clean. The owner goes a long way to add finishing touches to the cottage which made it a pleasure to stay in and extremely welcoming after a long drive!
The location was great for exploring the local mountains and there were plenty of ideas of things to do including different walks left in the cottage.
Would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a holiday in North Wales.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and also for the recommendation to our prospective guests! I am glad you had a good stay here and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElyFraz
Birmingham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't wish for more”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband and I stayed here this last weekend, and as I neglected to write in the comments book I thought I'd review here.
The cottage is beautiful, and amazingly well equipped. It's perfect for two, snug but not cramped. Really nicely decorated with a personal touch (there is an elephant theme!) and it was lovely to be greeted by traditional Welsh goodies and a ready to light fire after a long drive.

Well situated to explore Snowdonia just off the A5 and with spectacular surroundings.

It turns out we will shortly need to return to Snowdonia as our planned zip line trip was postponed due to bad weather, and we wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we really do appreciate it. I hope we are able to welcome you here again in the future.
Best wishes
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great place for a walking / relaxing break”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Excellent 'on site' customer service from Marylin. And very good hotel style extras (tea, coffee, milk, cake!! etc)
Great location for walking up moel Siabod.
The only thing lacking was an outdoor tap to wash off muddy boots.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2015
Thank you for your lovely review, the outside tap is an excellent idea and we will be fitting one as soon as we can! Best wishes, Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie33B...
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Brilliant.......”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

WOW Absolutely brilliant from start to finish, we wanted a relaxing place to just get away from it all, for a few days & that is what this beautiful quaint cottage did for us.
It is so very difficult to get my Husband anywhere....!! Now he is raving about it to everyone & insisting that we re book a week in the summer months, so of course I'm dead pleased.
Great success, we loved the layout, the views & the 'elephants' colour, very, very comfortable everything there that you could possible need & we had forgotten milk (quite a few things actually) but wonder of wonder's, there in the fridge was a pint of milk, plus all the other goodies, with service like that why would you go anywhere else........really.
We can't fault anything we really can't.
A very big & special thanks to the owner's

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am so pleased you liked the cottage so much. I really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future, though if you want to book that week in the Summer, do it soon as it is very nearly fully booked!
Thank you once again,
best wishes
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve T
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Brilliant Cottage & Stunning Location”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

The owner of this venue clearly has an attention for detail and has put a lot a thought into trying to make their guests stay as comfortable as possible by thinking also of the not so obvious and it is well equipped. (If you forget to pack your shower gel for instance, a courtesy tube has been provided to get you started)
We arrived at the cottage long after midnight in the middle of a horrendous storm and could see very little outside.
Inside was toasty and warm and it was so good that comfort treats had been provided (Thank you) as well, enabling us to wind down and finally get to bed. In the morning the panoramic view that met us was incredible. Later during the stay it lightly snowed a couple of times that gave picture postcard view. The summer view couldn't disappoint.
Due to a mishap we were unable to enjoy the variety of walks in the immediate vicinity however the location is ideal to see the sights by car in and around Snowdonia.
It is a cosy cottage with a log burner and everything considered I would rate this higher than the 5 stars/circles. An excellent place to get away from it all.
We were with our little son and we all enjoyed our stay alot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heated Floor, location.
Liked least: Staircase (steep)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review of Ty Llugwy. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here. I wonder what your mishap was and if there was anything we could have done to help? We are always at the end of the phone or you can come to the farmhouse, we are always happy to assist in any way possible. We hope to see you in the future.
Best wishes, Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joedavies...
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best View in north Wales”
Reviewed 16 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Me and my wife stayed her last weekend ,19-22 me and my wife both work full time and we were looking for somewhere to chill out and walk the dog ,away from the busy lifestyle back home . This little cottage was perfect and when i say perfect i mean everything was spot on , your welcomed to a tray of local produce milk,butter,cake ,coffee, tea ect and a wood burner ready to go just light the match ....... the cottage is homely and the black slated floor is even heated ,up stairs has a lovely bathroom with a nice size bedroom and another breathtaking view .
What really stood out to me and my wife was how clean the cottage was , this is a dog friendly cottage but honestly you wouldn't know .Also how helpfull the owners were if you needed anything ,Amazing walks literally on your step and your location is pretty central to everything snowdon ect ,
The only one complaint i have is that ,i didnt book a week there only the weekend .... We will booking to go again for sure .....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Dec 2014
Oh wow what a lovely review! I'm really pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments about the cleanliness too - it makes all the hard work worth it. May I wish you a Merry Christmas and we hope to see you in the New Year.
Best wishes
Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing