We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A two night stay offering comfort, fantastic food and attentive service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 28.7.12 for a two night stay for our 5th wedding anniversary, The initial inquiry was made over the phone with Guy, who advised me that if I booked by the internet option I would recieve a 10% discount, after trying this option I discovered that their was some glitch with the system and telephoned again, Guy stated that the whole of the internet in betws-y-coed had crashed but he would ring me when it returned. Upon it returning Guy as promised rung me back (35 minutes) and took the booking on the phone offering me the 10% discount. Upon arrival at the hotel their was a wedding function taking place but to the credit of the hotel the closest parking had been corderned off for hotel residents, check in was efficient with help with our luggage being offered, we were shown our room offering us a 'superking size' with riverside view but to our amazement a decking terace as well. Room was tastefully decorated and offered everything you could wish for, the space made the room feel more like a mini suite! views of the river and valley were stunning. When the booking was made we made a booking for the restaurant as well requesting a window table this was honoured and the food served was simply stunning offering homegrown and local produce served by very efficient staff who are only to pleased to serve and want to make you enjoy the experience. Breakfast was fantastic and I doubt any would be dissapointed! on offer to name but a few, full welsh cooked, omelettes, smoked haddock, kippers, full continental and so on. In the days of most chain style establishments and some privately owned ones wanting to appear they give you the full package but very rarely acheive it, it was a pleasure to receive such a high class of personel and welcoming service and it is of credit to the family that own it that these standards are maintained at all times throughout the stay.

Room Tip: choose room 2, 3 or 4 these all come with the decking terace with room 2 having a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul261072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

295 - 301 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

June and it rained and it rained and then it rained some more, but even the wet stuff couldn't detract from the pleasure of staying at Craig-yDderwen.

Both our room and the ensuite bathroom were quite surprisingly large with a lovely, private balcony over-looking the river. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity to sit out there but the weather was filthy so my sister and I had to content ourselves with appreciating the fact that it would have been lovely if only the rain had let up for even a little while.

The evening meal in the restaurant was memorable. Succulent, "melt in your mouth" lamb, perfectly cooked vegetables and we just had to force ourselves to share a sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Breakfast was equally good.

I would cheerfully return here again. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Weather aside, The balcony rooms over-looking the river are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank byrninrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in this beautiful hotel. Upon arrival Guy welcomed us and was helpful and attentive offering to carry bags. The rooms which were 'Superkings' with a Riverview were very beautiful, clean and airy with a balcony overlooking the River Conwy. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the views stunning. The hotel was quiet - perfect for a get away from it all break.
Service throughout our stay was superb, friendly and charming. Food was great and plentiful with breakfasts to last the whole day long on. The chef clearly takes pride in his accomplishments. There was a good wine list to compliment the lovely food in the evening.
This hotel is perfectly placed to explore the beautiful welsh countryside and even on this wet weekend, the hotel and its surroundings could not be dulled by the rain...and more rain...with little sunshine.
Thankyou to all for making this a very special weekend

Room Tip: We had superking rooms overlooking the River Conwy with a balcony. There is no lift so for older peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had Afternoon Tea bought for me for my 40th birthday and it was a perfect treat. The staff member who looked after us couldn't have been more helpful as she helped us move table when the bay window became free so we could enjoy the river view. Sadly the June weather was rubbish so we couldn't sit outside as the deck/patio area looks lovely. There's a selection of teas to choose from. Then the tower of cakes come out accompanied with a round of salmon and cumber sandwiches. The sandwiches had a very generous filling in and were very tasty. Then we started on the cakes. Wow is all I can say. The Welsh cakes were warm and so fresh. The scones had lashings of cream and jam to keep me happy for a while. Ofcourse you have to put the cream on first then the jam!! Sadly even I couldn't eat some of everything and cakes were returned to the kitchen. Was most disappointed but upon reaching 40 I guess my appetite diminished. I would certainly go again for afternoon a. The restaurant looked inviting too so maybe one day I'll get to try the meals here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pgillett456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights in June. It is set in a beautiful location with stunning views from both the garden and the balcony of our room. This was spacious with a very comfortable king sized bed. The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful.We also very much enjoyed breakfast and diner in the restaurant.
Just "superb" we wish it was a little closer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobster59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a fabulous stay for a family reunion. Service and food were great, the setting in the river valley is sublime and you are very close to all that Snowdonia has to offer. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the family room which was excellent. Great kingsize bed for us and a separated bedroom off an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had our wedding here on june 6th. Everything was perfect. All staff very helpful. food fantastic. The whole experience was lovely, friendly, beautiful, and perfect. Nothing is too much trouble for the manager or staff. Absolutely stunning scenery. we have booked to go back for our first annuversary.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meggynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
695 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £98 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing