We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A let down”
Review of Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Lodge
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A let down”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel has to be in one of the most scenic areas in Wales. We have often stoped here for evening meals whilst on route to Holyhead so this time decided to spend a night here. We found our stay a big let down. I did at the time of booking tried to book into the main part of the hotel but the booking would not me do so but was in the Stables which we did'nt mind. On arival there was a note on the reception door saying to press and talk into an intercom, after a few minutes wait someone came over to check us in etc. The room was small and not so warm, heat was not on, bathroom was also small and the bath well if you are 3ft nothing it would have been fine. Furniture was a bit on the dated side with signs of wear bit I will have to say the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in a long time. We took the option of no breakfast as we felt it was a bit on the expensive side, plenty of options nearby.
Our room was to the front, not a lot of noise from traffic but there was a noisey group and the staff seemed to know them as well, the racket continued untill well after 23.00hrs, if there was a direct dial phone in the room I would have contacted reception but none available.
Check out at 10.00am ?? never came across this time of check out in my life, we carried some of our luggage out and was having a coffee in the smoking area, we were going back in at 10.15 after having had our coffee to get the rest of out luggage and was greeted by domestic staff at the top of the stairs asking are we in room no --- as they were waiting to get in to clean, leaving our cups in and cllecting the rest of our belongings we were almost knocked down in the door way by a member of staff looking into the room and he had a face on him as long as today and tomorrow.
Check out is 10am?? never came across this check out time in a hotel in my life.
Overall we felt it was a let down and not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very clean accommodation in the centre of Betws-y-coed with walkers and cyclists well catered for. Would have liked breakfast included but chose to cater for ourselves, though still paid £85 for a family room. Would go back as superb location for eating and relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdovey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

we stayed for one night june 6.the service and food is excellent for a very busy bar.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

We have been staying at the stables two to three times per year for nearly 6 years and the prices are increased every year by £5.00 per room per night. The suggestion of €67.00 average per room is incorrect. There are firm costs of £80 or £85 per room per night with no breakfast. The cost for our family of three for three nights is £255.00 or approximately €310.00 whuch we feel is way too expensive for the type of accomodation offered. The village is great but like the hotel, is starting too look and feel a bit tired. The staff are wonderful as is the feeling of being home from home. We believe that the prices are starting to look like bad value as the rooms have not kept up with the price increases and could really do with new lighting, furniture, curtains, walk in showers etc. A nightly charge of £50 to £60 would be more acceptable. We will stay again but may now start looking at other villages in Wales for bank holiday breaks. We can't fault the staff or friendliness but this cannot hide the high cost of the basic accommodation.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresTheSunCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We found the Stables Lodge to be very well placed in the beautiful village of Betws-y-Coed with lots of great shops and sufficient eateries to please everybody. The staff were extremely helpful and the room clean. The bed was a little hard and the pillows of very poor quality. On the two nights we stayed we had to request an additional set of towels as there was only two sets made available for the three of us.
On both nights we stayed we were woken by very loud and numerous groups of men who were inconsiderately swearing, banging doors and shouting along the corridors to one-another. We had been made aware earlier whilst eating in the Royal Oak that there were 'stag' parties staying. With this in mind, if you are a family you may be better off finding a more family friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Lovely room friendly staff very good choice of food from smart restaurant to bar food. Situated in the centre of Betws y Coed. We had a lovely 2 night winter break and will certainly return. Only minor quibble the bed was a bit to hard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank centralUKGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed at the Stables Lodge at the end of December with our two children (aged 9 and 11) in a family room. Admittedly the price was very reasonable (but without breakfast, which we paid for separately and had at the Royal Oak Hotel). The room was a bit outdated, but the main issue was that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable (and a lot of rubbish had collected under it). As a couple we would have probably been ok or even had the children been younger. One good thing is that there is a drying room where you can put all your wet waterproofs after walking out in the rain. Still had a lovely time, Betws-y-Coed is a very picturesque village with lots of great walks and things to see in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999Stiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
710 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge

Property: Stables Lodge
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stables Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Wales's most popular inland resort and only 10 minutes drive from Snowdon with its mountains and coast. All 18 modern rooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard with color remote TVs, hospitality trays, double glazing and lift. Bike store and drying facilities on site. Located next door to the famous Stables Bistro Bar with meals served all day, every day and regular entertainment by Jazz band and local Welsh choir. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stables Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Stables Lodge Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing