We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absoluteltly fantastic romantic break!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Afon View Guest House
Ranked #14 of 48 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absoluteltly fantastic romantic break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Trusted the fabulous reviews and were certainly not disappointed. In fact it still far exceeded our expectations. We chose the four poster room for our romantic break in this amazing location. We could not find fault, the hospitality, cleanliness and homely feel with the roaring fire means we will be rushing back as soon as we get the opportunity. I would not hesitate to recommend Afon View to anyone as I am sure they will share our opinion.

Room Tip: The four poster room is luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    14
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
113
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in room two. We had a lovely stay however there were a few negative points. The positives were it was in a great location and was clean, new and modern.There was a good selection for breakfast and it all was cooked very well. However my breakfast order was wrong on one morning. I understand this could have been sent back, but as we had to check out by ten this would not have left much time.
We found the bathroom a struggle I understand it was a small ensuite but my husband could hardly fit in the shower. Also we got the impression that we did not receiving the same attention as the other guests. I thought this may have been because we were in the cheaper room.

Overall we did have a good stay, and would recommend it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jen1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Afonview, Owner at Afon View Guest House, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
We are greatly concerned that you thought you did not receive the same attention as our other guests due to being in our cheapest room. We treat everyone with the same respect and care.
We pride ourselves on our high rate of repeat business and it would not be in our interest to treat anybody differently, as you must appreciate.
Room 2 does have a small en-suite and this is reflected in the pricing of the room. When booking over the telephone we make a point of explaining this. When booking on the internet via our website it is explained in the room description. Again we have many guests who repeatedly book Room 2 because of its bright modern appearance.
With regard to breakfast we are sorry that we got the order wrong, this could have been easily rectified. We would never want any of our guests to feel that they could not ask us for anything or to feel that they are being rushed.
Thank you for recommending Afon View despite the negative points.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Absolutely brilliant stay as always, Mike and Barbara cannot offer enough to make our stay pleasurable. Lovely and clean and the decor is sumptuous, the real fire is an extra treat after a wet and windy day out walking ! Would definitely recommend their guest house to anyone staying nearby. Thank you again and we will see you soon. :-)'

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, take your pick !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

A group of friends and I who met on holiday in Italy booked a reunion in this lovely guesthouse on what turned out to be a hot bank holiday weekend. We were amazed at how easy it was to find the location, which is a short walk away from all the amenities this lovely village has to offer. Our rooms were clean and modern with views to enjoy. Breakfast throughout our stay set us up for our various planned walks - with the added bonus of ordering a value for money packed lunch from our patrons Barbara and Mike. We had hoped to book again this year for our next reunion, and are not surprised to discover our weekend of choice is already fully booked up! However we are planning other options so we can enjoy Betws y Coed once again and conquer Mount Snowdon at the same time :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazemop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had such a lovely stay at Afon View. From start to finish Mike was the perfect host and made us both feel very welcome guests. Having not visited Betws-Y-Coed for many years and it being my wife's first time, our brief stay was made all the more better by staying at Afon View. The village hasn't changed one bit and I was so glad. It really is a little piece of heaven.

As for details, the house is beautiful in every aspect. Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and in an ideal location. Especially as we travelled by train. Our room was lovely with a really comfy bed and large tv. The breakfast was excellent and could eat it everyday.

If you decide to stay here you will not be disappointed!!
Thanks again Mike and Barbara, we look forward to staying again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pedrosa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 2 nights from 27 Dec. A vert lovely home with nice decor and furniture and lovely vintage elements - i.e. od fireplaces.

Lovely spotless rooms and a nice guest lounge and hte breakfast room was also nice.

Service was fabulous and the breakfasts tasty.

A great place to stay.

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely and the 3/4 double in the single was nice having that bit more room than a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stefank60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuross Head, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Afon View is a delightful place to stay--so perfectly located for exploring surrounding places of interest. It is a lovely comfortable and extremely clean house and beautifully furnished. Our room was perfect---spacious,comfortable and lovely views. The bed --most comfortable and the bathroom large and well equipped.
Barbara and Mike were most gracious and friendly hosts and breakfasts were delicious and served in the gracious dining room.
As a holiday spot we couldn`t have wished for more and we thank Mike and Barbara for a great time. One day we will come back to Betwsy.

Best wishes David and Hellen Carter--Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hellen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.2 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
Tyn-y-Fron Luxury B&B
#5 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#2 of 48 in Betws-y-Coed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Afon View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Afon View Guest House

Property: Afon View Guest House
Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AN, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Afon View Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Afon View is an elegant Victorian house situated in the village of Betws-y-Coed, in the Snowdonia National Park. Close to the restaurants, shops, sherpa bus and the train station. We have 7 comfortable en-suite bedrooms and all have been refurbished to a high standard. Private free parking, Free Wi-Fi, Drying Room Facilities. Ideal for Snowdon, Zip World and Surf Snowdonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Afon View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Afon View Guest House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing