We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Self-catering apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

terrybarl...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Self-catering apartment”
Reviewed 18 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Just spent a very enjoyable 4-night stay at Coed y Celyn, can't recommend it enough. Very comfortable accommodation in beautiful surroundings within easy walking distance of Betwys-Y-Coed. Michael and Tracy are very welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable hosts. We very much hope to make a return visit.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
LMW0610
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!”
Reviewed 7 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you are looking for a central location, but not in the busy 'tourist' part of Betws-y-Coed, then this is for you.

If you are wanting self-catering accommodation with character, yet all modern appliances and spotlessly clean, then this is for you.

If you like a friendly welcome with added extras, including everything you could possibly need (DVDs to borrow, umbrellas, torches, local info etc), then this is definitely for you.

We stayed for 4 nights in Apartment 7...and immediately wished that we had booked for longer. From start to finish, it was perfect.

Apartment 7 is located in the converted attic rooms - but don't be put off by the word 'attic'. The space is incredible, with the wooden beams adding character to the high ceilings. The bedroom is huge, a great size bathroom with powerful shower, large hallway - perfect for for storing walking boots/rucksacks, a lounge bigger than my own at home and a separate kitchen with everything you could possibly need. An added bonus - lots of plug points in every room. Free wifi available - signal was best in the lounge and hall area.

Coed-y-Celyn Hall is an old manor house set in its own grounds - with a river. We had perfect weather for April. If warmer in the summer, the grounds would be great for a BBQ and you are invited to use/walk around the grounds.

The owners - Michael and Tracy - deserve a massive thank you. They go beyond the usual expectations. From the moment of initial contact before booking, to the moment Michael waved us goodbye, the information and friendly, professional manner impressed us. We have never been presented with so much information and so much enthusiasm before - they truly helped to make our stay so enjoyable and memorable.

The local area is pretty and full of options. We took Michael's advice and walked to the Fairy Glen and Waterfalls from Coed-y-Celyn Hall. Our visit also included a climb to the summit of Snowdon (25 min drive to Pen y Pass car park for the Pyg/Miner's Tracks) and a day out visiting Portmeirion (40 min drive). It was a perfect base for all of these.

There are plenty of local restaurants - not far to walk (and torches provided for the walk back if it is dark) and 2 small food shops in Betws-y-Coed - Spa and Londis - for all your basics. However, if you have a car, Michael will let you know about Llanrwst, the next town along - there is a larger (and cheaper) Co-op supermarket with parking....along with a great fish/chip shop just near it for a take-away option.

We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this self-catering accommodation to family and friends - in fact, we are already planning a return visit ourselves.

Extra TIPS:
Take change (about £1.50) for the Fairy Glen/Conwy Waterfall walk - entrance donations/fee.
Pen y Pass car park for Snowdon - £10 for the day, but fills up by 7am on weekend/clear days.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raymenic
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Fantastic place to stay. Apartment is so well equipped, area is fantastic, owners recommendation of places to see was so helpful.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tess370
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Such a pleasure as always”
Reviewed 27 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

It was so lovely to return to Coed Y Celyn after a few years since our last visit. Tracy and Michael were so welcoming as they always are. Our apartment was spacious, lovely and warm and beautifully clean and very well equipped, the bed was massive! We look forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephenwr...
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We needed to return to Betws ”
Reviewed 26 October 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We had a static caravan in Betas for 15 years. Are 2 children spent a lot of time growing up in the surrouding area. With all the memories we had there we needed to return, no caravan, where would stay? We found the perfect place at Coed y Celyn. The owners Tracy and Michael are great. They just let you in and that's about it until you leave. The accomadation is first class, self contained with everything you'll need to cook a 3 course meal. The price per night is good value for money. Weve stayed several times over the past few years and continue to do so. My son and his young family have now become regular visitors. In sumary, well worth a visit.

Date of stay: November 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
963iainr
Somerset, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“north wales ideal location”
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

value for money.a great location for seeing plenty of north wales.
apatment was very modern but with a traditional feel to it.
Michael and Tracey have done a wonderful job on these apartments.
very friendly too.
only a ten minute walk to all local amenities
would not even think about booking anywhere else if we visit this area again.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.