We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stay in a Stable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Lodge
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A stay in a Stable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are exploring the north Wales inland area. Reasonable price -they charge by the room- clean and in a beautiful place right in the heart of this delightful small town. It has its own railway too with connections to the mainlines; much better than using the car we thought. There is a gymnasium nearby with reduced rates but walks along the riverside and around the Forrest are free! The attached stables bar serve nice coffee but could do with improving their gents toilets (the smell was horrid and the electric hand dryer was about as much help as a chocolate teapot! Other than that a great little find for a week-end stay.

Room Tip: Its set back from the road in a courtyard so all rooms are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

When visiting places like Betws-y-coed, why spend £150 per night at a big chain, when you can get a clean bed/room/bathroom & breakfast for two for £75. We visited during the XMAS Festival, so checkin was a bit clunky and slow, but we didnt care, we could listen to the carol singers. Checkout is easy, drop the key in the box. As you pay in advance, you cant charge anything to your room or use the late bar at the hotel, but do you really need that for £75 more ?
Ideal place to stay, in the centre of Betws (Although nothing is that far away is it).
Only one issue, if you sleep lightly, you will hear the bells chime next door every hour ...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BacardiMan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Fantastic staff ~ very friendly and helpful.
Family room was poor ~ tired and shabby and not cleaned to a very high standard.
The children slept on a sofa bed which was well worn, saggy in the middle and overall rather uncomfortable.
Welsh breakfast at £9. per head was way too expensive. This was not buffet style, so you have a small amount of everything, rather than more of a few things more to your taste.
Breakfast at Conwy Falls was recommended to us by a couple visiting Betws for 22 years running. Unfortunately we made the mistake of opting for breakfast at the hotel!
In my opinion £85. for this room was way too expensive.
Betws-y-Coed is a beautiful picturesque village with loads to do nearby and we would love to go back. However, we would not stay at the Stables again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbysykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This hotel has to be in one of the most scenic areas in Wales. We have often stoped here for evening meals whilst on route to Holyhead so this time decided to spend a night here. We found our stay a big let down. I did at the time of booking tried to book into the main part of the hotel but the booking would not me do so but was in the Stables which we did'nt mind. On arival there was a note on the reception door saying to press and talk into an intercom, after a few minutes wait someone came over to check us in etc. The room was small and not so warm, heat was not on, bathroom was also small and the bath well if you are 3ft nothing it would have been fine. Furniture was a bit on the dated side with signs of wear bit I will have to say the bed was the most comfortable we have slept in in a long time. We took the option of no breakfast as we felt it was a bit on the expensive side, plenty of options nearby.
Our room was to the front, not a lot of noise from traffic but there was a noisey group and the staff seemed to know them as well, the racket continued untill well after 23.00hrs, if there was a direct dial phone in the room I would have contacted reception but none available.
Check out at 10.00am ?? never came across this time of check out in my life, we carried some of our luggage out and was having a coffee in the smoking area, we were going back in at 10.15 after having had our coffee to get the rest of out luggage and was greeted by domestic staff at the top of the stairs asking are we in room no --- as they were waiting to get in to clean, leaving our cups in and cllecting the rest of our belongings we were almost knocked down in the door way by a member of staff looking into the room and he had a face on him as long as today and tomorrow.
Check out is 10am?? never came across this check out time in a hotel in my life.
Overall we felt it was a let down and not what we expected.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Very clean accommodation in the centre of Betws-y-coed with walkers and cyclists well catered for. Would have liked breakfast included but chose to cater for ourselves, though still paid £85 for a family room. Would go back as superb location for eating and relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stumcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdovey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

we stayed for one night june 6.the service and food is excellent for a very busy bar.

Room Tip: they are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryan581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

We have been staying at the stables two to three times per year for nearly 6 years and the prices are increased every year by £5.00 per room per night. The suggestion of €67.00 average per room is incorrect. There are firm costs of £80 or £85 per room per night with no breakfast. The cost for our family of three for three nights is £255.00 or approximately €310.00 whuch we feel is way too expensive for the type of accomodation offered. The village is great but like the hotel, is starting too look and feel a bit tired. The staff are wonderful as is the feeling of being home from home. We believe that the prices are starting to look like bad value as the rooms have not kept up with the price increases and could really do with new lighting, furniture, curtains, walk in showers etc. A nightly charge of £50 to £60 would be more acceptable. We will stay again but may now start looking at other villages in Wales for bank holiday breaks. We can't fault the staff or friendliness but this cannot hide the high cost of the basic accommodation.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WheresTheSunCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge

Property: Stables Lodge
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stables Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Wales's most popular inland resort and only 10 minutes drive from Snowdon with its mountains and coast. All 18 modern rooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard with color remote TVs, hospitality trays, double glazing and lift. Bike store and drying facilities on site. Located next door to the famous Stables Bistro Bar with meals served all day, every day and regular entertainment by Jazz band and local Welsh choir. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stables Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Stables Lodge Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing