We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A hidden gem”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Glyn Shepherds Hut

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
smhassall
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed over the New Year and had a lovely time. This is a special place and the excellent reviews are well deserved. On arrival Catherine made us tea with scones and jam and cream and we sat chatting for half an hour. We loved the hut and the porch came in very useful when we arrived back from a walk on New Years day with wet clothes. Plenty of drying space. Catherine is a warm and generous host and was so accomodating. We hope to go back this year. if you are considering booking, don't hesitate. This was the best of our many stays in Snowdonia to date.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thank you, it was great meeting you. Look forward to seeing you again.
Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jorge D
2 reviews
“Out of this world: Don't think twice about it!”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in November 2017

I wanted a get away weekend with my partner as a little surprise for her to Wales and after reading all the reviews for hut, I couldn't resist but to book it.
Let me tell you, best decision I ever made! Such an amazing location, so easy to get to Mt Snowdon and all other well known attractions. We had breakfast down the road and one of the best breakfasts I ever had.

Catherine was phenomenal, made us feel at home, even gave me a lift down the road so we could get some bits from the shop, gave us access to the big kitchen in the house. However we did cook in the hut 1 night and it was absolutely fine, it really is cosy.

The bed was super comfortable and warm.

Waking up to the the views in the morning was just something else. I wish I had the words to describe our stay and the amazing hospitality by Catherine. Looking into coming back in the summer hopefully.

Highly recommended

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2018
Thank you so much. It was a pleasure meeting you both and I look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest regards,
Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect and unique ”
Reviewed 29 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Perfect little hideaway for a short break, and a nice change from a hotel or b&b. The shepherd's hut has great views of Moel Siabod and was very cosy and comfortable despite the October weather! Catherine is a friendly and helpful host and I would recommend this as a place to stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
Thank you , I am really delighted you enjoyed your stay in the hut.
Very best wishes,
Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doyleast
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed in the Shepherd hut for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. It had everything that you need to be comfortable and the views are amazing from it. Catherine is an excellent host who is very helpful and welcoming. We would recommend anyone to stay there and would do so again. It is a perfect base for exploring North Wales. The place was spotlessly clean and to have milk and some biscuits waiting for us on arrival was a lovely touch. You definitely need a car as it is a few miles to Bets y coed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2017
Thank You, it was lovely to meet you and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Kind regards
Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SophieDav...
Stoke-On-Trent
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect little hideaway”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just got back from a few days away, staying here and using it as a base to explore north wales! It was absolutely perfect for what we wanted and was so snug and cosy. Never once were we cold!

Catherine went out of her way to ensure that we had everything that we needed and even said to come into her house if we needed to dry any clothes etc. Some milk was left in the fridge for us, for an emergency cup of tea when we arrived, along with biscuits, hot chocolate sachets and coffee!

The hut had everything that we needed; a stove, a microwave, a kettle, a toaster, sink, washing up liquid and equipment, knives, chopping boards, mugs, cutlery, plates, hair dryer, board games, etc etc etc! We booked the hut through a glamping site, so brought along all of the things we usually would when camping, but we didn’t need any of it as it was all provided! Classing the hut as ‘glamping’ definitely doesn’t do it justice!

We booked the weekend around some activities that we wanted to do as part of the Zip World chain. The hut was in the middle of all 3 of the zip world sites, so were all in a short driving distance of us. It was also 5 minutes away from the ideallic Betws-y-coed.

All in all, a lovely few days away! Cat cuddles topped it all off

Thank you Catherine! X

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2017
Thank you so much . I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was a real pleasure meeting you both.
Kindest regards,
Catherine x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacqui b
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A wonderful find!”
Reviewed 6 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Thank you to Catherine who goes out of her way to make sure you are comfortable: and we were! Lovely accommodation, very convenient for Snowdon and the Zipworld adventure. The views from the hut are marvellous, and Catherine has thought of every possible little detail we could need. The attached bathroom was great, the bed one of the most comfortable, all in all a great little break in unusual accommodation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrel F
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect way to spend our wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 2 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Do not be mistaken, this may be the most awesome get away in Wales we have ever had. The Hut it perfectly situated on a hill side with views over the national park. Magical scenes of mist coming over the hills.

Our host was perfect and ensured that we were always comfortable and had everything we needed. If you get the chance book in and give it a go.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing