We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 4 poster, hot tub room and thoroughly enjoyed it. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was fantastic, one of the best meals I've ever had!

Hot tub on the balcony overlooking the river was really special.

We will definately be returning!

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
There are newer reviews for Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for two nights to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary. From the moment we entered and were shown to our room we were treated courteously and splendidly. Our room (4) was gorgeous with a huge,comfy bed and a wonderful balcony overlooking the garden and river. The bathroom was again very good and had a bath which I always enjoy - the water was piping hot. Our children had ordered champagne for us in the room which we enjoyed on the terrace in the sunshine. We dined in the Bistro at night and our meal was very enjoyable.. The staff were all attentive and friendly.
We had an enormous breakfast on both mornings and the choice was excellent-cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, and a wonderful choice of cooked items. The food was cooked individually and was delightful.
Our children had ordered afternoon tea and again we sat on the Terrace. Another couple who were finishing their tea warned us that we would not be able to eat all the food - they actually had leftovers wrapped for them to take home. We had no such problem!!! We sat in the sun for about 2 hours, relaxing, eating, and drinking tea and coffee which was replenished when we needed more .We were so full that we did not need an evening meal and after our tea and a walk around the grounds we retired to our balcony to relax.
The only small point I would suggest - maybe add another round of sandwiches and forsake one set of cakes. I do love sweet items but another sandwich would have been preferable.
We left the next morning after a fabulous weekend and I can highly recommend the Craig y Dderwen to anyone wanting a special few days. All the staff were so friendly and ensured we had a marvellous time.
Diolch yn fawr iawn I chi I gyd am benwythnos hyfryd dros ben. Many thanks to you all for a wonderful weekend. Helen and Dilwyn Price

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 4 and I assume the other two rooms on that floor next to Room 4 would be the...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Craig-y-Dderwen 50 years ago in July 1963 and our 3 lovely children surprised us with a "paid for" 2 night stay on the 6th and 7th August,2013 as a Golden Wedding present. The stay was delightful, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was super and the food was excellent. We thought an "English Breakfast" was good, but the Welsh Breakfast was absolutely mouth watering. We could not have chosen a better hotel, the area is wonderful for local attractions, Swallow Falls, the old slate quarry with museum and train ride were two highlights. We cannot speak too highly of the service we received and we would recommend a stay at this hotel is one that should not be missed if visiting this part of Wales.

Room Tip: There are no noisy rooms here, the rear rooms overlook the river with delightful views, the front ov...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I dined at the hotel on a Red Letter Day gourmet three-course dining experience. We found the two courses we chose exceptional and the service very good. Many of the guests were seated in the conservatory-like dining area with glass walls and windows overlooking the river. It was quite magical.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank encarva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Lovely hotel, clean rooms with views of the river, set the scene for our 38th wedding anniversary. Ordered a meal in the restaurant. chose the meal and the wine and waited to be shown to our table. After 45 minutes we asked the Manager could we sit at the table and drink the wine. He apologised. Eventually the meal came and whilst mine was delicious, my wife, who ordered a 'well done' steak was treated to one that had been sacrificed. She tried to eat the steak as not to spoil our anniversary but left most of it. We brought this to his attention at the end of the meal and he said he would 'talk to the chef', We then ordered dessert, once again mine was lovely but my wife's pudding was overcooked in the microwave and tasted dreadful. The Manager tasted it and agreed it was burnt and bitter and went to 'tell the chef'. We waited and waited but nobody came back to offer us an alternative dessert, etc. We retired to the bar to try and make the best of a spoilt evening. On checking out the elusive Manager presented us with the bill and at this point I once again complained about the service and standard of my wife's meal. The Manager stated that he had asked my wife if she would like an alternative dessert. I refute this entirely and state that the service and after sales service was extremely poor. However on a better note the breakfasts were delicious and Gill, the waitress, was absolutely professional and extremely pleasant. Apologies to the lady behind us at checkout but she only heard half the story.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reevo2150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great room with stunning views from balcony, attentive staff especially at breakfast - thank you Gill! Food very good caters very well for vegetarians.

My partner says that the last thing this hotel needs is a make over as it is has great character.
We definitely recommend this lovely hotel as a base for exploring Snowdonia, we really enjoyed our break at Criag-y-Dderwen.

Room Tip: Go for a Riverside room with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

Spent three nights here as we explored this part of Wales. Hotel is very quiet and tranquil. The riverside location is very impressive especially when in flood !! Rooms very clean although quite a flight of stairs to the top. Food was of a high standard and well prepared and presented. Chef was also flexible to assist with requests not on the menu. Recommend for a peaceful high quality break.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobyandDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £124 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing