We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopped by for lunch - superb!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“stopped by for lunch - superb!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Beautiful location, close to the town, but feels secluded and peaceful by the river. the food we had was absolutely superb. service friendly yet professional. would love to come back and spend a night here!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    68
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
245
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We held our wedding here on the last weekend of August, the staff could not of been more helpful, accommodating, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our friends all fell in love with the view... They were dubious when they saw the distance they had to travel to join us, but they all agreed we could not of picked a more perfect setting.. food here is to die for! Martin can you please thank the team and Andrew especially for all the hard work in helping our day go without a hitch and ordering the sunshine in advance xx

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina19792010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The area is truly stunning, the hotel staff are lovely and helpful but the hotel just isn't up to scratch when it comes to value for money. I'm sad to say - barely 4 star standard at 5 star prices. The room we had was fine - but the communal areas, although clean, are tired and dated. Much more thought needs to go into decor and furniture. In the right hands the hotel could really shine. The last thing anyone wants from a holiday is to feel ripped off but sadly...the hotel needs more than smiles and a beautiful location to justify the price-tag.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed at Craig-y-Dderwen in June 2013 - unfortunately it was only for one night - I wish it could have been for longer - but hope to remedy that soon! We arrived mid afternoon, and started our stay with delightful warm scones, welsh cakes and cappucinos - they were home-made, and lovely, and just a hint of what was to come later on in the restaurant. Our room was on the first floor (no. 4) it was very spacious, clean & beautifully appointed ( including the bathroom ) and had a large & very comfortable bed. The room has a balcony, with a table & chairs, and a fabulous river view. After a welcome relax & a lovely hot shower (we had travelled quite a way on business earlier that day) we made our way downstairs, had a wander around the gardens and along by the river bank, and went in for pre-dinner drinks-which we enjoyed on the outside balcony next to the bar, whilst we studied the menu. Our meal was superb! Lovely, fresh ingredients, beautifully presented, and served at just the right pace, by efficient and pleasant staff. Well replete and relaxed, we enjoyed a great nights' sleep in our comfy bed - followed by a breakfast choice which lived up to our expectations from the meal we had the previous evening. All the staff we met were polite, helpful and courteous - the only disappointment we have had was that we couldn't stay there, when we were in the area again a couple of weeks ago, as all the rooms were already fully booked! :-( We will most definately visit again, though!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annieatparkview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the 4 poster, hot tub room and thoroughly enjoyed it. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was fantastic, one of the best meals I've ever had!

Hot tub on the balcony overlooking the river was really special.

We will definately be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed here at the end of July for two nights to celebrate our Ruby Anniversary. From the moment we entered and were shown to our room we were treated courteously and splendidly. Our room (4) was gorgeous with a huge,comfy bed and a wonderful balcony overlooking the garden and river. The bathroom was again very good and had a bath which I always enjoy - the water was piping hot. Our children had ordered champagne for us in the room which we enjoyed on the terrace in the sunshine. We dined in the Bistro at night and our meal was very enjoyable.. The staff were all attentive and friendly.
We had an enormous breakfast on both mornings and the choice was excellent-cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, and a wonderful choice of cooked items. The food was cooked individually and was delightful.
Our children had ordered afternoon tea and again we sat on the Terrace. Another couple who were finishing their tea warned us that we would not be able to eat all the food - they actually had leftovers wrapped for them to take home. We had no such problem!!! We sat in the sun for about 2 hours, relaxing, eating, and drinking tea and coffee which was replenished when we needed more .We were so full that we did not need an evening meal and after our tea and a walk around the grounds we retired to our balcony to relax.
The only small point I would suggest - maybe add another round of sandwiches and forsake one set of cakes. I do love sweet items but another sandwich would have been preferable.
We left the next morning after a fabulous weekend and I can highly recommend the Craig y Dderwen to anyone wanting a special few days. All the staff were so friendly and ensured we had a marvellous time.
Diolch yn fawr iawn I chi I gyd am benwythnos hyfryd dros ben. Many thanks to you all for a wonderful weekend. Helen and Dilwyn Price

Room Tip: I would recommend Room 4 and I assume the other two rooms on that floor next to Room 4 would be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Craig-y-Dderwen 50 years ago in July 1963 and our 3 lovely children surprised us with a "paid for" 2 night stay on the 6th and 7th August,2013 as a Golden Wedding present. The stay was delightful, the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was super and the food was excellent. We thought an "English Breakfast" was good, but the Welsh Breakfast was absolutely mouth watering. We could not have chosen a better hotel, the area is wonderful for local attractions, Swallow Falls, the old slate quarry with museum and train ride were two highlights. We cannot speak too highly of the service we received and we would recommend a stay at this hotel is one that should not be missed if visiting this part of Wales.

Room Tip: There are no noisy rooms here, the rear rooms overlook the river with delightful views, the front ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
521 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing