We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Afon Gwyn Country House
Ranked #12 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Stylish and comfortable.”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This is one of the best B&B’s I’ve stayed at within a great location.

A warm and welcoming greeting from the owners who made you feel at home.

This was a beautifully decorated B&B with each of the rooms differing in style and décor. The Rupert suite was warm, comfortable, spacious and classily decorated.

The cooked breakfast was tasty and there were plenty of other choices available such as fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals.

This was an overall great experience and a B&B I will return to again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyrianLazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    19
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
24
295
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

This is a beautiful B&B with large rooms. We stayed in the Rupert suite, a very tastefully decorated spacious luxurious room. The bathroom has a fantastic walk in shower. The owners were really helpful and cooked a great breakfast. This was the last day of our holiday having stayed at several hotels this by far was the best experience. We were even provided with a torch to help us find our way home from the local pub which serves delicious food. I will certainly return to Snowdonia and to this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We had a very comfortable and welcoming stay at Afon Gwyn over the bank holiday weekend. The breakfasts were particularly good and the owners were very friendly and helpful. The standard of the accommodation is excellent and the large bed in Robinson was very comfortable. We hope to return to Betws-y-Coed in the not too distant future to enjoy this beautiful area and hope to stay at Afon Gwyn again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiesuelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Very good B&B, although secluded, it's very well located to explore Snowdonia National Park. The whole property is extremely clean and well maintained. Breakfast was first class with lot's of choice (even for veggies) and well presented. It is served in a light room with glass walls and roof, overlooking the garden, which gives a nice atmosphere.The owners, Gareth and Rana, provided a very warm welcome and were at hand at all times and were friendly hosts full of information about the area. We'd highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam-Hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

I have stayed before at the Afon gwyn and was a little apprehensive when I read there were new owners. However the new owners continued to maintain the high standards of the previous owners. They were attentive to needs and breakfast exceptional. I will definitely return and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithelsden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Like some other reviewers, we too had stayed at the Afon Gwyn previously and opted to return given the comfort experienced last time round. We were a little apprehensive given new ownership however were reassured within minutes of arrival.

Rana greeted us with a very warm welcome and big smile, showing us to the same room we'd had before. It was as we remembered, albeit with a new stunning bathroom. Gareth was on hand to help plan our days with great tips on places to go and things to do.

The breakfasts were great, not just the food (quality) but also the morning banter betwen guests, sharing stories from the day before and advising each other on best places/routes etc - it was a lovely atmosphere.

If you're planning to visit this area of the world, which is possibly the most stunning, picturesque and most scenic area you'll come across we would strongly recommend the Afon Gwyn for comfort, location and peace of mind - you will be very happy there.

It was sad saying goodbye to Wales and much of this was because we felt we were leaving new friends at the Afon Gwyn and wish Rana and Gareth continued success.

Room Tip: all rooms are large and offer great comfort and value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

We arrived for our second visit to Afon Gwyn and were greeted by the new owners Rana and Gareth - they only just just taken over the guest house the week before, but after 5 minutes we new the attention to detail and customer service had not dropped IT WAS BETTER and after staying for 4 night can safely say the Afon Gwyn is in safe hands!!!
Rana cooks everything to perfection and the fresh fruit platter at breakfast is a nice addition consisting of raspberries blueberries and kiwi.
The rooms were spotless - u would be hard pushed to fault anything
Thanks again Rana u were a wonderful host and know we will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coopersevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
1.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tan Dinas Country House
Tan Dinas Country House
#1 of 47 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon Gwyn Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon Gwyn Country House

Property: Afon Gwyn Country House
Address: Coed Celyn Farm, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Afon Gwyn Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Afon Gwyn, our lovely country guest house, situated in the beautiful hills of Snowdonia, just outside the pretty town of Betws-Y-Coed. Visit Wales 5 star rated with Gold Award it offers superlative bed and breakfast in stylish, spacious rooms and suites. We have added lots of luxurious extras to make our guests feel at home. The perfect place to stay to explore all North Wales and Snowdonia has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Afon Gwyn Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon Gwyn Country House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing