We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The right choice.........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bryn Bella Guest House
Ranked #17 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The right choice.........”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Due to the uncertain weather we left the booking until we were already in North Wales. We researched several guesthouses in the Betws-Y-Coed area just in case one or more should be full. The Bryn Bella stood out as a favourite from previous reviews but also had off-road parking for my van as it was a working trip. The initial call at 09.15 was friendly and welcoming whilst the details were given etc. Joan greeted us on our arrival at around 6pm and was equally welcoming. We chatted easily as she showed us to the room which was perhaps a little on the small side with its en-suite but still very comfortable and adequate for one night. Little touches like the tucked in toilet tissue and ring holder as well as the microwave showed that a lot of thought and attention had gone into making everyone's stay as comfortable as possible. These things ARE very much appreciated.
The room was spotlessly clean and perfect and the bed very comfortable for an excellent night's sleep. There was no outside noise from passing traffic.
Breakfast added to the delight of the stay. We were able to sit at the bay window with it's view over Betws-y-Coed and watch the wild birds feeding from an array of devices. The breakfast was excellent with good choice and served promptly. Mark was very attentive but never imposing and always helpful. He was only too willing to point out a scenic route for a trip through Snowdonia on our way back to South Wales and highlight some potential road hazards.
It was our first stay in North Wales, sadly only for one night. If my work should take me back to that area we will stay at the Bryn Bella without any second thought......that is if they have room! Mark and Joan are a charming couple and we can't recommend the BB highly enough.
D&B Bridgend.

Room Tip: Research the establishment a little on different sites and have a clear idea of what you are seekin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidP165_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynBella, Owner at Bryn Bella Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
It just goes to show that even last minute guests are treated well here at Bryn Bella. I can only agree with you about the room size, for an extra £5.00 per room per night you do get a King Size room instead of a Double, I believe it’s worth it if they are available. But then I would say that wouldn’t I! I am so glad we could help out and make your break all the more enjoyable. Both Joan and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Bryn Bella at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    40
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
26
230
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colwyn Bay, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

We stayed at Bryn Bella when we visited Betws Y Coed for the Santa Parade and fireworks. Wow!! Mark opened the door with a big smile and Joan showed us to our lovely spacious room, she remembered that it was the same room that we stayed in last time.The view - despite a little mist - was still amazing, looking over the junction of the 3 valley's.

Comfortable rooms with all the extras, fridge, microwave, Knives and forks, just how we remembered it. The little extras that make the stay more comfortable. The 'sheep' on the light pull still makes me chuckle.

We walked across the bridge into the town, only 10 minutes walk, and did not have to fight to park our car.

We collapsed into comfortable large beds, and slept soundly.

All crockery and glassware is Portmeirion - beautiful! and the breakfast room proudly shows it all off. The breakfast, with eggs from Marks own chickens, was beautifully cooked and delicious. Mark explained that the bacon and sausage came from a local butcher. The days weather was detailed on the breakfast menu, so we knew what to wear.

We left well fed, rested, and relaxed - we will visit again soon. Thank you

Room Tip: There was one room on the ground floor, but we prefered the upstairs front room. We have slept in 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynBella, Owner at Bryn Bella Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
There is always a warm welcome at Bryn Bella, but that said I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so glad we could help out and make your break all the more enjoyable. Both Joan and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Bryn Bella at some point in the future.

Mark Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our stay at the Bryn Bella was a really good experience. We recieved a very warm welcome and given lots of information about the area. The warm welcome continued at breakfast with the fabulous choice and the great home cooked breakfast all fresh local produce. We would stay at the Bryn Bella again and have already told friends and family how good our weekend stay was.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynBella, Owner at Bryn Bella Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your breakfast at Bryn Bella, we do try to source everything locally to ensure freshness and quality. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help out and make your break all the more enjoyable. Both Joan and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Bryn Bella at some point in the future.

Mark Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This has to be one of the best guest houses we have stayed in, great location just outside the town but within easy walking distance. The room we stayed in was at the front of the house with fabulous views. A large comfortable room with large en suite bathroom and power shower. Every need was catered for, with great attention to detail. Breakfast was really good, dining room also has fab views. Mark and Joan are really friendly and made us feel very welcome, also helping us by giving good advice on local walks and places to eat out on an evening. We will be visiting again and staying at Bryn Bella as 3 days was not enough for us to see everything we wanted to see in the area. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house have fab views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynBella, Owner at Bryn Bella Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
I am so happy you enjoyed your shower at Bryn Bella as we do pride ourselves on the efficiency of the solar heating and that extra boost from the power shower is just great way to start the day. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help out and make your break all the more enjoyable. Both Joan and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Bryn Bella at some point in the future.

Mark Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Well situated in the quite outskirts of the village with easy access to Snowdonia and the coastal areas of North Wales. Mark and Joan were friendly hosts, and their attention to detail makes it a welcoming B&B. Comfortable room with all facilities, including a microwave. Pleasant lounge with plenty of information available about the locality.
The hearty breakfast made a good start to the day.
We can recommend the packed lunches.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrynBella, Owner at Bryn Bella Guest House, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
It’s good to hear that the packed lunch went down well as we try to offer value for money and a hearty lunch for when you are out on the hill working hard all day. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could help out and make your break all the more enjoyable. Both Joan and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Bryn Bella at some point in the future.

Mark Edwards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I've stayed in many B&Bs all over the country following my passion for walking and this certainly ranked with the best. I was greeted by name on arrival (maybe as I was the only guest that day!) and made to feel very welcome.
The room was excellent with a power shower and very comfortable bed. Most welcome after spending all day out on the mountains. Facilities were more in keeping with a high quality hotel and included toiletries, bottles of filtered water, a hair-dryer, iron and ironing board and even a fleece/velour dressing gown.
There was an extensive choice on the breakfast menu that really set you up for the day and the packed lunches were great for days out walking. No need for worrying about where to buy supplies before setting out. In fact the breakfast and lunch pack filled me up so much that I hardly felt like going out for a further meal in the evening despite all the calories burnt on the mountains. Eating breakfast was a great pleasure with views of the valley and a plethora of birds feeding right outside the window including a greater spotted woodpecker and many other species. (Amusing point here - I tried to include birds named blue xxx, great xxx etc. but Trip Advisor in it's wisdom decided that these were profanities and rejected them !!)
THE B&B is situated just outside the village, which can be quickly reached via a well established footpath over the fields crossing the river on a pedestrian suspension bridge. A torch would be useful after dark, which can also be provided by the hosts.
Mark and Jean were very friendly and helpful hosts providing a wealth of information and advice on the best walks to go on. If you don't know the area make sure you ask them where to go and what to do. If you want more information about the guest-house or the available activities in the area just visit their excellent website (http://www.bryn-bella.co.uk/)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kalo_Chorio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Davids, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Welcoming and helpful hosts, doing their bit for the environment. Great room with a lovely view, equipped with all you need and lots of info to hand as well. Really well placed for getting around Snowdonia area and North West Wales generally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
684 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
1,002 reviews
0.6 mi away
Glyntwrog House
Glyntwrog House
#16 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#4 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bryn Bella Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryn Bella Guest House

Property: Bryn Bella Guest House
Address: Lon Muriau Llanrwst Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0HD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bryn Bella Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Bryn Bella, you are always assured of the warmest of welcomes, fine local food and comfortably furnished accommodation. Friendly help and advice are always available from your hosts Joan and Mark Edwards. Overlooking Betws-y-Coed in Snowdonia, North Wales Bryn Bella has a selection of both Double; King Size and Twin rooms. All our rooms are equipped to a high standard with wireless internet as standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bryn Bella Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryn Bella Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing