We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Relaxing mini-break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed here over the weekend of 20th July for our 40th Wedding Anniversary. I can only say that I have not stayed in a nicer, more relaxing and friendly hotel in a long time! The manager Andrew was extremely pleasant ant struck me as being very good at what he does! The room ( although a river view would have been the icing on the cake ) was comfortable, well appointed, clean and quiet.
The food was without doubt of the highest standard and the preparation was better than some of the " Top Range " hotels I've stayed in ... The staff were courteous and efficient and helped make our little stay very relaxing!
The only problem we encountered were the midges of an evening... Not a lot that the hotel staff could do about them although I would suggest some incense burners around the balcony area would help a lot.
All in all though I couldn't fault our experience and would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, private mini-break or hollidy!

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a River view....The outlook over the river Conwy is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delzx7r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

When making my booking of 2 rooms at £160 each, I mentioned that we were staying to attend my son's graduation. We arrived at the hotel at 2.30 pm (checking in time) on Sunday and asked if we could obtain a snack...we were told we were too late for lunch as the kitchen closed at 2.30 pm. Having only just arrived, my sons were hastily dispatched to find us something to eat, as I am diabetic, We were also told that breakfast would not be available to us the following morning as service did not start until 8.00 am...we needed to leave at 7.45 am in order to get to the University! This hotel is not cheap but was booked due to the special occasion...this transpired to be a bad move. We were charged Bed and Breakfast rates, but were denied breakfast. On reflection, we would probably have been better served in a family run Bed & Breakfast where they would have been more accommodating. Our special occasion was marred by this experience.
On the plus side, the rooms were very well appointed, very clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Wonderful location, lovely rooms right on the river, nice grounds, friendly staff. Now our favourite place in North Wales. Have been here 3 times and will go again. A bit pricey, but worth it for that special treat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My wife and I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights as part of our wedding festivities. As we were having a small family wedding, we had our wedding dinner in the restaurant where every one of our guests thoroughly enjoyed the food with clean plates all round. The service from Martin and his staff was excellent and throughout our stay in the hotel we were extremely well looked after.
The hotel's location is beautiful and from our room we had a picturesque view of the the River Conwy Valley. We will definitely be back to celebrate at least one of our anniversaries over subsequent years.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stopped here to catch the sun. The terrace by the river is lovely, sheltered and tranquil. We were allowed to bring our dog on the terrace so we didn't have to leave her in the car. Would love to stay here through, there are rooms with large sunny balconies and the river frontage is lovely. Apparently Elgar stayed in one of the cottages on the lane leading to the hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful. The lunch food is well presented and tasty, if a little unambitious.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank katiecoughdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here in June. The location is excellent for seeing Northern Wales and Snowdonia. We had a lovely riverside room with a gorgeous view. The hotel has been refurbished and the rooms were spacious with newly renovated bathrooms. We ate dinner both nights in the hotel and food was delicious. Breakfast was made to order and wonderful. Our only complaint was spotty wifi. We would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

7 days was not too many, although the menu had just started to repeat itself.

3 problems with the room were put right quickly and without fuss, then largely we got on with our holiday with a bit of help from other guests and the management.

hotel, not completely disabled friendly, but much better than most.

did I enjoy it? ... Yes!

did we enjoy it? ... Yes!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulmartinwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
799 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £134 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing