We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant, can't recommend enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #13 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my birthday with my boyfriend and I absolutely loved it.
I've been to plenty of hotels and B&Bs and this place is by far the nicest I've stayed in.
We were made to feel incredibly welcome and the owner was very friendly and helpful.
The breakfast that's included is amazing, most which is homemade. It's a continental one, but there is an option for a full English or others for a small additional charge.
Rooms are good sizes, with plenty of commodities.
The only thing I'd have a grumble about would be the location if I didn't have a car. Perfect if you love walking as it's in a beautiful area, and about a 20 minute walk into Betws-Y-Coed itself and a quick drive. I could imagine that would be an issue for elderly people who have travelled by train or coach.
I genuinely have no complaints though, I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola-jennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 374 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2013

We had 3 rooms here in autumn 2012 - The Alice Suite, the Sorrell Suite and the White Room.
All were excellent. Comfortable, extremely well furnished with obviously high quality items and stylishly decorated.
In particular, the Sorrell Suite bathroom and the Alice Suite (as a whole) deserve particular mention. The latter being large enough to have its own lounge area!
The breakfasts were excellent and served with the ever-present friendly charm of the owner. As good as the place is (and it is) it is this service that really makes it stand out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Our stay at this b&b was the most wonderful experience. From the moment you arrive you are blown away by this stunning property and interior design. We stayed in the Rupert Room in August and could not believe the attention to detail. The third person with us stayed in the white room which was also lovely. This place is pure luxury and could not be beaten in our opinion. The host Tim was absolutely hilarious and we have not stopped reminiscing over our experience since (especially the beans episode). He is a fantastic host and you are really made to feel at home. Breakfast was amazing. We have recommended the Afon Gwyn to everyone we know and will most certainly be returning - its a must! Thanks Tim!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Squiggle84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 day break staying in Afon Gywn Country house. We were greeted with a warm welcome in a fantastic house. From the boot room at the entrance to the amazing bedrooms and the light airy breakfast room. We were staying in the Alice suite which was perfect for us it gave us a homely feeling and having a sitting room area allowed us to relax and feel at home in between outings. Nothing was too much trouble including drying off our very wet gear after a rainy hike up Snowdon. This is the perfect accommodation to make your getaway a really special experience it's location is fantastic with Betsw y Coed just down the road and the attention to detail within the accommodation is 2nd to none.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in the Alice Suite from 12 to 14 October 2012 and had a really lovely weekend.

Tim was a fabulous host and has clearly invested a lot of thought and time into his beautiful property. He has a great sense of humour and was very helpful, providing a warm welcome and good local knowledge.

Our room was very spacious with lots of natural light and great furnishings. There are lots of small touches throughout.

The bathroom comes equipped with full size toiletries, a great shower and "his and her's" sinks. It was really helpful to have a proper hairdryer, an iPod dock / sound system, a large tv, a range of teas [including decaf!], some wine glasses and a corkscrew.

There's also lots of storage space,with a good sized wardrobe and lots of drawers, plus bedside tables with lots of room for bits and pieces.

Breakfast is served in the conservatory, which despite the autumnal weather was lovely and warm. The choice of food was fabulous - I thoroughly recommend waffles with home-stewed apples if you have a sweet tooth. I also really enjoyed the eggs benedict - I hate being overfaced at breakfast and the portion size was spot on.

We rarely go back to the same place twice but we hope to go and stay here again sometime....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnyanEllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We arrived at Afron Gwyn for a three night stay and we have had a fantastic time. Tim was so welcoming and a lovely guy, nothing was to much trouble for him. Our room, the Sorrell suite, was stunning and imaculately clean.
Breakfast was wonderful and the different breakfast options were great.
I can not find any fault with this B&B and we will be rebooking for next year and will certainly recommend this Country House to anyone.
Tim and Di you have a wonderful B&B and thank you for making our trip so wonderful see you next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We have stayed here for 2 nights at the end of September, the instant we arrived made to feel very comfortable, rooms large ,spotless , Breakfast selection all that you would want, look forward to going there again, hence the title , may be fully booked next time.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidbhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
697 reviews
1.1 mi away
Aberconwy House
Aberconwy House
#10 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Summer Hill House
Summer Hill House
#11 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,054 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tan-y-Foel Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £78 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing