We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fantastic" lovely accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #10 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rhyl, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Fantastic" lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We have stayed in Betwys Y Coed many times, its our favourite mini break to relax and unwind.
Only intended staying 2 nights but couldn't resist a 3rd.
Beautiful house, with all the comfort you could possibly want.
Excellent breakfast with amazing choice.
New owners Gareth and Rana couldn't be nicer, so helpful and extremely pleasant.
Absolutely sure this is going to be a massive success for them.
We will definately be returning next year if not sooner.
A real gem in a lovely place..

Room Tip: We stayed in Rupurt Room and also Robinson Room, both lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
299
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South West England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We have just returned from a family walking holiday in Snowdonia and had the great fortune to have booked some rooms in this fabulous house. Rana runs a first class operation and Gareth is the font of all knowledge regarding the best things to do in the area including some of the lesser known peaks. Our three rooms were absolutely superb with top quality everything and their attention to detail is awesome. As an example, not only is there a corkscrew in every room they also give you a wine bottle stopper! Spotlessly clean and attractive throughout, the house is in a tranquil spot really close to the attractions of Betws-y-coed which has a great choice of good quality but reasonably priced places to eat and drink. Our rooms had huge, hot powerful showers in really funky bathrooms and the bedrooms were of an equally high standard with luxury bedlinen and furniture. We especially enjoyed the breakfast choices which go from salmon and scrambled eggs to a full english generous enough to keep you going all day. Usually when you get fresh fruit at breakfast it consists mainly of apples and other low priced fruit but here you get blueberries, kiwi and strawberries. All enjoyed while sitting most comfortably in a lovely conservatory.
We have been lucky and have stayed in good hotels all over the world but have never before got a cuddle from the boss on check out. Relieved to say it was from Rana and not Gareth.
Their prices are amazingly reasonable for this standard of accomodation. Take our advice and make this your first choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07-17-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guiseley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from a six night stay at Afon Gwyn and it was absolutely incredible. From the lovely breakfasts, especially the Belgian waffles, but all choices were fab, to the surroundings, situated in the beautiful Welsh countryside, just minutes from Betws-y-Coed, to the White Room, with a lovely beach feel.
Gareth and Rana were really welcoming and attentive, but in such a way you just felt really relaxed, but they were on hand if you needed anything, including flasks of coffee for daytrips. I knew if I needed anything all I needed to do was ask, and the surroundings within the house were simply luxurious. Our room was tidied every day and had all those little luxuries, that make you feel pampered, biscuits, tea, lots of lovely toiletries, and the gorgeous decor.
We wanted a home from home and we got exactly that, with lots of trips to the Ty Gwyn coaching inn which was also perfect and the food was second to none. I would say anyone going to North Wales has to stay at this lovely guest house because it has to be experienced, this is my first review on trip advisor but I will be telling everyone I know to stay at Afon Gwyn!!

Room Tip: White Room if on a sort of budget, but it is a fab room, the suites for even more luxury, and the sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the Alice Suite in July 2013 and would definitely return. The Alice Suite was a really great size and beautifully furnished. Breakfasts were great and set us up for a good days walking/exploring in the area. Gareth and Rana were always on hand to help out. Rana provided extra towels for a day on the beach and Gareth even volunteered to pop out and give us a lift back from a local restaurant! 5 star in every way!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed in the Alice Suite situated at the front/side of the house for three nights. This suite is the largest of the rooms available and is beautiful. A super king bed which is great for these hot nights and is extremely comfortable. Lovely furnishings and a large area with sofa and chairs with a large tv and dvd player. I am very critical when it comes to cleanliness and I could not fault the whole house. The breakfast area was situated in a large airy conservatory and the breakfast quality was excellent. Gareth and Rana were lovely hosts. They were friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The surrounding area is outstanding for lovely mountain or riverside walks. Thank you so much for your kind hospitality looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipernotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Although we visit N Wales about twice a year, this was our first stay in Betws y Coed. We chose Afon Gwyn becauses we'd stayed with the owners when at Muriau Park in Caernarfon. They were an obviously good choice, having recently taken over the Afon Gwyn.

Fantastic 5 star accommodation, on A470 (towards Blaenau Ffestiniog) just outside Betws y Coed.

We had the groundfloor White Room -spacious & spotlessly clean ideal for disabled access. the view from the room was a craggy hillside covered with foxgloves, ferns and other naturalised wild flowers. This room is at the back.
The Breakfast room is very light and airy and the food is second to none. There's a well presented buffet of fruit, cereals etc and a delightful range of cooked food too. Try the fantastic award winning sausage, or the eggs Benedict.

Gareth and Rana, the owners, are very friendly, helpful and offer tips on where to go/park/eat and even gave us a lift to the Ty Gwyn on our first night. Great service!

This is definitely Very Highly Recommended accommodation.

An ideal base for day tripping around the area, being pretty central for N Wales.

Nearest restaurant is the renowned Ty Gwyn coaching inn -the food's so good we ate there all 4 nights- about a 10-15 min walk or a couple of mins in a car from Afon Gwyn.

We're already planning out next visit to Afon Gwyn / Betws y Coed as we enjoyed our stay so much.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual - different size/furnishings and thus have different prices. There are two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Just returned from a two night stay in the Alice Suite. The new owners have just arrived and made our stay very enjoyable. Gareth and Rana are excellent hosts and Afon Gwyn will, I am sure, continue to be one of the best luxury B and B 's in North Wales.

The location, rooms, breakfasts and hospitality in my opinion can not be beaten and we will return as soon as we can with family who we know would like to share the experience.

After a long day's walking I can think of nowhere better to relax and get a really good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Any of them, but the Alice Suite is the only room with a bath if you need a long soak after a long w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
1.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
663 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Property: Afon Gwyn Country House
Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing