We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, apart from a few niggles”
Review of Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stables Lodge
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Pretty good, apart from a few niggles”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights over a week. The positives, nice modern bedroom and bathroom, a fair step up from a Premier Inn. Great location with parking in the heart of Betws-Y-Coed. Adjoining pub is good with nice food but very very busy as you would expect on a wet and windy weekend in the autumn half term. Now my niggles - they are small things but really impacted our sleep. The first - all the doors in lodge are spring loaded, so in the morning in particular all you can hear is doors slamming from around 6am (as all the hikers are up and about). Secondly, our bed in room 108 was uncomfortable and hard - I could feel the springs and I'm only 12st. Last niggle was the room cleaners - both mornings they knocked by 9.30am. Given that check out is 10am anyway this was pretty earlier and could have been avoided had "do not disturb" signs been provided. Otherwise not bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    31
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
45
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have been staying at Stables Lodge for a number of years now, and always enjoy our breaks. The food in the bar is excellent and reasonably priced. A good variety of local beers too. Staff are always friendly and helpful. Only one negative point was the water pressure in room 116, shower was a bit of a trickle, but we coped.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Turned up looking for a room at the last minute. We took the last available room!

Room was clean and had all the mod cons you'd expect, bed was a little hard for my taste, but that's personal preference - on that score, a hotel could never manage to please everyone!! Boyfriend likes to sleep with windows open - I was pleased to find additional spare bedding to compensate!

Bathroom was modern and clean. Shower was somewhat lacking in power, but was nice and warm, which is the main thing.

Situated in the heart of the village, near to some amazing eating places. We will be returning!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareyBiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

The one thing in particular I didnt like about The Stables was the Weird and impersonal reception area. You are directed to Stables reception by a bright neon sign, sadly after bringing your luggage here this 'reception' area is a facade and merely the entrance portal to the rooms belonging to Stables. To check in you have to trundle round to the Royal Oak Hotel to then have to return back to this pretend reception area to get to your rooms (through this door and up a couple of sets of stairs or lift). The rooms seem newly modernised, contemporary, nice and clean. The bed seemed comfortablish (bed too hard pillows too soft - more personal preference). These rooms are next too a beautiful church, which has a bell in excellent working order, and rings on the hour. It is located next to a lively bar which is busy till late. For our evening meal we chose to eat at The Grill Bar (one of the three restaurants within the Royal Oak) the food was good, but so it should be for the price (worked out at around £36 pph). We also had cooked breakfast here sadly despite being seated by a very nice lady, the man who did not introduce himself (but took our order) failed to tell us to help ourselves to the continental buffet or drinks. Tried to ask a waitress who was moving plates from a table - she would not even answer my question but just told me to 'wait' and promptly fuffed off. The chap then reappeared saying he was just coming back to ask (whoops - no fluffing staff boundaries here). Full English breakfast very good and coffee was lovely too.


  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our room at the stables lodge was lovely. It was clean, comfortable, and a decent size. The bathroom was good, clean and all that you would want - apart from them power in the shower. It was more of a dribble than a shower. The power behind the tap in the basin was excellent. Pity about the shower.

The location was excellent, the stables bar was really popular and probably one of the better places to spend the evening. Our room was overlooking the car park and was reasonably quiet.

There was plenty of on site parking and a discount for using the gym/spa in a hotel the other side of the village. We went there to shower after walking in the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The stables lodges is a annex of the Royal oak hotel. The family room is spacious, 1 king bed and a double sofa bed. Nice decoration, good mattress, clean sheets. The bathroom is a bit small.
If you stay with your family and you want to be very quiet, ask for a room very far of the pub because it's very crowdy and noisy until midnight.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerieg224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

As the Stables Lodge is part of the Royal Oak hotel I was half expecting this accommodation to be a poor 'walkers' wing i.e. the grubby little sister of the posh hotel - fortunately it is far from that; Apparently these rooms have been refurbished recently, and there was certainly little to complain about when we stayed in April 2013. They have TV, tea/coffee facilities, ipod dock etc, and are nice, clean typical premier-inn type accomodation (i.e. IMO pretty good). I think the price could be a little lower, and the bath a little bigger, (if you fancy a soak after a day on the mountains), however the location is great with the Stables Bar right next door, and the rest of Betws-y-Coed on your doorstep too. My only small complaint is that we had a room above the drying room (room 104), and heard the tumble dryer fairly early in the morning, although it's not a deafening deal-breaker.

Room Tip: Not above drying room as tumble dryer on early in the morning could be heard through the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
739 reviews
0.9 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
170 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Eagles
The Eagles
#3 of 11 in Betws-y-Coed
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stables Lodge

Property: Stables Lodge
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stables Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Wales's most popular inland resort and only 10 minutes drive from Snowdon with its mountains and coast. All 18 modern rooms are en-suite and furnished to a high standard with color remote TVs, hospitality trays, double glazing and lift. Bike store and drying facilities on site. Located next door to the famous Stables Bistro Bar with meals served all day, every day and regular entertainment by Jazz band and local Welsh choir. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stables Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Stables Lodge Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing