We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Betws-y-Coed
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bryn Afon Guest House
Ranked #2 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A great place to stay. Mike and Rachael are excellent hosts and very knowledgeable of the area with great recommendations.
Our room was spotless and very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent - all local produce. The location is also perfect, in the centre of the village but with amazing views and right on the river.
We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_and_IanKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    29
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
407
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a 2 night break and found it lived up to all the excellent reviews.
Mike and Rachael are a lovely couple and we got the impression that nothing is to much trouble.
Bryn Afon is spotlessly clean, has amazing views and in a perfect location for shops, cafes, hiking and sight seeing.
We had room 4 which if honest is a tad compact but we knew that when we booked and we had no intention of staying in the room long as this part of Wales is stunning.
Breakfast was spot on and plentiful.
All in all we 100% recommend Bryn Afon and will definitely return.
Thanks Mike and Rachael we loved our short break.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julesandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We had the most wonderful experience staying at Bryn Afon. Mike and Rachael are such friendly hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are knowledgable about the area and offer good recommendations, from how to reach places or where to eat. They had even put some chocolates in our room and a note to wish us a happy anniversary - how thoughtful. Betws-y-Coed doesn't need any help in being a beautiful place to spend a few days and a good base for discovering Snowdonia but our stay would have not been so memorable if not for choosing to stay at Bryn Afon. Thank you. If we return to the area we will definitely be staying with you.

Room Tip: We were in Room 1 which is good for a short stay and excellent for the price but if you are staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Emily G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Bryn Afon for two nights as a little get away. It's a lovely gem of a place in a perfect, picturesque spot.

The whole place is immaculate and the service from the owners is fantastic.

Breakfast was fab. Amazing homemade granola was provided with other cereals and a great choice of cooked food was on offer.

We stayed on the top floor (can't remember room number) and a had a separate bathroom to our bedroom. Not a big inconvenience really. Bathroom was lovely. Room was small but very nice. Modern. The bathroom products provided were from a lovely natural range and smelled amazing.

Free wifi was provided but the signal isn't great at the top of the place so don't bank on using it up there. 3G is non existent. Bed was very comfy but the pillows were a bit hard-maybe time for some new ones.

Outside was a little seating area overlooking the river. We sat and read there in the sunshine.

We'll definitely be back. Thanks to the owners for their excellent hospitality.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Golden_Vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thanks ever so much for your review. We had thought the same as you regarding the pillows - a week after your visit in April, we replaced all pillows and duvets. Also, we are upgrading most of our mattress. Mike and I look forward to seeing you both again at some point. Rachael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Just back from 2 days break at Bryn Afon (wish it was longer). Our room was bright and spotless and great bed. Breakfast was delicious, lots of choice and best quality ingredients. Mike and Rachael are so welcoming and helpful. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend to others. Thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulineS953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael W, Owner at Bryn Afon Guest House, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Pauline, it was lovely to meet you both, so thank you for choosing to stay at Bryn Afon. We purchase the majority of our breakfast ingredients from small, local providers where products are freshly made or sourced in the local area. We hope to see you next year - Rachael & Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

From the moment Mike greeted us on arrival, our experience here has been exceptional. We were welcomed by friendliness and a fine pot of tea together with delicious home baked Welsh Cakes. Mike and Rachael also provided valuable information about local walks and places to eat. The location is scenically attractive overlooking the river and historic Pont-Y-Pair bridge; it is central to the town but off the main road. Breakfasts are first class served with the same warm hospitality. Our stay here contributed greatly to the overall enjoyment of our visit to Snowdonia.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

One of the rare BnB's in this area that don't allow pets - the owners have dogs, however they are not intrusive at all. Mike and Rachel, were lovely and very accommodating offering gluten free and veggie options for breakfast which is extremely rare! We could also use the communal fridge to keep small items in, like drinks for the night / next day.
The weather was perfect and really brought out the magical location, where we were gently awoken by birds tweetings and sent to sleep by the gently roar of the terracing waterfalls along he river that the BnB sits on.
We really enjoyed our get away, and would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner twin room and the beds were put together to make a double. I would watch out f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarneem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.8 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#3 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Afon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Afon Guest House

Property: Bryn Afon Guest House
Address: Pentre Felin, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Afon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryn Afon is an elegant Victorian house situated on the banks of the river Llugwy. We have spectacular views of the River Llugwy and the 500 year old stone Pont-y-Pair bridge where the salmon leap in late Autumn. With forest walks starting from our doorstep and with some of the finest restaurants in Betws y Coed and North Wales just 1 minute's walk away, this really is the perfect base for touring the Snowdonia National Park (or for staying locally to enjoy the beauty of Betws-y-Coed). We are able to assist guests with a variety of suggestions on places to visit – from gentle strolls to strenuous mountain walks, mountain bike trails, castles, slate mines, steam railways, gardens, lakes etc, to shopping or eating locally or finding the best local cake and coffee shop. Bryn Afon is easily accessible by public transport; Betws-y-Coed train station and the bus 'station' - both connecting to LLandudno Junction. The Snowdonia Sherpa Bus enables you explore the area and we also have parking in our own guest car park, plus a secure shed to lock up bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bryn Afon Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing