We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top end bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Afon View Guest House
Ranked #18 of 47 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Stayed with my mum for one night. We were allocated the twin/family room on the second floor.
The beds, linen and furnishings were of a good quality and the room, and shower room, were spotlessly clean. The amenities were excellent and included a sewing kit, cotton buds and cotton wool - in addition to shower gel, shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. The towels were large and fluffy! Our host lit the fire in the lounge - a lovely place to relax. Free wifi was much appreciated.
Breakfast was cooked to order and delicious. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is some road noise from the A5 - ask for a room at the back of the house if you sleep with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 210 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed for one night recently and overall we felt the experience was pretty good BUT certainly not very good. As TA has no 'Good' rating I've decided to rate Afon View as a '4' because a '3' would have been a little unfair.

Let's start with the positives first;

- If you want to be in Betws-y-Coed then Afon View is very well located. Situated right on Holyhead Road and a short walk to the Train Station, bars, pubs, and restaurants.
- It has free off-road parking which is conveniently situated just behind the property.
- The house is nice and well maintained with a cosy lounge which guests are invited to enjoy - there was a roaring fire in the hearth on the night we stayed.
- We stayed in Room 8 on the second floor which had modern 'boutique style' decor and was very cosy & comfortable but also a reasonable size. There was a small flat screen TV and access to free wireless internet access.
- The room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom and the rest of the facilities.
- The bed was very comfortable with a nice firm mattress. We got a good night's sleep and it was quiet apart from one thing - a guy in another room shouting in a foreign language for almost an hour in the middle of the night!!
- Although the shower was one of the electrical ones (that I usually hate) there was plenty of hot water and the flow rate was pretty decent.

Now onto the things that weren't quite so positive;

- The bathroom was fairly small and there were no shelves near the sink or mirror to place toiletries / toothbrushes on.
- The breakfast was OK but could have been better. My wife and I we're disappointed that the sausages (singular) we were each served was very overdone & burnt. If I were staying in a hotel (which I often do whilst on business) I would have sent it back but one tends to make less of a fuss when staying in a B&B.
- The people who run this establishment are friendly and clearly try to fit their business around family life which is fair enough. However, it did make some of the 'timings' a little narrow and inflexible for our liking. For example, breakfast is served on Sunday between 8.30 & 9.30am so a nice 'lie in' is not on the cards. Check out is at 11.00am and can only be extended until midday at an additional cost. You can only check in between 12pm & 4pm although we were told on the phone that rooms aren't always ready at midday.

Overall, our stay was satisfactory and we felt Afon View represented reasonable value for money. We probably wouldn't return, preferring instead to stay in B&B where the 'timings' are a little more suited to our requirements or the Royal Oak Hotel up the road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S1Russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonview, Owner at Afon View Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Mike and I much appreciate your review. We really try to make everyone's stay at Afon View a comfortable one and we are pleased to note your positive and negative points, feedback is always welcomed.
We do however feel there has been a misunderstanding over check in times. Our check in time is before 12am (although we cannot guarantee the room will be ready as we have to service the room after the previous guests) or after 4pm. Our breakfast times are 8.15am to 9.00am and on a Sunday 8.30am to 9.30am, with check out time 10am and on a Sunday 11am.
All our breakfasts are freshly cooked to order from our menu, with a variety of options available.
We also provide a takeout breakfast for early risers,
Many Thanks...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Afon View look recently renovated and the 4 poster bed room was lovely. Enjoyed being able to drink our own wine in front of the real fire. Best gluten free yoghurt we have ever tasted and our host went out if his way to provide a gluten free Welsh breakfast. Would definitely come back if we returned to the Snowdonia area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esstony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break and I have to say it was lovely. We stay at many differing hotels and b&b's and this was exceptionally clean and beautifully decorated. The host was very friendly and tentative and knew the local walks within the area. We stayed in room 2 which was well equipped with all you need, clean and comfortable.

We had booked to stay at another hotel, but on arrival we swiftly departed as it was filthy and something like a step back intime complete with mould in the bedroom. We turned up at the Afon with no reservation and took the last room available and boy we are glad we did.

Great location, great host, fabulous breakfast and appealing sitting room for all guests to use. We will return.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Had a two night stay on one of the coldest weekends we have had in ages. It was so relaxing being able to return in the evening to a real fire in the lounge. My room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable and cosy I slept really well. I had a thoroughly lovely time at the Afon View and have already recommended it to colleagues at work. If I come back to Betws y Coed this will be the first place I try.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goldenoldie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We booked a one night stay as a Birthday treat. We found Mike and Barbara very friendly but unobtrusive hosts in their beautiful guest house.
The room we stayed in was tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard, and very clean with everything we required provided. We had a very comfortable sleep in the four poster room number 4 and wished we had booked for longer.....we will definitely return again sometime soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed at afon view last week in the 4 poster bed room. The b&b is very clean and decorated tastefully, keeping in with the houses age.

The room itself was lovely and the bed was so comfortable ive actually come home and bought a new bed myself!

Mike and barbara made us feel very welcome and helped us learn about the area, they also held onto my partners birthday presents and put a bouquet of flowers in the room on her actual birthday. We felt very looked after and nothing was too much effort for our hosts. We will return!!!

Should also say barbara booked us tables at good restaurants in advance of us coming which was great.

Thanks john and urs

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THORTHUNDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
771 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
688 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
Gwesty Glan Aber Hotel
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon View Guest House

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £90 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Afon View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afon View is an elegant Victorian house situated in the village of Betws-y-Coed, in the Snowdonia National Park. Close to the restaurants, shops, sherpa bus and the train station. We have 7 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and all have been refurbished to a high standard. Private free parking, Free Wi-Fi, Drying Room Facilities. Ideal for Snowdon, Zip World and Surf Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Afon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon View Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing