We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful and peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“beautiful and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

the hotel is stunning and beautiful grounds, it really does have a majestic quality.

hotub room was a real treat and the weather was fantastic, service from every member of staff we encountered was exceptional.

please do not hesitate to stay in the fabulous hotel when staying in the area you will not be dissapointed, the breakfast was also top quality.

a very special hotel indeed

Room Tip: balcony rooms have majestic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    65
    26
    14
    6
See reviews for
49
234
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We went here for lunch and the views and food were amazing . The staff were very helpful and couldn't do enough.
Fresh produce and lovely touches made this hotel wonderful and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestYorksFollyfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

My best pal and I went for lunch today. It was my third visit and her first. She was blown away by the views and the idyllic setting. The river flows along the delightful gardens and the terrace. The dining room window frames the view too.
We only wanted a snack but it was beautifully presented and well garnished with a delicious salad freshly picked from the garden ( we saw chef go out to collect it!). We were made very welcome by our waitress who was friendly and polite. Everywhere was very clean and tidy too.
This place is a little gem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornwallDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for a long weekend and were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door to be greeted by Andrew on reception. Check in was straightforward and Andrew insisted on carrying our suitcase up to our second floor bedroom. Our room was spacious and had a riverside view (the window was rather small). Bathroom was spacious and spotlessly clean but could have done with some shelving to store our toiletries.
There was a good selection of quality food for dinner and breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. Service was with a smile. Tip: avoid the window seats when the sun is out!
We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisurelover777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My wife and me stayed here for a weekend break.
The hotel inside and out is shabby but is redeemed by the location next to a river.
We arrived late (about 10 pm) and therefore were given the last room available. This is the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in. In order to accommodate us comfortably I had to put a chair from the room in the wardrobe to give us more floor space.
Bathroom was tiny.
We did have a view of the river - provided you squeezed yourself into a corner of the room to look out of the window.
Overall, very disappointing and very expensive.
Would never stay again.
My wife and me a frequent "week end breakers" and have stayed in dozens of hotels over the years. This one comes very, very low down on the list.

Room Tip: Arrive early so you get a better choice of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike_Traction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We booked to go here just for one night for my birthday. I am so glad that I chose this particular hotel to stay.First of all, we had our little dog with us and she was made extremely welcome. The hotel itself is set in beautiful grounds and we were able to walk along the river up to the woods with our dog. We had a Riverside room which was excellent in every way - spectacular views, a very good sized room, large bathroom.The staff were all very, very friendly and helpful. Dinner was perfect with good choice of wines.Breakfast also tasty. In fact the food is some of the best we've ever had. All in all, this is somewhere I definitely want to go back to. Just couldn't fault anything about it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheshirepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My wife and I were looking for somewhere for a mid-week break. Having read the reviews here, we booked.

On arrival we were warmly greeted, checkin was totally painless and we were shown to our room. The staff also helped bringing our luggage in. The whole place was spotlessly clean and whilst the decor was a bit dated, it suited and served to add to the atmosphere. The food was all freshly prepared and sourced from local suppliers, some vegetables came from their own gardens. Overall there was a good selection and the food was delightful. The hotel grounds were well kept and plenty of wildlife pottering about. The staff were friendly, professional and nothing seemed to be too much trouble.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra day.

For those of you it's important to; the hotel has a free WiFi network and you are given a username
and password when checking in. My iPad would not recognise the network at all but my wife's kindle had no problems. There is also a BT hotspot available which I used. Neither network breaks any speed records so streaming video / TV is not really on. It's fine for general surfing and things like facebook. My iPhone, on the Vodaphone network, didn't get a signal at all but my wife's, on the O2 network, averaged 2-3 bars and was quite usable.

All in all t was an excellent few days for us, already planning a return. I'd strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug_Maldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.3 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
3.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
13.5 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel

Property: Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Address: | Nearby the River Conwy, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is set in a much admired and envied position down a long private driveway on the banks of the River Conwy at the edge of Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia. We have 16 acres of our own beautiful gardens and we are surrounded by uninterrupted and breathtaking views of the Conwy Valley with its wooded slopes forming the perfect atmosphere in which to relax in peaceful tranquillity. Privately owned, the traditional values of hospitality hold strong with the emphasis on courtesy and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Craig-y-Dderwen Hotel Betws-y-Coed
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing