We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Lodge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Turned up looking for a room at the last minute. We took the last available room!

Room was clean and had all the mod cons you'd expect, bed was a little hard for my taste, but that's personal preference - on that score, a hotel could never manage to please everyone!! Boyfriend likes to sleep with windows open - I was pleased to find additional spare bedding to compensate!

Bathroom was modern and clean. Shower was somewhat lacking in power, but was nice and warm, which is the main thing.

Situated in the heart of the village, near to some amazing eating places. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareyBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

The one thing in particular I didnt like about The Stables was the Weird and impersonal reception area. You are directed to Stables reception by a bright neon sign, sadly after bringing your luggage here this 'reception' area is a facade and merely the entrance portal to the rooms belonging to Stables. To check in you have to trundle round to the Royal Oak Hotel to then have to return back to this pretend reception area to get to your rooms (through this door and up a couple of sets of stairs or lift). The rooms seem newly modernised, contemporary, nice and clean. The bed seemed comfortablish (bed too hard pillows too soft - more personal preference). These rooms are next too a beautiful church, which has a bell in excellent working order, and rings on the hour. It is located next to a lively bar which is busy till late. For our evening meal we chose to eat at The Grill Bar (one of the three restaurants within the Royal Oak) the food was good, but so it should be for the price (worked out at around £36 pph). We also had cooked breakfast here sadly despite being seated by a very nice lady, the man who did not introduce himself (but took our order) failed to tell us to help ourselves to the continental buffet or drinks. Tried to ask a waitress who was moving plates from a table - she would not even answer my question but just told me to 'wait' and promptly fuffed off. The chap then reappeared saying he was just coming back to ask (whoops - no fluffing staff boundaries here). Full English breakfast very good and coffee was lovely too.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our room at the stables lodge was lovely. It was clean, comfortable, and a decent size. The bathroom was good, clean and all that you would want - apart from them power in the shower. It was more of a dribble than a shower. The power behind the tap in the basin was excellent. Pity about the shower.

The location was excellent, the stables bar was really popular and probably one of the better places to spend the evening. Our room was overlooking the car park and was reasonably quiet.

There was plenty of on site parking and a discount for using the gym/spa in a hotel the other side of the village. We went there to shower after walking in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

The stables lodges is a annex of the Royal oak hotel. The family room is spacious, 1 king bed and a double sofa bed. Nice decoration, good mattress, clean sheets. The bathroom is a bit small.
If you stay with your family and you want to be very quiet, ask for a room very far of the pub because it's very crowdy and noisy until midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerieg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

As the Stables Lodge is part of the Royal Oak hotel I was half expecting this accommodation to be a poor 'walkers' wing i.e. the grubby little sister of the posh hotel - fortunately it is far from that; Apparently these rooms have been refurbished recently, and there was certainly little to complain about when we stayed in April 2013. They have TV, tea/coffee facilities, ipod dock etc, and are nice, clean typical premier-inn type accomodation (i.e. IMO pretty good). I think the price could be a little lower, and the bath a little bigger, (if you fancy a soak after a day on the mountains), however the location is great with the Stables Bar right next door, and the rest of Betws-y-Coed on your doorstep too. My only small complaint is that we had a room above the drying room (room 104), and heard the tumble dryer fairly early in the morning, although it's not a deafening deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Not above drying room as tumble dryer on early in the morning could be heard through the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

I visited at Easter 2013 with my young son. The set-up for walkers and outdoor-types is fantastic. The food in the pub is great value and the pub itself is very friendly with the extra touches to make it cosy. Warm sheepskin rugs in the outdoor seating area and patio heaters created a lovely opportunity to eat in the open and enjoy the fresh air. The rooms are great - spotlessly clean. For walkers, the drying room is fab! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back facing the car park are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chucklebutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This is a good place to stay if you are exploring the north Wales inland area. Reasonable price -they charge by the room- clean and in a beautiful place right in the heart of this delightful small town. It has its own railway too with connections to the mainlines; much better than using the car we thought. There is a gymnasium nearby with reduced rates but walks along the riverside and around the Forrest are free! The attached stables bar serve nice coffee but could do with improving their gents toilets (the smell was horrid and the electric hand dryer was about as much help as a chocolate teapot! Other than that a great little find for a week-end stay.

Room Tip: Its set back from the road in a courtyard so all rooms are as good as each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FraternalEdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge

Property: Stables Lodge
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stables Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Wales's most popular inland resort and only 10 minutes drive from Snowdon with its mountains and coast. All 18 modern rooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard with color remote TVs, hospitality trays, double glazing and lift. Bike store and drying facilities on site. Located next door to the famous Stables Bistro Bar with meals served all day, every day and regular entertainment by Jazz band and local Welsh choir. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stables Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Stables Lodge Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing