We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We went for a meal on a busy bank holiday Saturday evening and although we had booked we were told they could not guarantee a window table. When we arrived it was quite clear that Andrew front of house was having a busy evening however he remained calm, attentive and very pleasant and guess what he even remembered my phone call the night before and before seating us thanked us for our patience and escorted us to a table for two beside the window overlooking the window. Hannah our waitress was very friendly and helpful making recommendations from the menu. The food was very good so all in all we had a great evening and would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely go back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank esyled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    68
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
50
248
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights here. The room with river view was everything we could have wished for. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and hotel staff were friendly and helpful. What made it special was the effort the manager and chefs took to satisfy my complicated dietary requirements. On arrival the chef went through every item on that evening's menu, explained the ingredients and suggested alternatives. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
813 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Found this difficult to score because the place has some good points (location, views, modern room, free wifi, breakfast) but then there were some parts that would deter me from going again. I'd booked a superior king sized room some 2-3 months ago and was expecting a terrace with table & chairs - that's what is shown on the web site - what we got was a balcony measuring no more than a metre square with no seating. We tried checking in early (13.00) but were told no rooms would be available before 14.30 - no attempt was made to find out which room we had been allocated and whether it had been done. When we did check in we were taken through the rules which felt a bit like a lecture. Although the room was very nice the communal areas were drab - in particular the bar/lounge was very dismal and functional looking. The windows even had blinds to cover the magnificent views!! We arrived for breakfast at 7.58 to find the doors locked - breakfast would not start before 08.00 - no flexibility here. Finally I was shocked to see guests were charged extra for the privilege of having the paper delivered to their room - I have never seen this in all of my years of travelling. So this place has some good points and I can see why people go back but for a 4 star hotel it definitely needs to rethink how it handles guests, be a bit more flexible and spend some money to make the communal areas a bit more attractive.

Room Tip: Balcony in room 18 is very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend and had a fantastic time.

All the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Our room had a great view over the river. The food was excellent and the menu had something for all tastes and the view from the dining room is hard to beat.

We look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ols7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Bank holiday monday, me and my partner decided to book a meal at the river side. Arrived to a beautiful building and stunning grounds! Staff were very friendly and cheerful! We both ordered a 3 course meal..each course perfect! Could not find any fault! Where we sat was lovely and relaxing with beautiful views of the river! Big thank you to the chef & staff! We will most defiantly be coming back for some great food and possibly a night in one of the rooms!
Fantastic! Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my 2 young grandchildren we liked it that much we stayed an extra night. The staff were very friendly and the service was 2nd to none. The room was first class, the food was excellent. A special mention must go to Andrew, he greeted us on arrival, was exceptionally friendly towards my grandchildren of 6 and 10, nothing was too much trouble. We are already planning our next visit. Whether you need a base to explore the wonderful surroundings or just want to chill out this is the place to do it. A great time.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

From the moment we arrived at the hotel, we have received nothing but the friendliest and warmest welcome. The receptionists, Hannah and Gill are top class, answering all our questions easily. Nothing was ever too much for them, even arranging a substitute early breakfast for us so we could set off early the next day to climb Mount Snowdon.
The location of the hotel is idyllic, next to a river, and with a terrace which is wonderful on a sunny day to sit out on and read your book, with a drink from the bar.
Our room was clean, modern, lovely bed and by far the best shower we have ever experienced in a hotel, powerful with an endless supply of hot water. Quality towels and toiletries add to the quality service.
Dinner in the restaurant was delicious, with homemade bread and an olive starter compliments of the chef. We enjoyed a shin of beef Wellington, made with shortcrust pastry, fantastic. Desserts were delicious. A special mention to Andrew for his enthusiastic service!
Breakfast was very filling, including cereals, fruit, yoghurts and a fried Welsh Breakfast. Lighter options are available.
This hotel is perfectly placed on the edge of Betws-y-Coed, just a 10 min easy walk into the village. An ideal base for exploring Snowdonia National Park.
If I only had to make one tiny criticism, it would be the reliability of the free wifi - access and speed was very intermittent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJF73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
2.4 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
23.9 mi away
Penmaenuchaf Hall
Penmaenuchaf Hall
#1 of 1 in Penmaenpool
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing