We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful View!”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in June. The location is excellent for seeing Northern Wales and Snowdonia. We had a lovely riverside room with a gorgeous view. The hotel has been refurbished and the rooms were spacious with newly renovated bathrooms. We ate dinner both nights in the hotel and food was delicious. Breakfast was made to order and wonderful. Our only complaint was spotty wifi. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    69
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
248
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

7 days was not too many, although the menu had just started to repeat itself.

3 problems with the room were put right quickly and without fuss, then largely we got on with our holiday with a bit of help from other guests and the management.

hotel, not completely disabled friendly, but much better than most.

did I enjoy it? ... Yes!

did we enjoy it? ... Yes!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmartinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for just over a week from 8th June and as usual the whole experience was outstanding. The combination of the fantastic setting, service which is second to none, excellent food and a very comfortable and well appointed room with a view of the river made this a perfect week. Even the weather was beautiful most of the time - not like the snow and ice we experienced back in March on our last visit. Congratulations to Martin and Ivette for keeping up the exceptional standards we have got used to over the years. Also Andrew, Jill and Paul who went out of their way to make us feel welcome and together with the rest of staff provided the service that made this a wonderful relaxing week.
Both my wife and I are disabled and all the staff went more than the extra mile to help with moving luggage, providing that extra bit of help with finding convenient tables to eat even letting us charge up our mobility scooter.
A new experience was to try the afternoon tea. What a spread! Totally recommend it to anyone else staying but you will need a very good appetite to manage an evening meal on the same day.
Overall we can't fault Riverside Hotel and can unreservedly recommend it to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday with a combination of stunning scenery and luxury. We'll be back again later this year.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb62StokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had escaped for one nights break and ended up in Betws-y-Coed. We hadn't pre-booked but they had a room available for the one night. The hotel is set high on the banks of a beautiful river and with the sunlight sparkling on the water it was magical! Our room was on the top floor with a river view and a balcony - fabulous! The room was a good size as was the en-suite bathroom and both were very clean and comfortable with good ease of use. We had a great nights sleep as the bed was comfortable and the hotel was exceptionally quiet. We had dinner in the restaurant and couldn't fault the service nor the food - delicious! The dining area is in a conservatory overlooking the river and was very pleasant surroundings for an evening meal.
breakfast the next day was in the same dining area and the food was piping hot and plenty of it - my husband had the 'Full Welsh breakfast' and really enjoyed it. I had scrambled egg bacon and tomatoes and it too was beautifully cooked and tasted lovely. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a drink in the bar before and after dinner and found it very relaxing.
The hotel cannot be seen from the road which is an added bonus and there is no traffic noise to be heard and you can feel really hidden away from the world - if only for a short while!

Room Tip: Room number 18 with a balcony overlooking the river and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbrianPeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I stayed here for a 3 night break in June,staff were very attentive and chatty. Was staying on my own and they made me feel very welcome. Everything spot on, from the booking to the accommodation and the food was amazing!! Every night I had a table with a lovely view of the river. Truly was a breath of fresh air staying here, defiantly going to go back. Many thanks to all the staff working there.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leahharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Very pleasant stay. Would definitely return. Didn't use the restaurant for dinner but judging by the breakfast it would be very good. lovely dining area. Staff very helpful and cheerful.
Rob & Mary Morris

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Have just spent 3 nights here, beautiful large room overlooking the river, fab hosts Martin and Andrew and special thanks to Rhodrhi, you could not wish for a better barman/waiter, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble!!! Jill who served breakfast was also lovely as we're all the staff. The restaurant is divine, fab food and desserts, even my husband remarked on the quality and taste of the food and he NEVER gets excited about food, he certainly did there!!! Brilliant area of Wales, we go regularly and now having discovered this gem of a hotel we will certainly be back again!! Thank you to all who made our stay so good. Oooh must also mention the rhubarb ice cream the chef had made and were lucky enough to get first taste, I'd go back just for that!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollie2870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing