We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful break”
Review of Glyntwrog House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Glyntwrog House
Ranked #15 of 46 Betws-y-Coed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2011

The owner Ian very welcoming and informative. Clean and bright comfortable room, and a peaceful night's sleep. Breakfast excellent! jane and mark birmingham

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

We went as a family of four to Glyntwrog House and stayed for two nights and I must say the experience was nothing short of fantastic. Ian welcomed us warmly upon our arrival and assisted us with anything we needed, including good places locally to eat. The rooms were extremely clean and tidy and were a joy to stay in. The cooked Welsh breakfast in the morning was superb, cooked to perfection and served with a smile. If we return to North Wales again in the future, Glyntwrog house will defiantly be our accommodation of choice, without a doubt. I couldn't recommend it higher!

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed equally exquisite. We stayed in two separate rooms between us in different a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Spent three nights here. It was comfortable, well-appointed and impeccably clean, the proprietor was very pleasant and the breakfasts were excellent. Fully intend to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denebank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We stayed three nights at Glyntrog House. We were given a warm welcome from Ian and Janet. The room we stayed in was so clean. It was the perfect size. It faced the front so we had a wonderful view. The windows opened and the fresh air was fantastic. The tea tray was well stocked and towels plentiful. We felt very at home during our stay. There is a communal room with tv, magazines and dvds. Breakfast consisted of a variety of cereals, Welsh yogurt (delicious), juices and fresh fruit salad followed by a hot meal with toast and hot beverages. Janet always asked us if we would like more food and drink. Breakfast is laid out nicely with linen napkins and tablecloth.
We ate dinner one night at Ty Gwyn next door which was delicious. The other two nights we brought back some food and Ian graciously heated it up and brought it to our room (on plates, cutlery and cloth napkins). They have a residential bar license which came in handy for more husband.
The b and b is located a short walk from town which is not a problem since you can leave your car at the b and b and don't have to worry about finding a parking place.

The house is extremely well maintained. Janet mentioned that she is going to redo the room we stayed in and I asked "why?" as it seemed in very good condition.

We found the tariff very reasonable and when in the area would definitely return. We highly recommend this for couples, singles or families who are visiting the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindyandted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

We only had a one night stay at Glyntwrog House but wished it could have been longer. Our room and facilities were spot on, breakfast was excellent and Janet and Ian were friendly and helpful.

Glyntwrog House is beautifully located on the outskirts of Betws y Coed. It's about a 15 - 20 minute stroll into the main part of the town where there is an abundance of good eateries. If you don't fancy walking so far, there is a pub about 200 yards down the road that serves food, although we didn't try it and so can't comment.

Thanks Janet and Ian for an excellent stay. We'll be back!!




Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EddieSinatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Glyntwrog House is an absolutely beautiful house perched on the side of a hill just outside of Betws-y-Coed. Janet & Ian are perfect hosts, very knowledgeable about the surrouding amenities.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lotty47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed with a friend for a weekend of mountain biking. Although we turned up looking a little directy we still recieved a warm welcome from Ian.
The room and facilities were excellent. The fantastic breaksfast in the morning set us up nicely for a days riding. Located just outside Betws-y-Coed it was an easy walk to plenty of local pubs and resturants.
Will stay again next time I am in that part of Wales.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Betws-y-Coed hotels
0.8 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
801 reviews
0.5 mi away
Afon View Guest House
Afon View Guest House
#18 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
212 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
Bod Gwynedd Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Oakfield House B & B
Oakfield House B & B
#3 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
417 reviews
0.6 mi away
Maes-y-Garth
Maes-y-Garth
#4 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
Tyn-y-Fron B&B
#5 of 46 in Betws-y-Coed
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glyntwrog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glyntwrog House

Address: Dinas Hill, A5, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0SG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: £73 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glyntwrog House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully positioned 4 star Guest House set in own 5 acre woodland at the edge of the village, quiet peaceful location yet a short walk to restaurants and all village amenities and attractions. All rooms en-suite, beautifully appointed and with lovely river and valley views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Glyntwrog House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glyntwrog House Betws-y-Coed, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing