We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Quality accommodation - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #11 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“High Quality accommodation - good value for money”
Reviewed 2 August 2011

As a number of comments point out, you are expected to loose the shoes at the front door. However that ensures the accommodation remains clean and inviting, so in my book a very reasonable trade in.
The simple fact is you will look high and low to get a place to stop of this quality and for this price range, so if its cleanliness your are after this is the place to go.
The location suited us, it is a fair walk though (partly on a busy road) if you want to walk into Betws-y-coed. Tim made us very welcome and obviously takes a pride in his service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyFromBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
299
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The rooms are large and very comfortable. Everything is tastfully decorated. There is a very good choice at breakfast (several savory and sweet options).
There were however some things which could improve:
as others already mentioned: taking of your shoes is a bit annoying, there are probably wooden boards under the cream colored carpet which are easier to maintain
the bathroom floor is not tiled but covered with carpet, this is not very hygienic
the house is close to the main road between Betws-y-Coed and Dolgellau, the road is rather busy and we could clearly hear the cars in our room (even with the windows closed)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PostcardsFromEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Without doubt this is one of the most stylish places we have stayed in, and if that is what you are looking for you will be delighted, but for us there were a couple of things which were less than ideal.

The rooms are gorgeous and extremely clean. When we arrived Tim sat us down to talk us through the does and don'ts, breakfast is served between 8.30am - 9am even on weekends which for us is too early and too short a window. You have to decide what you want for breakfast the night before, which for us after a full day out and arriving back after our evening meal is less than ideal.

You are asked to remove your shoes in the foyer as all of the carpets are very light cream even in bathrooms and the breakfast room which is not really user friendly for guests.

It is also a 20 min walk into Betws Y Coed.

Apart from these things that didn't suit us it was a good value stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bella3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We have spent the last few years searching out small 'boutique' hotels and guest houses, and have stayed in several around the UK, but Afon Gwyn beats them all - it should be your first choice if you are holidaying in North Wales! We stayed in the Sorrel Suite for 3 nights and Tim and Di provided us with everything we could possibly need for a short break to get away from it all. The room is furnished to a high standard and was impeccably clean. With a huge choice of free hot drinks in the room, luxurious toiletries, novels and books to read, local maps to help plan our days, a great selection of dvds to watch, a range of games and puzzles, and a breakfast to die for, we will definitely be back! The central location was great, as we didn't have to take the car out at all for most of our activities. Thank you, Tim, one of the best holidays ever!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BambooClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend had a fabulous time. Immaculate rooms private garden area. Great choice of food at breakfast. would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMA2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We have just spent a wonderful 3 nights at Afon Gwyn to celebrate our anniversary and cannot recommend it enough. The house is thoughtfully decorated with paintings by a local artist and and our room (the Sorrel suite) was very tasteful, not fussy, with everthing you could want for a very comfortable stay. There were DVDs to borrow downstairs and board games, too, if you're up for that! Breakfast was a real treat, chosen from a menu the night before, that included Belgian waffles, eggs benedict, croissants or a full English cooked breakast. Our hosts, Tim and Di, clearly work hard to keep everything running smoothly but were friendly, unobtrusive and helpful. What a gem of a place!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedSquirrel_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and I have just been back for the third time, we will be back again next year, we may even be back again this year if time allow. Cant wait. Food is 1st class, overall this is a 5*+ property.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
527 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gwydyr Hotel
The Gwydyr Hotel
#5 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
167 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Property: Afon Gwyn Country House
Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing