We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth visit in less than two years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Sixth visit in less than two years”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

This is our third visit this year and perfect weather helped to set off the stunning location of this hotel. As usual the staff, service and food were all excellent and our ground floor room was perfect for us as we both have mobility problems. Congratulations to Martin, Helen, Jill and the rest of the team for making our stay enjoyable and relaxing. Anyone wanting a quiet hotel in beautiful scenery with excellent food,, both breakfasts and dinners, and friendly helpful staff who always seem to go that extra mile for the guests need look no further. Just a couple of points - the home made Welsh bread is delicious and the hotel is in an ideal location for visiting several narrow gauge steam railways as well as walking. Keep up the good work - we'll back again next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility problems. If not river view rooms are well worth t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb62StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    68
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
243
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malpas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Lovely peaceful hotel in a stunning location.

We had a river view room which was very comfortable with excellent views.
One small complaint would be that the wifi did not work in the room we were in as we were a little way from the hub.

Breakfast was delicious and plentiful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The weather was not very good when we stayed here, but id didn't make much difference as the hotel was in the most wonderful location with superb views from the restaurant, bistro and lounge. only a short distance from Betws, so that was another plus. We stayed in a large bedroom with a river view but if we went again, we would ask for a room with a balcony. Food was good, large portions! Although I feel the hotel needed a bit of updating as regards decor ( that is a subjective view, I know) it is a lovely place to stay. Staff were so helpful and polite, you felt nothing was too much trouble. Guy needs a special mention here!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony would be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digit_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great location overlooking the river and only a short walk in betwys y coed.
Fantastic breakfast room and friendly staff.
We stayed in a river view super king room, which huge, very clean and had a lovely balcony.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putneyvillage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We arrived at the hotel on 28.7.12 for a two night stay for our 5th wedding anniversary, The initial inquiry was made over the phone with Guy, who advised me that if I booked by the internet option I would recieve a 10% discount, after trying this option I discovered that their was some glitch with the system and telephoned again, Guy stated that the whole of the internet in betws-y-coed had crashed but he would ring me when it returned. Upon it returning Guy as promised rung me back (35 minutes) and took the booking on the phone offering me the 10% discount. Upon arrival at the hotel their was a wedding function taking place but to the credit of the hotel the closest parking had been corderned off for hotel residents, check in was efficient with help with our luggage being offered, we were shown our room offering us a 'superking size' with riverside view but to our amazement a decking terace as well. Room was tastefully decorated and offered everything you could wish for, the space made the room feel more like a mini suite! views of the river and valley were stunning. When the booking was made we made a booking for the restaurant as well requesting a window table this was honoured and the food served was simply stunning offering homegrown and local produce served by very efficient staff who are only to pleased to serve and want to make you enjoy the experience. Breakfast was fantastic and I doubt any would be dissapointed! on offer to name but a few, full welsh cooked, omelettes, smoked haddock, kippers, full continental and so on. In the days of most chain style establishments and some privately owned ones wanting to appear they give you the full package but very rarely acheive it, it was a pleasure to receive such a high class of personel and welcoming service and it is of credit to the family that own it that these standards are maintained at all times throughout the stay.

Room Tip: choose room 2, 3 or 4 these all come with the decking terace with room 2 having a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul261072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

June and it rained and it rained and then it rained some more, but even the wet stuff couldn't detract from the pleasure of staying at Craig-yDderwen.

Both our room and the ensuite bathroom were quite surprisingly large with a lovely, private balcony over-looking the river. It would have been nice to have had the opportunity to sit out there but the weather was filthy so my sister and I had to content ourselves with appreciating the fact that it would have been lovely if only the rain had let up for even a little while.

The evening meal in the restaurant was memorable. Succulent, "melt in your mouth" lamb, perfectly cooked vegetables and we just had to force ourselves to share a sticky toffee pudding for dessert. Breakfast was equally good.

I would cheerfully return here again. Worth every penny.

Room Tip: Weather aside, The balcony rooms over-looking the river are a real treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byrninrubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have just returned from a long weekend in this beautiful hotel. Upon arrival Guy welcomed us and was helpful and attentive offering to carry bags. The rooms which were 'Superkings' with a Riverview were very beautiful, clean and airy with a balcony overlooking the River Conwy. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and the views stunning. The hotel was quiet - perfect for a get away from it all break.
Service throughout our stay was superb, friendly and charming. Food was great and plentiful with breakfasts to last the whole day long on. The chef clearly takes pride in his accomplishments. There was a good wine list to compliment the lovely food in the evening.
This hotel is perfectly placed to explore the beautiful welsh countryside and even on this wet weekend, the hotel and its surroundings could not be dulled by the rain...and more rain...with little sunshine.
Thankyou to all for making this a very special weekend

Room Tip: We had superking rooms overlooking the River Conwy with a balcony. There is no lift so for older peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcmdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing